Steemit Philippines - Steemit Engagement Challenge Season 8 (Week 1) || "The Power of Social Media"

in Steemit Philippineslast year (edited)

Screenshot_20230303-171307_1.png
Source

Hi Guys, So excited to be discussing on the topic "POWER OF SOCIAL MEDIA". Such an interesting topic that would avail every nook and cranny the opportunity to air their opinion about social media and human existence. On that note, I will be attending to the following questions

How old are you when you start engaging in social media and how was your experience so far?

I was 16 years when I started engaging in social media. I could remember the first social media I engaged in was 2GO and that was with my brother's account. I never had a mobile phone then not to talk of one I can use to access the internet.
I always hear my classmates talk about how interesting the platform was and the different badges given to users based on their consistency in using the platform... I usually felt lost and wanted to contribute to the discussion.

Just that fateful night, I begged my brother for his phone so I can check something or on the internet and he obliged. I quickly accessed his 2GO account and ignorantly ensured costs with his friends on the platform.

I checked out a lot of things and was happy I did.
Then 2 years later, I got my own phone but unfortunately, the social media platform trending in my country as at then was more Facebook of Mark Zuckerberg. I had an account myself and a was reaching out to ask my friends and relatives via sending out a friend request.

It was so much fun for me.

But talking about the experience till days, I found more interesting social media. Based on human choices, I no longer find Facebook interesting even though some people still do.

More platforms like LinkedIn, Instagram, WhatsApp and tweeter had become more hot appealing to me. I think I learn better at least there. While I still have my Facebook account, I don't frequent it except on request like I used to.

In your opinion, what is the right age for people to have access to social media?

Well, as important as this question could be, I would like to say that the answer is subjective as the effect of social media on an individual could be slightly different from that of the other... What a 16 years old Teen makes it if a social media may differ from what a 12 years old thing adult makes it of it.

On that note, I would say that the watchword here should be decency. By this, I mean there should be strict adherence to the decent use of social media agree regardless so as to make the best of it.

What can you say to people who are no longer responsible for managing their social media accounts?

Well, if an individual is no longer managing his social media account, this may be as a result of choice, inactivity or less need for it. On that note, it would be pertinent that such individual takes any of the following steps to safeguard the account and prevent such account from being tampered by internet hackers.

  1. Delete such account
  2. Report it if being used for fraudulent activities
  3. Change the password to the account if in use by someone else.
  4. Activate multi factor authentication to keep the account safe

Share your ideas on how to properly manage a social media account.

This is dependent on what the individual had his or her account for. So while other sees social media add a means to reach out to friends and relatives, I see it as a medium to connect with people of like-mind, network with people in the same field, learn from people of similar interests and reach out to people in need of my freelancing service which is why I prefer LinkedIn over other social media.

So, different individual can manage their account to reach as many people as the want while keeping the goals of having such account in mind.

But in all, it would be so vital to know the essence of keeping to the platforms rules and regulations and maintaining privacy in use as platforms like Facebook does not hesitate to block users account once they notice any fraudulent activity in the account.

What do you think our future will be with this social media power?

Well, I once read a post on Zuckerberg's intention to bring the metaverse into Facebook and all of that. So, having said that, I think that in future to come, the social media platforms that we am know will graduate from the reason of chatting, video calls, connecting and doing business. There will be more to that.

Remember that the first thing we all know the social media for was chatting and now we can video call with friends and relatives ask over the world.

The fact that social media has now made it possible to work with foreign clients that you know not from Adam keeps the house high that the future will be bigger.

Give the advantages and disadvantages of social media in your life.

The advantage is over the disadvantage in my life
The social media has availed me the opportunity to learn of other opportunity that I am currently featuring in at the moment.

I have been able to reach out to old friends via social media and have their contact can.

I have taken so many courses courtesy of different social media platform

I am privileged to have learnt from a lot of persons I wouldn't have met in real life courtesy of social media.

What are the commonly used social media in your country? And categorize it.

Here in Nigeria, a lot of persons utilise the following platforms for several reasons

Facebook
WhatsApp
Instagram
LinkedIn
TikTok
Tweeter and more that am not conversant with.

Basically, some persons use Facebook to run ads, chat and do business.
WhatsApp is more of an in house platform because only people whose contact are in your phone can be reached.
Instagram is mainly used by Youths and for businesses as well
LinkedIn is one professional social media platform and unlike every other social media.

TikTok and rest follows.

Am inviting @justice009, @mm-writes, @t-martins to participate in this contest.

Sort:  
 last year 

Date Evaluated: March 4, 2023

CategoryRemarks
#steemexclusive
At least Club5050
Plagiarism Free
Bot-Free
No. Of words1043 Words
Voting CSI[ ? ] ( 0.00 % self, 0 upvotes, 0 accounts, last 7d
Support #burnsteem25
RATING8.8

Feedback:

We recommend you to upvote more posts with at least 10 posts per day to increase your Voting CSI.

Thank you for creating quality content in the first Steemit Philippines Engagement Challenge. Please don't forget to do engagement by replying to the comments in your posts and do comments on other posts too.

-Admin/CR-Philippines-

@loloy2020

I have taken so many courses courtesy of different social media platform.

It's so much fun when you take a course in learning about media that you can use for your personal gain. Especially on business.


I am a pennsif witness promoter team that travels around to get support from active steemians around the world and I notice you haven't supported any witnesses, so I want to Inviting you to support witness @pennsif.witness.

png_20230225_075727_0000.png

Click @pennsif.witness

 last year 

TEAM 5 CURATORS

This post has been upvoted through steemcurator08. We support quality posts anywhere and with any tags.
Curated by: @chant

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69264.29
ETH 3316.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66