Steemit Philippines Photography Contest Week 3 : Holy Rosary with the Family

in Steemit Philippines3 years ago

Hi, Steemit!
Hi, Steemit Philippines!

Hello, everyone! I am here again to participate a fun contest in our community. I encourage my friends here in steemit to also join this fun contest- @grasyaa, @jenesa, and @rye123. Anyways, let me share one of our family culture and habit.

Holy Rosary with the Family

8F8E4835-83E4-45DC-935C-33A26C35B441.jpeg

At night, our family gathers to pray the Holy Rosary. This practice has been existing since my childhood. My mother usually leads the prayer, but most of us can actually lead it. In this photo, you can see of course our small altar, my mother and my nephew. There are actually six people in the room to pray the holy rosary, but since I cannot post more than one picture for this entry to be qualified, I will just share in the comment section more pictures.


Childhood Memories with the Holy Rosary

When I was a kid, about 10 years old, my mother always remind us to finish all our household chores assignments including our school homeworks before 5 o’clock in the afternoon because we do not have electrical connection, so that means we cannot perform any activity because it would be very dark in the house. At 6 o’clock we would have our dinner and right after that, we would pray the holy rosary.

During these times, my older sister and I still do not know how to spearhead the holy rosary, so we just came there to participate physically. We also get punished after, if we would chat, we were not attentive, and worse, if we would laugh during the holy rosary. We used to kneel for another 15-20 minutes as punishment.

There was also a dawn rosary where people would do procession of the statue/image of Mother Mary from one house to another. But honestly I just participated the dawn rosary because food would be served after this.

These practices has made me more religious and love Mother Mary. So, every month of May, I would join the Flores de Mayo Cathechism where we would again pray the holy rosary every after cathechism.

When, I was in Grade 6, I joined the commission on worship in our parish as an acolyte or an altar boy. During this time, I already mastered and memorized the Mysteries of the Holy Rosary, so I was always invited to lead the prayer on our Friday Meetings.

When I was in 3rd Year High School, I was elected as the student president of the Mary Help of Christian Crusade, we usually did the Living Rosary that I usually led, and other Marian activities which I really loved to do.

These practices and experiences I had during my childhood has prepared me in my adult life. I was drawn closer to God through Mary. My faith became strong, and I am more brave to battle each struggle I encounter in life.


I think that would be all for today! Until next time!

Love, @christianyocte

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

I am taking the picture, so that makes us six. 😊😊😊

519F7680-1160-4FF9-90F9-9D6D7C521BF0.jpeg

D0071546-EA1F-4FC8-A3E6-0A123528C63B.jpeg

 3 years ago (edited)
Criteria for judgingPoints 1-10
1. Relevance to the theme9
2. Creativity8
3. Technique8.5
4. Over all impact8
5. Quality of story8.5
6. Total score8.4
 3 years ago 
Judge: @loloy2020
CategoryDetails (✅/❌)
Theme: Filipino Culture
Fully Verified
Correct Title and Tags
Used the #steemexclusive tag
At least 300 Words✅/493 Words
1 Photo per Entry
Mentioned 3 Friends
Write-ups RatingGood
Criteria for JudgingRatings/Score)
1. Relevance to the theme8.5
2. Creativity8
3. Technique8
4. Overall impact8
5. Quality of story7.5
Total Ratings/Score8
 3 years ago 

Hello po,

Maraming salamat sa pagsalit sa ating Photography Contest Week 3.

Sana ay masaya ka dito sa ating Community at maging aktibo pa po kayo sa pagbahagi nang iyong mga posts.

Sa karagdagang Impormasyon, paki bisita po ang ating Community Account at Social Media Accounts.

God Bless po!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68586.22
ETH 3911.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63