The Diary Game Season 3 06/08/2021;TENDING OUR GARDEN and HARVESTING EGGPLANTS and STRINGBEANS

in Steemit Philippines3 years ago

Dear Diary,


Today was quite a busy one even if I didn't go to work because I wasn't scheduled to do so,our company is implementing a three days work so Im here at home doing some errands.I woke up at 5 in the morning,do a little stretch to get me started on the day ahead.The weather is fine and so I headed to our small garden and harvest some eggplants and string beans

Polish_20210608_202502265.jpg

The eggplants and string beans are now ready to be harvested,just a little recap we started our homesteading last year at the heights of the pandemic,we were bored back then so we decided to cultivate the vacant lot nearby and planted various vegetables.The garden is already a year old now and some vegetables no longer yield good products anymore.The long eggplants are now stout and our tomatoes no longer bear some fruits.


I noticed weeds are growing so I pull them off,we don't want them to grow drastically around our vegetables because they will suffocate and compete with our crops.After destroying the weeds I made a soil bed and try to race the beds as possible since were going to plant new batches of string beans.


Our newly planted eggplants are starting to grow up so I set up some wooden barriers to keep our hens from scratching the soil/plant.Were doing intercropping ,we plant different crops on the garden to increase growth productivity and to control the habitat of beneficial insects.

The pandemic teaches us many things including how to be self and food sufficient by doing homesteading.My niece also help me today in tending the garden,at a young age we teach her the importance of gardening and the health benefits we could get from the vegetables.

IMG_20210608_171242.jpg


Tending the garden can be tiring but it gives me he feeling of accomplishment afterwards.I felt proud spending my vacant time cultivating the land,you rip what you sow they say,so after the work is done I decided to make Enseladang talong for breakfast with our freshlybpicked eggplant

IMG_20210428_141553.jpg


....keep safe Pilipinas!🇵🇭

@carine1988

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

This post has been rewarded by @steemcurator08 with support from the Steem Community Curation Project.

Follow @steemitblog to get info about Steemit and the contest.

Anroja

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94