Steemit Philippines Photography Contest Week #6-LIFE STORY-(Share a Great Memory of a Decease Loved One)| IN HONOR OF MY GRANDMOTHER [#club5050]

in Steemit Philippines3 years ago (edited)

Grief is like the ocean; it comes on waves ebbing and flowing,sometimes the water is calm and sometimes it is overwhelming.All we can do is learn to swim.


received_560539658579013.jpeg

She was born with a silver spoon on her mouth,I grew up hearing those words from my relatives and mother and it got me confused because as far as I know my mothers family isn't rich at all.They lived on a small house and needs ro work hard to get through daily means.As I grew older I have come to understand her life story....surprisingly she and her brother came from a well of family back then bit her mother died and her father marries another woman with children from previous marriage which explain why she had these extended family that I know but doesn't treat her well.She was young when her mother died and that's when things began to get complicated.Her stepmother doesn't treat her well,so she marries my grandfather to escape from the misery.

Her parents owned some land but her father sold it out and live a good life with here new family.He only left them small portion for her and her brother but they fought very hard to own it.

received_420048443022324.jpeg

My grandparents work hard to provide for their family,she sells vegetables and dried fish.I grow up watching her walking with her basket full of vegetables and another one on top of her head.She also owns a small sari-sari store and on Sundays she sells Toron and Banana cue.Ne and my cousins loved her jackfruit stuffed Toron,we always have freebies on Sundays.

I also remember every morning we go to the old house and she will rolles the newly cooked rice and dip it in sugar and handed to us her grandchildren.

She was a very hardworking woman even when she gets older she would often say "Doing nothing makes me sick".Her children wanted her to stop because shes already old and they can provide for her but she never listen.Back in the days on Saturday nights she wants us to sleep with her,we spent those nights listening to her stories of what it was back then.

At times like these....every Halloween she would visit her childrens house and recites prayers for the souls of the departed.I had goosebumps everytime she recites latin prayers,its really fascinating how good she is on uttering latin words.

But as they say death is something that is constant,It was the month of May on tbe heights og the pandemic,she was hospitalized the doctors said her heart is enlarge and that is more better for her to spend her remaining days with the family at home because staying on hospitals were more risky not just to her but to the family.It was May ,we gathered around her she was about to go;my uncle and aunt from overseas were on the phone crying and telling there goodbyes.We lost her on the sawn of May 8,2020 which happen to be the birthdate of my lolo and my cousin.We mourn but the weak was fast,it was only 3 days because of the health protocol.I know she left with a heavy heart...she longed to see her two other children and even on her last breath it never happened.As to tjese days,things that reminds us of her still brings tears to or eyes,she was a keeper she still has every gift we give her,we know she treasures it dearly that explains why we never see her with those sandals we gave her as presents.There still new when we found it on her cabinet.

received_1473385993051540.jpeg

She was the families matriarch,her wisdom thought us about the game of life and brings me and my cousins together.Her actions speaks louder than her words and we will always remember her life and cherish it


I would like to invite my kuyas @marlon82 @reyarobo and @badz04 for to share the memories with the people they love.

20% goes to steemitphcurator

....thank you for dropping by😊

    🇵🇭🇵🇭🇵🇭

@carine1988

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Judge: @juichi

Criteria for judgingRate 0-10
1. Relevance to the theme.9.7
2. Creativity.9.7
3. Technique.9.7
4. Overall impact.9.7
5. Story quality.9.7
Total Rating9.7
 3 years ago 

Lola is in a better place now
Overall rating: 9.6

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61180.86
ETH 2456.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57