Steemit Engagement Challenge Season 8 (Week 1) || "The Power of Social Media"

in Steemit Philippines2 years ago (edited)

Screenshot_20230228-071511.png
designed using canva

Such a nice theme to start the engagement challenge.The power of social media is mostly overemphasized as the masses have seen and are part of the great benefits, compared to the disadvantages social media brings.

Steemit as a whole is a social media platform where we learn from each other, connect with people from different countries around the globe and also earn cryptocurrency.
If we're to analyze how steemit has changed the lives of many users here, we'll get a 90%, showing the power of steemit as a social media. Not only steemit.

The power of social media

Generally, social media has become an integral part of our lives, transforming how we access information, promoting our businesses and connecting with people round the globe. My experience on various social medias on which steemit is one of them would be highlighted and detailed to some extent.

I was just 12 year old when I knew what the most populous social media,Facebook was like. Although using a button phone which was most at times challenging due to slow Internet connection, I was able to connect with my classmates back then and friends online since I couldn't place calls sometimes.

Screenshot_20230228-071616.png
Source
my phone when I was 12

Most at times, we chatted at length, long enough that my mom would yelled at me, telling me to be with my books and drop the phone. My experience using social media back then isn't a good one as it were just chats I was exposed to. I couldn't access pictures, news, information, businesses, latest trends and motivational/funny videos.

Now is the reverse. With this android phone, I've gotten good experiences using social medias of which I'll break them down other than just generalizing.

Personal experiences using these social media
  • Facebook: My experience using Facebook is one of the best experience I've gotten using my phone. I could chat my friends with or without data, I could check latest trends, check videos, join informative groups and also follow up news. This particular social media became an integral part of life that a day won't go by without me stopping by. In fact, I called it my home. Barely anyone won't say they don't have an account on Facebook.

  • WhatsApp: Through WhatsApp, I've been able to join conferences, chat with my voice instead of typing, using voice call and also promoting or marketing with my status.

Screenshot_20230228-071811.png

  • Twitter and Instagram: I've been able to join conferences virtually instead of physically, go through latest trends as it evolves from there and also become knowledgeable in various aspects.

  • Steemit: I've been able to balance myself academically and financially.

These and many experiences are mine, using these social medias.

Age requirement for using social medias

In my opinion, I think there's no age requirement for joining social media depending on the environment. Nowadays, students receive information and online classes via social media. I think once you are aware of the social media you're into and you're matured enough to curtail what you view, information you hear and videos displayed on those social medias, you're good to go.

Screenshot_20230228-073118.png
Source

Some social media like WhatsApp and Instagram have an age requirement of 13 years and above. In as much as social media can be helpful to students, it can also be hazardous. To this course, parents who allow their children join social media platforms at ages of 12 and above should ensure close supervision and monitor them well.

Managing Social media accounts

To those who are no longer responsible for managing their social media accounts, it's advisable you secure it using a *strong password and two-factor authentication, as any body capable of hacking into your account can do so and start spreading malicious information using your account name. Or better still, delete the account to prevent certain happenings.

Managing a social media account is essential although it can be sometimes overwhelming. Some steemians due to inability of managing their account have left the account untouched for months, even years. Same with other social media platform like Facebook.

Most people abandon their steemit account/pages maybe due to mismanagement which led to people unfollowing you and some not engaging in your posts. There's how you create a post now and people don't engage but you have friends. Here are steps that can help you manage your account.

  • Develop a strategy: Developing a strategy will help you and it is in fact, the first step. Your strategies should include how and what you need to do to manage your account especially if it's a business account or TikTok account. Let me use TikTok as an example. Developing a strategy on when and what to post will help you.

  • After developing a strategy, creating quality contents that's interesting and posting regularly would also help you manage your TikTok account. It's not when you post today, before you post again, a month ago.

  • Engaging in people's post and staying up-to-date with trends will help you grow and manage your account properly.

With social media power, the future is and will be very transparent for people to do things with ease. Take a look at steemit. Many are profiting from it, many have promoted their businesses through Facebook and WhatsApp, many have been able to reach out to their loved ones in other countries from time to time without needing to visit them physical. You can even see your loved one via WhatsApp.

AdvantagesDisadvantages of social media
Financial improvement as a result of most social media is one of the advantageLast year, two of my Facebook accounts have been hacked and the hacker used in in defrauding my friends. When I create, it would be hacked. NowScreenshot_20230228-072552.png
Advertising my business and products have been made easy through Facebook marketing and pages Screenshot_20230228-074215.pngBeing overly focused on it, without giving priority to other things sometimes is a disadvantage that can be curtailed.
Most used social media in my country

In my country, WhatsApp is the most used nationwide. Here's a trend of these social medias.

CategoriesGrade
WhatsApp1
Facebook2
Facebook messenger3
Instagram4
Twitter5
YouTube6
TikTok7

Conclusively, social media has undoubtedly changed our lives for the better, especially during the pandemic of which is the theme of a community's engagement challenge post.

I invite @chukwu10, @patjewell and @ngoenyi

Sort:  
Loading...

You started using social media when you were very young. Facebook was actually my favorite social media platform for getting information and chatting with both new and old friends. Indeed, social media has a real impact on your life. I wish you the best of luck.

Thanks a lot Sir for this comment. Facebook was and is still one of my favorites

¡Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through -steemcurator06.
We support quality posts, and good comments anywhere, with any tags.

January (1).png
Curated by :@goodybest

Today's digital era is entering technological sophistication and social media is important in the life of modern society ... :)

 2 years ago 

Thank you for sharing your personal experiences with social media and your perspective on its advantages and disadvantages. It is true that social media has become an integral part of our lives, transforming the way we access information, promote our businesses, and connect with people from all over the world. Steemit is a great example of the power of social media, as it allows users to learn from each other, connect with people from different countries, and earn cryptocurrency. While there are many benefits to social media, such as financial improvement and staying connected with loved ones, there are also some downsides, such as the risk of hacking and fraud. Overall, it is important to manage social media accounts carefully and use them responsibly, especially when it comes to children and teenagers.

Your comment summarizes it all. Thanks for being passionate about this comment.

Buena entrada amigo, y veo que teníamos la misma edad cuando supimos de las redes sociales y tuvimos acceso a ellas, te deseo lo mejor en tu participación y que jehová te siga guiando a controlar las redes.

I'm so glad you mentioned that name in this comment. I really appreciate ma for your kind words

 2 years ago 

You've got a free upvote from witness fuli.
Peace & Love!

 2 years ago (edited)

I can see how social media affected you and it was too early for you to start using a Smart phone at that tender age, though I gave my kids phone at a very tender age too but when I know it was really affecting them I seized the phone from them and now what I do is that if you are not done with your secondary school no use of phone.

Is true people receive their studies through social media now a days, let me share with you my experience, when buying my son his screening form the lecturer ask me to get him a phone so that they can add him in the school WhatsApp group.

Is true that steemit has really helped you, both academically and financially, I am also a beneficiary of that.

Oh so sorry for your account that has been hacked, you should do 2steps authentication.

Thanks for this encouraging comment ma. I appreciate your comment in most points i highlighted.

You wrote well sir,quality markdown i must say
Best of luck

telepon saya ketika saya berusia 12 tahun

Saya juga memiliki yang serupa ketika saya masih diusia 15 tahun.
Postingan yang menarik teman, semoga sukses untuk kontes ini. 👌

Thanks friend. I appreciate

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62324.87
ETH 2419.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65