Open Mic contest Grand Finals, December 29, 2021/ You Light Up My Life

in Steemit Philippines3 years ago (edited)

Good day my Steemit friends,

It is almost the end of the year, well today is the last Wednesday of 2021. Hope everyone are having a great last Wednesday.
I had my 2nd dose of the covid-19 vaccine just this Monday so I am experiencing a flu-like symptoms now.
I have a fever with my whole body aching. I received a message from my mother @jurich60 and she informed me about the grand finals and told me to join and upload my song. Since I am a very good daughter and follows my moms order so here is my entry for the grand finals round of Tita Olive's @olivia08 open mic contest. Singing live from my son's bed, feeling sore all over but glad I don't have a cough or else I could not sing. hahaha.

A story I need to share
This song is very memorable to me, since this is a classic song and loved by many. I first sang this song when I was in grade IV at our local village contest which was ages ago. My mom was the one who taught me this song. I guess this is one of her favorite song since she taught me a lot of classis songs during her time. She taught me how to act out the song, how to deliver the lines properly specially the diction it should be executed and pronounced correctly, how to do facial expressions, how to feel the lyrics of the song. She was my coach back then like Ms. Lea Salonga. So I already had my The Voice auditions long before it aired. I remember she would let me go up our Majong table and pretended that I was on stage performing, delivering, executing seeing my dreams and our dogs are my audience which I find very funny. Well, happy to let you know that all our hard work paid off because I won. The prize was Two hundred pesos, Php200 which was a lot during the 80's and a bag of chocolates and candies and some groceries from sponsors of our Village Home owners association. I was so happy because I get to share all the goodies with my little brothers and sisters and also I get to give my prize to my beloved coach.
Who worked so hard to train me, to borrow a dress from her Chinese friend's daughter just so I will have something beautiful to wear during the contest, putting some make-up on me so I will look like the little Ms. Lea Salonga with my two pony tails on the sides with yellow ribbons matching my yellow dress, to cheer me up on the crowd telling me to just look at her so I won't get nervous, following her actions while singing. Talk about having a stage mom, I sure have one! So she really deserves the prize don't you think .......... hahaha

This is the lyrics of the song

You Light Up My Life
by: Ms. Debby Boone

So many nights I'd sit by my window
Waiting for someone to sing me his song
So many dreams I kept deep inside me
Alone in the dark, but now you've come along
And you light up my life
You give me hope to carry on
You light up my days
And fill my nights with song
Rollin' at sea, adrift on the water
Could it be finally I'm turning for home
Finally, a chance to say, "Hey, I love you"
Never again to be all alone
'Cause you light up my life
You give me hope to carry on
You light up my days
And fill my nights with song
'Cause you, you light up my life
You give me hope to carry on
You light up my days
And fill my nights with song
It can't be wrong
When it feels so right
'Cause you, you light up my life

This song is not only for people who are waiting for someone to love them and found them. This is also like a fight our hope song specially now with the catastrophic effects of typhoon Odette. This song can also be related to God. Who serves as our Light, our beacon of hope when we think everything has been broken. I guess all of us have our own person who Light's up our lives usually they are our family and of course God, Nothing could go wrong if we let him Light up our Life.

I hope you like my version. I wish to greet you an advance Happy Year 2022. May it bless us immensely with utter abundance, Good health, Happiness, wealth and Love.

Let us try to be an eternally positive person so that's what we will attract in our lives. What we think about we bring about.

love and peace,
@aideleijoie

#club5050
#accountbooster

steemit phils GIF footer.gif

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Ate galing mo po! Love the timbre of your voice 👏🙌

 3 years ago 

Thank you dear😘😘

 3 years ago 

Ahahaha nice song! Beautifully sang though with fever. Happy much to recall how I coach you, memorable happenings worth a big big smile.

 3 years ago 

Haha, hindi ko tlaga makakalimutan yon mommy kow. Nakatatak na sa memory bank ko.
Thank you so much, I learned a lot from you. Okay naman dahil nanalo tayo! haha

 3 years ago 

Grabe ang boses mo ate. Kinikilabutan ako sa ganda ng boses mo. 😱👏👏

 3 years ago 

ikaw naman, ano ako multo, nyahahahaha!
joke joke! hihi
thanks Del.

 3 years ago 

Youre welcome ate.. 😊

 3 years ago 

Ang Galing po Ate @aideleijoie Napaka vlear ng pagkanta mopo, ang sweet ng voice mo dyan ate 😍

 3 years ago 

Ang galing talaga sis. Bow talaga ako. Thank you for sharing your talent sa ating community.

 3 years ago 

Thank you sissy ko. Happy to hear some appreciative words from you. Enjoy the coming New Year sis. NagEnchanted Kingdom mo sis malapit lang ba kayo dun? Kaya lang panigurado super duper daming tao nyan. May mga members din dito na nagpunta sa EK grabe kahaba daw ng pila bawat rides halos hindi mo din maeenjoy.

 3 years ago 

You're welcome sis! Happy new year din to you and your family. Hindi kami ng EK sis. Mahal heheh dami namin dito. hindi pwede kami lang ang pupunta. pasyal nalng kami sa ibang place na pwede dalhin buong mag-anak n walang masyado gastos.

 3 years ago 

oo nga sis, tama para lahat makapag enjoy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64937.78
ETH 3242.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63