“Steemit Engagement Challenge S3:W4 - Three things I'd change about myself, and three things I'd keep by @event-horizon”

in India Speaks2 years ago

Greetings neighbors!

It's my first appearance in this community and kind of first in the engagement challenge. The topic somewhat got my attention and made me do some self-reflection. I made a mental list of some traits at first but I know I am forgetful so I noted them down in my notepad. Funnily, I wrote seven bad traits and got stuck at the second good trait. I mean I'm not that bad as a person but what was that? Perhaps, too hard on myself; another bad trait, hmmm...

The following song is playing in my head while writing this post. If you can spare a minute, do listen to one of my favorite songs.


Demons - Imagine Dragons [YouTube link]

The contest asked us to think of three good and three bad traits. Therefore, I did some deep thinking which enabled me to shortlist my demonic and angelic traits. (This song is affecting my vocabulary)

I hope you won't get scared of me after reading about my worst traits that I would like to change. I am born with these habits or you can say adopted them over time. So here we go...

blue line.png

My Worst Traits that I'd like to Change

blue line.png

1. Short-Tempered

Do something that annoys me and see me burst into fumes. Do you remember the Howlers from Harry Potter? Well, I think I turn into one sometimes. You can watch this short clip from the movie if you have no idea what I am talking about.


A scene from Harry Potter - [YouTube Link]

I don't know what I say when I lose control, probably all the nasty things that I could think of. I react first and think later. That's why after 5 minutes, I regret opening my mouth at all and nobody can tell how furious I was minutes ago but by then the damage is done and the victim of my wrath is totally pissed.

I really wish that whatever happens, I keep my cool, think rationally and then sort things out through a polite conversation. If not polite then reasonable at least.

I am working on controlling my anger by appreciating small things and focusing more on the brighter side of the situation.


2 - What would they think?


I overthink a lot and even worse, about others' opinions. This is one of my worst traits rather a miserable one that I really, really wish to change. I mean it's good to keep others in mind especially loved ones before doing anything but it should never cost you your mental peace.

I think I don't know where to set the boundary. Either I turn completely oblivious or I think way too much and go beyond the limits to adapt myself according to others' wishes.

I am not a people pleaser, it's a different thing. I need acceptance by others which is totally not needed most of the time.

I am working on this as well by learning to prioritize my happiness over petty issues.


3- Forgive but can't Forget


I didn't know whether to put this trait among the good ones or among the bad ones. Having forgiving nature shows how big is your heart and it's kind of good to remember the bad a person did to remain cautious in the future.

However, this seemingly good trait doesn't work for me. If a person unintentionally did something wrong or repents afterward that doesn't change my opinion about him/her. My mind gets stuck at the point that why did he/she do that?

I forgive but I can't give that level of respect or value to that person again. I keep getting flashes of that one mistake or that one bad deed.

By now, I'm sure I have successfully managed my readers to hate me. But let me tell you that I am also working on this bad habit by putting myself into others' shoes and thinking that I wouldn't want that for me if I do some mistake.


blue line.png

My Best Traits that I'd like to Retain

blue line.png

1- Honesty

Honest to a point like Luna - source

The first thing that immediately came to my mind was honesty. Honesty, integrity, and loyalty are the most attractive traits for me in a person. I believe it takes courage to be honest and keep your integrity all the time. Cheating and dishonesty are cowardly traits in my opinion.

What I expect to see in others should first be practiced by me. It's one of the reasons that I always try to be truthful.

If we talk about relationships then as much as honesty and loyalty look attractive, it should be much more than that. It's the first unspoken rule for me.

I'd like to keep this habit of mine forever for it has gained me so much respect, trust, good friendships, and a perfect relationship. Some people hate me for being point blank honest but it is what it is. I wouldn't trade this trait to get any approval.


2- Humble


Humble like the great wizard Harry Potter - source

I had to think hard about this trait. Sometimes, we play this game of, "tell my good and bad habits" with our friends. My friends always say that I am a very humble person.

I have this habit of not digesting the praise. I never think of myself as better than all. Even if I am really good at something, I always think there are better people than me. I don't have any inferiority or superiority complex. I stay modest and humble. I might not express it but in my heart, I think of myself as a common person.

I believe it's a good habit of mine that keeps me away from arrogance and give me a chance to do self-reflection.


3- Obedient


Obedient and Fierce Rule Follower like Hermione - source

Since childhood, I had been a very obedient kid. I am the eldest child and the only daughter of my parents. They pampered me a lot but they were strict at the same time. So I was taught to obey from an early age. My mind doesn't think of doing otherwise. There is no rebellious element in me.

As a grown-up, this habit of obeying and following rules is now engraved in me. I find myself following even silly rules that nobody cares about.

Seeing me like this, my kids listen to me as well. When I give them proper reasoning of good and bad things they do listen to me and obey whatever say.

So this is the one trait that I love about myself and would like to retain in order to be a better person.



Thankfully, the contest asked us to write only three good habits because I seriously can't think of anything more.


I invite my friends @pixie.dust, @cocomuff, and @afifaasif to participate in this interesting challenge.

blue line.png

Regards,
event-horizon

Sort:  
Loading...

Hello friend, it was fun reading you, because while I read I am building your personality in my mind, and yes, are you a little strict with yourself and with others? perhaps. You have perfectionist traits. But I've already told you before that I identify with you.
And then how to hate you? your humility that is real makes you a nice person 😊

So I think the set is good. And I'm glad to know you a little more.

Thanks for sharing.

I think I operate on extreme levels sometimes. I don't believe in astrology but I do think we have certain traits of a zodiac in our personality.

I'm a Leo, a lion which explains my fierceness in most things. I can be a total wreck and a total sweetheart at the same time. I'm loyal at heart so the bad traits doesn't tarnish my heart. I don't think about doing any bad to anyone, I fight my own battles of perfectionism.

Thank you for stopping by. I read it again and I sound an awful person in first part of the post. 🤣

If we go by astrology then I have reasons to be lunatic 🤣

Actually your flaws don't sound so ugly. They seem very human to me.

 2 years ago 

You have made the very right decision to eliminate Overthinking. It really disturbs our minds. Keep thinking positive, then Allah will create positive things with you. Thank you for sharing the post. Good luck for the contest, dear.
🥳🥳🥳

Overthinking is literally a curse. Whenever I feel I'm drowning in my own demons, I start thinking about Allah and do things which make me feel closer to Him. It helps a lot and fills me up with a positive energy. 🙂

Okay, let's just talk about the bad ones, you won't believe the two of them are exactly the same that I thought for myself by having a look at the topic of this challenge!
Reacting first and thinking later is my kind of spoiled kid thing, why an obedient person like you do it huh?? 😄❤
Amm your 3rd trait kinda terrified me, indirectly asking others to be careful lol..?
Btw Love all your qualities, it takes a lot to remain a down to earth person in this modern era.

 2 years ago 

Greetings, you have been supported by @steemindiaa account for your post. This is the official community account for our Indian community on Steemit. For more information, please visit our discord channel.


Moderator/Curator : @jyoti-thelight


Steem India Comment GIF.gif

Subscribe & Join Our Community
Telegram ----- Discord

You've got a free upvote from witness fuli.
Peace & Love!

Have you read the books or only watched the movies?

I have read books, more than once actually. Didn't like the movies much.

Sameee. The movies were nothing compared to the books. I have read the whole atleast a dozen times xD

Haha. Dozen??? How do you find time for that? I so want to read again but no time for that since ages.

Hola! Pensar en la opinión de los demás puede llegar a perjudicarnos grandemente, porque dejamos de ser o hacer lo que nos gusta para evitar las críticas. Antes yo también temia todo eso, pero me di cuenta que las personas siempre hablaran de uno, asi hagamos las cosas bien o mal. Así que disfrutemos la vida y de quien somos.

Eres obediente desde niña gracias a la educación de tu padres. Yo también, no soy rebelde para nada, jajaja, que bueno que seas tranquila.

Me encantaron las imagenes de Harry Potter, y la canción de Demons es genial, fue con la cual conocí a esa gran agrupación musical.

Muchos éxitos.

I had a good time reading your post. Post inspiration from a franchise like Harry Potter made me connect with your story even more as I'm a huge harry potter fan myself. Thank you for reminding me my childhood again and how i used to had a crush on emma watson.
Keep posting good content like this, Regards @yuvi243

 2 years ago 

Hello @event-horizon,

sorry to disturb you,

This is my friends, I've invite him for @steemit but no one is take attention on him. 5 days almost finished but his post not verified and done @achivement1.

So do needful for this.

https://steemit.com/hive-172186/@paskals/introduction-my-self-paskals

He will be verified when he follows the instructions.

 2 years ago 

I guided him and he mentioned information according to #achievement1

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05