#Club100 // MY FAVOURITE SUBJECT DURING STUDENT LIFE - Human Rights.

in India Speaks2 years ago

962F8518-62CF-4CCC-AF73-B5392ACA86E5.jpeg

Introduction

Hello to all on the Steem India community, and accept Steem greetings from @chant from Cameroon 🇨🇲. It’s a pleasure to participate in this contest about my favorite subject during my school period. That said, permit me to share some of my experiences as a student before talking about my favorite subject.

Brief Explanation of my student life and How I Developed an Interest in Human Rights Protection, and Promotion.

My primary and secondary school days have some of the worst experiences, I wish I had a choice to choose where I come from. I grow up in a royal family because my dad was a prince. There were lots of traditional stereotypes that hinders women's progress in that community. For instance, female children were not allowed to go to school but rather get married and take care of the family.

We are 8 of us to my dad all females. So, you can imagine the trauma psychologically I went through being constantly reminded that women are “prostitutes”, and my father should not border himself sending us to school. However, I did not allow this to hinder my progress. I was so determined to go to school even though at the secondary level there was no focus because of no one to mentor or direct me.

It was at the university, I developed an interest in human rights protection and promotion. That is when I developed my passion to protect vulnerable groups in my country.

My Favourite Topic was Classification of Human Rights in Different Generations.

The first thing to note here is that, as a human rights defender, you need to know the different generations of rights. This is because if you cannot identify the type of right violated, you will not be able to get the legal instruments to protect the person whose rights have been violated.

Human rights are classified into 3 different generations namely: 1st Generation Rights, 2nd Generation Rights, and 3rd Generation Rights. Just looking at the different generation rights without knowledge of what has been classified under the different generations is more confusing for beginners😀😃. Do not border as I got you all covered.

What are 1st Generation Rights??

First-generation rights include those fundamental rights of humans which cannot be taken away from them. It focuses on the civil, and political rights of citizens. For instance the right to fair trial, right to life, right to vote, freedom of speech, etc. This was developed to protect citizens from government excesses.

What are 2nd Generation Rights??

Second-generation rights have to do with economic cultural, and social issues within the society. It compels governments with the responsibility to protect citizens to have equal treatment and conditions when it comes to economic, social, and cultural activities within the state. Some of the rights include; the right to food, right to shelter, right to work, right to health care, etc.

What are 3rd Generation Rights

This has more to do with collective rights . Remember the first and second generations of rights-focused more on individual rights. They are at times also referred to as solidarity rights. Examples of some rights classified under this generation are; the right to self-determination, right to natural resources, rights to development, etc.

Reasons why I like and Enjoyed Learning about Human Rights Protection and Promotion.

As I earlier mentioned, I grew up in a disadvantaged community, and I was determined to empower myself and protect my kids and other vulnerable persons. The following are reasons I like and enjoy learning about human rights.

1FC2FB55-FD6D-4091-B671-9D9EF6D74B8E.jpeg
Me at the military court protecting rights of vulnerable persons detained during the Anglophone crisis.

First, the knowledge I have acquired from learning human rights has helped me to be able to tackle some human rights violations, and equally improved the lives of vulnerable communities.

0AE7B6B5-0410-4155-9494-6932183F5A2F.jpeg Me having talks with experts.

Secondly, I enjoyed learning about human rights because it helps me to easily identify the type of rights violated and which international and National legal instruments protect these rights.

Thirdly, I love learning about human rights because it has provided universal standards which can be used to somehow promote government accountability. It makes it possible for a defender to name injustices and call the attention of the government.

Fourthly, I like human rights because they are universal. This means that anywhere I find myself, the same rights applied to me irrespective of my religion, country, political ideas, etc.

Lastly, I like and enjoy learning about human rights protection, as it gives you some sort of freedom to speak freely. You are not limited by some traditional stereotypes that say as a woman when men are talking, you stay quiet and accept all whatever decisions they arrived at.

D6E6155A-F691-4979-A852-649AF2A258BF.jpeg Me presenting a project I did on “Gender and conflicts related to Patriarchy Land Issues in my community”.

Conclusion

I have talked about my favorite subject in school and explained one of the topics I enjoyed learning. It is important to know the different generations of rights because you cannot protect what you cannot identify.

Today, I can boldly say I am proud of the lives of vulnerable persons I have impacted through sensitization. It has created awareness in communities where women were treated unfairly.

5CC56DAE-76C2-426E-BCD9-3218CC08826D.jpeg
Me sensitising muslim women on human rights. One thing I noticed was the “Polaaco” culture practiced here that says when men are talking, the woman has no voice but accept every decision taken by men.

I will like @graciella, @majerius, @rudylove, and @monjuapollonia to take part in this contest.

Sort:  

Thank you for contributing to #LearnWithSteem theme (#learnwithsteem , #tutorial, and #lesson). This post has been upvoted by @tucsond using @steemcurator09 account. We encourage you to keep publishing quality and original content in the Steemit ecosystem to earn support for your content.

Club Status: #Club100

Sevengers Comment GIF.gif

Regards,
Team #Sevengers

Tu vida académica es un ejemplo.

Para todas esas mujeres que están en desventaja, dónde la cultura les impone que deben tener un esposo e hijos y ser manejada por el esposo sin voz ni voto pienso que eso debe cambiar y para eso falta personas como tú y muchas más para que les expliqué que por el hecho de ser mujer tienen derechos iguales que los hombres y que deben defender sus derechos y sus sueños.
Gran materia te felicito

Exactly my dear friend. We need constant sensitisation, creating awareness let them be aware of their rights. Thanks for commenting on my entry post.

You're are good at what you do!
Thanks for advocating for the rights of the underprivileged.

Kuddos to you and your team for standing tall all through and I pray for more wins and success dear.

I know exactly the dilemma that comes with same sex children in those days. Thank God your daddy loved you all and impact Ed so much in your lives.

Thanks for the mentioned

Thanks a lot for you words of encouragement. It means a lot to me, and I will not relent my efforts to protect vulnerable groups.

What a beautiful presentation. You have really done great

Thanks for the engagement my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59956.07
ETH 2524.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49