Birding in Indus River, D.I.Khan

in Birding / Wildlife4 years ago

After short stay at Namal Lake we started our journey towards D.I.Khan. On my way towards D.I.Khan we crossed chashma barrage and I was very eager to do birding there but they did not allow us to do Photography, But at chashma barrage I was very happy to see a large number of migratory birds and hoped to find some new birds at my destination.

1.jpg

On my way towards D.I.Khan I also saw the Kafer kot (7th century CE) heritage site. Kafir Kot consists of the ruins of 5 temples, and the ruins of a large fort protecting the site.

2.jpg

Around 6 p.m we reached there. After meeting with our friends we started our journey again and crossed D.I.Khan. After some off-road drive we reached Indus River. From there we started sailing on boat and after an hour of boat journey in Indus River we reached our base camp. It was a full moon night and everything looked beautiful.

3.jpg

As I was very tired after a long drive so I tried to get some sleep. But I was very excited so did not sleep well and woke up early around 3 a.m. For photography it was not perfect light to shoot. I enjoyed the cool breeze and excellent weather on Indus River. It was a life time experience that I was on an island in Indus river full moon night.

4.jpg

Before sunrise migratory birds started to arrive. I was very excited to stand on migration root spot. When I got a little bit light I grabbed my camera with high ISO and started capturing the birds and I was very delighted when I started my day with spoonbill, never expected that lifer for me.

5.jpg

6.jpg

After sunrise I searched around and saw a lot of birds. As I never did birding in wetland so every bird was new for me but still I found some old friends like Wagtail, Kite, Crow, Pied Kingfisher, Swallow, Stilt, Lapwing, Egret, crested lark etc.

8.jpg

9.jpg

10.jpg

11.jpg

12.jpg

13.jpg

14.jpg

15.jpg

16.jpg

During this birding I captured a lot of new birds and many of them were lifer for me. When I was heading towards D.I.Khan I had done some home work but still had no high hopes. I thought that in this trip I might find some new species of ducks only. But I was very delighted to see some new species of sandpipers and plover for me.

17.jpg

18.jpg

19.jpg

20.jpg

21.jpg

After few hours of birding I headed towards hunting spot. After half hour of boating we reached there. They prepared a hide for my birding and I captured new birds and duck like Northern Pintail , Common Pochards, Northern Shoveler, River Tern, Dunlin, Osprey, Sand lark, Greater Short Toed Lark, Pratincole, Greater Coucal, Temminck's Stint and Great cormorant.

22.jpg

23.jpg

24.jpg

25.jpg

26.jpg

28.jpg

29.jpg

30.jpg

31.jpg

32.jpg

After a half day birding I realized that I had explored the place enough. I loved the place and felt that in next few months there would be a lot of birds there so I left the place and was determined to come again in season.

birding.jpg

#featheredfriends

Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about nature, animals, birds, food, traveling, photography, wildlife and discovering the beauties of the world, feel free to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about. Have a wonderful day! :)

ZAGHAM TRAVEL @lifeskills-tv

SmallBanner2.jpg

22228175_10214058908649425_7168648393410848602_n.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 65292.16
ETH 2651.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85