Pain: A Disease or Symptom

in Healthy Steem8 months ago

Thumbnail pain a disease or symptom.png

Designed in Canva


Pain is something we've all felt at some point in our lives. Whether it's a cut, a stomachache, or a headache, any kind of discomfort is a sign that something's not right with our body. But what exactly is pain? How do we feel it? And what causes it? These are all questions I'll try to clear up for you today.

Firstly, pain fundamentally is something that activates our sensory nerves. When any part of our body potentially gets damaged or injured, the nerves in that area get stimulated and send signals. These signals travel to the brain, and we start to feel pain. That's what we call discomfort or pain.

26760071_2201.i518.039.F.m005.c7.realistic neuroscience brain human.jpg

Image by macrovector on Freepik

There are also other reasons for pain. For example, an infection or a disease that harms the nerves. Sudden pain can also start because of some internal illness. But the basic concept of all kinds of pain is that sensory nerves get excited, and we feel discomfort.

The intensity of this pain can vary a lot. Sometimes it's mild, and other times it's so severe that it's hard to bear. This depends on how deep the injury is and where it's located. Pain is our body's defense mechanism, always on alert. Not only does it inform us about damage or injury, but it also compels us to seek treatment.

Now, let's discuss whether pain is a disease or a symptom. All kinds of pain ultimately stem from some physical harm. Whether it's a serious disease or just an injury. Therefore, technically, we can't call pain a separate illness.

However, it's also true that sometimes pain becomes so intense that it turns into a problem in itself. For example, if you frequently get severe headaches, it might be diagnosed as a separate condition like a migraine.

About five months ago, I was at the market and when I reached into my pocket to pay the shopkeeper, I felt a slight pain in my wrist, which I ignored. Later that day, while lifting dumbbells at the gym, I felt the pain again, and it was more intense. I thought maybe the dumbbell was too heavy, so I switched to a lighter one. But every time I bent my wrist at a certain angle, I felt the pain. It wasn't too bad but it was irritating. I did a bit of gym and went home.


Picture 1.jpg

Highlighted area in red indicating the region of discomfort experienced during my hand flexion


I thought maybe it was a muscle pull, so I took a painkiller and went to bed. The next morning, when I reached out to grab my phone from the table, I felt that annoying pain again. This time, I clenched my fist and rotated my wrist at different angles. I realized the pain occurred when I moved my hand downwards.

My first thought was maybe I had injured my wrist ligament. And when I got it checked by a doctor, my suspicion was confirmed. The doctor asked if I exercised, and I mentioned the gym. He advised me that ligament injuries take time to heal and it's better to avoid the gym for 6 months and rest the hand as much as possible. He prescribed a gel which I applied for 2 months and also gave me some tablets for a month.


Picture 2.jpg

Picture displaying the pharmaceuticals recommended by the physician


NoPharmaceuticalsQuantityPrice in PKRPrice in STEEM
1Capsiloc Gel 25g1320 Rs.5.2 STEEM
2Evion Capsule 400mg10800 Rs.13 STEEM
3Synflex 550mg10230 Rs.3.7 STEEM
4Movax 2mg10200 Rs.3.2 STEEM

Alhamdulillah, I started feeling better after 2 months and now I'm completely healed. However, I'm still avoiding the gym as a precaution. I plan to resume gym from March, and I really need to because I feel like I've gained some weight since I stopped going.


I trust that you found the information in my article to be valuable. 😊


I would like to invite @josevas217, @paholags, @malikusman1, @irawandedy, @fjjrg, @harferri, @o1eh, @radjasalman and @josepha to join this contest through this link, if they have not already taken part in it.


blog footer.png

Author: @waqarahmadshah | Date: 26-Jan-2024 | Achievement 1
Sort:  
Loading...

TEAM 4

Congratulations! This post has been voted through steemcurator07. We support quality posts and comments!
Curated by : @radjasalman


 8 months ago 

Thanks for the support @radjasalman. I appreciate that. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60216.66
ETH 2326.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48