I Just Want to Breathe

in Healthy Steem2 months ago

thumbnail pic.jpg


For the past three years I have been suffering from bad cough. In general, it seems like everybody has a sensitive throat. If we consume something very cold, taking a sour or sweet substance, we may develop throat infection. Some people are born with a very powerful immune system and they are not as sensitive as other people. Sadly, I am not one of those people because my throat has always been sensitive.

Unfortunately, I cannot recall much of my childhood but for the past few years, when I used to get a throat infection, it would transform into a cough that persisted for months. Usually, people take about 15 days to recover from this but that was not my case, each time this cough problem occurred I would go to doctors but none of them could well examine my condition.

Last year, a doctor told me I had mild asthma and gave me an inhaler along with some medicine. This worried me because no one in my family has ever had asthma. I took the medicine, and my cough was suppressed for a few days, but as soon as I finished the medicine, the cough returned with a vengeance, making me feel like my lungs were about to burst.

During this time, a friend of my father suggested that I get an allergy test and vaccination because the inhaler was not good for me considering my age. He recommended a doctor at Misbah International Hospital in Dera Ismail Khan, who specializes in dealing with allergies and asthma. My condition was deteriorating, so I went with my father to see this doctor on March 26, 2023.

I explained my entire medical history to the doctor. He listened patiently and reviewed the previous reports and prescriptions. He suggested I undergo an allergy test, and based on the results, he would recommend a vaccination.

allergy test report.jpg

The allergy test involved pricking my forearm with needles to check my body's response to different allergens. I believe it's called a skin prick test. The doctor told me I was primarily allergic to dust. He then suggested that I start a vaccination course to help with my condition.

The vaccination schedule required a small amount of vaccine to be injected into my skin every three days. In total, I received six vials over almost eight months and had regular check-ups with the doctor during this period.

Vaccines vials pic collage.jpg

After the vaccination, I continued using the medicine for three months until my cough became almost non-existent. My last visit to the doctor was on 24th December last year and he prescribed me more tablets for two months and advised me to visit him again if I needed it. I was glad that I no longer had the cough and that was the end of it but as you will come to see fate had other plans for me.


26 March 2023


25 April 2023


25 May 2023


25 June 2023


06 August 2023


03 September 2023


22 October 2023


24 December 2023

From February to May this year, I was okay, however, two weeks ago, I felt a scratch in my throat which developed into a severe infection with a mild fever. I took antibiotics for the throat and it was healed in five days but the cough reoccurred suddenly. I even took a cough syrup, but it was ineffective.

Two days ago, I woke up in the middle of the night feeling like I couldn't breathe. I drank some water, but then I had such a severe coughing fit that it woke up the entire house. It lasted about 20 minutes, and I was just praying for it to stop. I just wanted to breathe. Nothing else!

Yesterday, I with my father went for another check-up because it was necessary. The doctor ordered a blood test, which revealed that this time, my cough was due to an infection, not an allergy. Given my history, he advised me to avoid cold and sour foods to prevent throat infections that could trigger my cough.


14 June 2024 (Recent)


Blood Test Report

I asked him what the point of the vaccine was if I still got a cough. He explained that the vaccine's effects would last a lifetime and were intended to prevent my allergy from turning into asthma. The vaccine would be beneficial later in life, especially in old age, as it was almost certain I would have developed asthma without it. He gave me more tablets (infact a bundle of them) for three months, which you can see in the picture below.

tablets pic.jpg

So, for now, I'm back on medication. Let's see how things go. I hope I get better because while a cough isn't a serious disease, it's incredibly irritating. Last year, I received teaching job offers from some private colleges, but I couldn't take them due to my condition.

Anyway, it's clear that I need to modify my lifestyle and diet. I'll have to avoid foods that might cause throat infections. As for limiting dust exposure, I wear a mask when I go outside, but the area I live in gets frequent dust storms during summer, so managing this will be challenging, but I have to do it...


blog footer.png

Author: @waqarahmadshah | Date: 15-Jun-2024 | Achievement 1
Sort:  
Loading...
 2 months ago 

I'm not a doctor, but I believe it is the early stage of asthma, and you should avoid cold and acidic foods, as instructed by your doctor. Five years ago, I had the same terrible cough all the time. When I saw a doctor, he recommended that I take an inhaler for several months, in addition to other medication. I felt better after continuing with his treatment. Now, after a cold, I'm experiencing the same cough, but I've been taking the inhaler for several days, and the cough has disappeared. It happened to me infrequently.

 2 months ago 

I just hope it doesn't turn into asthma...

Plus, I'm glad to hear your cough has disappeared after using the inhaler.

 2 months ago 

🌼

I'm sorry to hear that! I hope you are doing reasonably well again...

I think a (house) dust allergy is less about sand or similar outside, but about dust particles in the house. Allergy sufferers therefore avoid carpets, cushions, curtains etc.

 2 months ago 

Allergy sufferers therefore avoid carpets, cushions, curtains etc.

You are right. I am taking care of all these things.

 2 months ago 

You are having a tough situation my brother, taking this much of medicine is not good for the health because it also brings side effects, moreover, seeing more checkup lists made me very upset. Brother take care of yourself and I will recommend you exercise; especially jogging and sprinting which will increase your breathing rate and helps you to boost your immunity.

 2 months ago 

Thank you for your kind words.

 2 months ago 

So sorry to hear about bad health! I can only suggest you to avoid food or drinks that your system doesn't accept. I wish you a speedy recovery.

 2 months ago 

You are right. Thank you for your kind words.

 2 months ago 

So sorry about your health challenge. Am positive that you would be fine and of course would breath well again. Stay strong and healthy my friend.

 2 months ago 

If God wills, I will definitely become healthy. Thank you for your kind words.

 2 months ago 

I'm so sorry about your health condition, and I wish you a speedy recovery!

 2 months ago 

Thank you so much for your kind words and well wishes!

Sad to hear about your current health situation. Hope you can get a good medical attention.

 2 months ago 

I am taking meds and hope to get better soon. Thanks for stopping by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59529.60
ETH 2657.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41