SEC-S13/W4| "The Role of the Caregiver ♥️ "

in Healthy Steem10 months ago

We all find ourselves in moments of vulnerability, needing care and understanding.

The truth is, suffering is inevitable. Sometimes we are unable to change someone's circumstance, but the simple act of being present someone's suffering is profound, powerful and life changing. It fosters deeper human connection, a spark allowing for openness and dialogue that normally would never transpire. It's this shared human experience that makes caregiving incredibly valuable. It's in these moments of vulnerability that we find true connection, trust and deeper relationship than possible.

DALL·E 2023-11-11 20.59.56 - a male caregiver helping an elderly woman cartoon.png

In my personal experience, caregiving can be both mentally and physically exhausting. Working in Assisted Livings, you can be responsible to physically transfer human beings back and forth multiple times a day. This can be like doing many sets of deadlifts or squats, every day, for 8 or 16 hours at a time. In most states, average caregivers in an assisted living will be responsible for anywhere between 6 and 12 residents at a time. With staffing issues, lazy coworkers, quality caregivers often become responsible for more than their fair share and burden. The physical exhaustion and ironic lack of care from peers can lead to burnout and mental health issues.

Working in Memory Care and Dementia units can be lighthearted and jovial. It isn't always the dark, sad despair that one would expect. Unfortunately, there are tough dies. Residents pass away, sometimes tragically, sometimes expected. I truly wish someone had taught me and warned me about vicarious trauma and the PTSD that can be developed through caregiving.
Truthfully, when you have a deep connection and truly care for those around you, it is traumatizing to witness death again and again and again, often on a daily basis. It takes careful reflection, contemplation and honesty with oneself to sort through the feelings. (It gave me a small existential crisis at times)

DALL·E 2023-11-11 21.00.05 - a male caregiver helping an elderly woman cartoon.png

Due to these burdens, I do not believe anyone should be caregiving alone. Truly, don't we all wish to exist in a world where we all care unduly for one another with true grace and compassion? I believe that having individuals around, that can help carry these burdens is important to prevent burnout.

No matter how compassionate you are, burnout, physical pain, and mental health from pure exhaustion can compromise even the greatest level of care. I found that my patience, the quality of my care, and the connection with my peers around me was substantially worse during periods we were short staffed.

Eventually I progressed into management and was responsible for supervising over 75+ caregivers. This was a whole new set of challenges, but I learned that "Submission in Leadership" and teamwork was absolutely critical to supporting the care of our 80 residents. Ever changed a brief while wearing a suit and tie? I have.

Contrasting working in large facilities, in my personal life I've witnessed my Spouses mom take care of an 87 year old woman and her disable 50 year old son in their home. These two individuals that require care are very needy, although, very sweet, polite and kind. Witnessing the care over years, I can see the burnout, and how the care has changed. Please note, her mom is a perfectionist and their care is amazing. She's a phenomenal caregiver, but at times, does not have as much patience for the repetitive dementia questions or behaviors that come with a developmentally disabled individual.

I believe that the greatest qualities a caregiver can have:
Love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and most importantly self-control.

care.png

If you are presently a caregiver, experiencing challenges, burdens, or even trauma:

Be PROACTIVE, not Reactive.

Creating activities, engaging in conversations and finding simply what makes everyone "Tick" is the key!
There is a spark of unique curiosity within every human being, there lies treasure that even the darkest shadows, and grumpy old man can't hide! Kindness and grace continually persist and prevail throughout challenges.
Find your curiosity, take that spark and connect genuinely, compassionately with those around you.

Sort:  
 10 months ago 

What you describe is very interesting, the world of parenting is full of challenges. Sorry I can't verify your post, because you didn't do achievement1, this already has rules. It's best if you do a self-introduction or achievement task, and do it in the newcomer community. So that your quality work will receive appropriate awards. once again I apologize for the inconvenience.

Thank you! I have completed achievement 1 now, I am so sorry for missing this! Would it still be possible to be verified? I know I'm close to the deadline :) Appreciate your time!

 10 months ago 

El gran trabajo que tiene que hacer un cuidador se vuelve extraordinario cuando esta persona se capacita personalmente de muchas cualidades como la empatía y se hace fuerte mental y físicamente para todo el trabajo que le espera.

Hay que trabajar muchísimo la paciencia y la destreza para poder aguantar todo el trabajo tan duro que les toca a un cuidador.

Le deseo mucha suerte en tu concurso

Saludos

 10 months ago 

I just love the last line. Be proactive, not reactive. This seems to be one of the best captions I've seen so far. Being a caregiver might sometimes seem tempting but we can actually outshine this by developing qualities that would help us be good caregivers. Like the moderator said, get to doing your achievement 1 and be verified.

I noticed on days that I wasn't creating games, activiites or things to do, the residents I cared for would create work for me, and it'd usually be terrible! haha :)

Just finished achievement1, I feel like a dummy for missing it!

 10 months ago 

Ohhh. Better. Steem on

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59626.66
ETH 2519.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43