SEC-S13/W4| "The Role of the Caregiver"steemCreated with Sketch.

in Healthy Steem11 months ago (edited)

Good day my dear friends, I started my SEC-S13/W4 series with the contest organized by @hive-168205 via Healthy Steem Community. We all know that a caregiver is someone who provides essential care and support to people who are unable to care for themselves due to age, illness, disability, or other factors. A caregiver can be a family member, a friend, or a professional hired by the family. They assist the patient with daily activities such as bathing, dressing, feeding, and physiotherapy. Caregivers provide comfort and assistance, as well as security and trust to those in their care. Caregivers must be patient and dedicated. They contribute significantly to the patient's overall happiness and dignity.

caregiver 2.png
Designed by Canva

image.png

Have you played the role of caregiver or do you know someone who has put it into practice? Tell us about it.

Yes, I was a caregiver for my elderly mother and later for my partially paralyzed sister. As their caregiver, I had to balance my own life while ensuring their facility. My mother became ill in 2012 and was unable to perform her work alone, forcing her to spend more than two years in bed. We had to care for her for two years until she recovered. My elder sister became partially paralyzed later in the year 2022. She had been in bed for more than three months. I had to help them with their personal hygiene, meal preparation, and medication administration as part of my daily routine. As an employee, it would have been difficult for me if my other siblings did not assist me. As a family, we care for our mother and sister on various occasions with patience and dedication.

Do you think that caring for a sick person should be a team effort or the work of a single person?

Caring sick person for a single person is very tiring work. Because, in the face of illness the patient may have a lot of physical and emotional demands. Therefore, caregiving can be made much easier with a team effort because their abilities, resources, and support can all be pooled together. This will lessen the burden on a single person and ensure a more comprehensive and systematic care experience for the patient. Furthermore, sharing responsibilities aids in caregivers' rest and tiredness. A collaborative effort will improve care quality and provide the best possible outcome for the patient.

What qualities do you think a caregiver should have?

Kindness, patience, empathy, adaptability, communication , respect for dignity, time management, reliability, problem-solving abilities, and self-care are some essential qualities of a caregiver in my opinion. If the caregiver possesses these characteristics, he or she can be a good caregiver. Sick people are extremely poor and constantly require assistance from others; these characteristics can improve their ability to provide effective care. However, in today's society, due to a lack of job opportunities, most people choose the caregiver job as a source of income. The primary goal of such people is to make money rather than to provide care. As a result, it is difficult to find such qualities in those caregivers.

What advice would you give to a person who is performing this role?

Remember that your efforts are invaluable, and greatly appreciated by others. It is critical to take breaks, seek emotional support, and maintain your own well-being in order to sustain the care you provide. Be patient and understanding. It is because the person you are caring for may be frustrated or distressed. When necessary, seek advice from family members, friends, or professional care services units. Get more training on caregiving services through YouTube and other methods. Understanding the symptoms and treatments will help to provide quality care service to the patient.

image.png

Here is my entry to the contest. I would like to invite @dove11, @saintkelvin17 and @marito74 to participate in this lovely contest.

25% @null.

Thank you for reading my post.

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

You've got a free upvote from witness fuli.
Peace & Love!

 11 months ago 

Thanks for the support.

 11 months ago 

I think we all in the subcontinent love to give care to our elderly ones. Thanks for inviting me.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60500.53
ETH 2341.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53