SEC-S16 / W2 | How do you like it better? injected Or orally?

in Healthy Steem5 months ago
Introduction

No one wish to be sick but there are moments when our we over work ourselves or fall ill due to one disease or the other. In such situation, we have to take treatment. A lot of people prefer oral medication because of how convenient it is but avoids injections because of how discomforting the pain is even though it works faster.

source


In todays challenge, I will be discussing on my preference associated with different routes of taking medication and the ones that’s more discomforting and the alternative method I use to treat myself, if I’m not into pills or injections.


I will be inviting @bossj23, @blessingogah-1 and @emmy01 to join this challenge.


Which of these three routes of medication administration do you consider the fastest and most effective to relieve pain, why?

I’ve never been a fan of oral way of taking medication especially when it comes to big tablets. I only like it very small like folic acid or sweet like vitamin c. But once it’s big like panadol or capsules, I finding it hard passing it through my throat. Despite the stress it takes me to ingest those pills, it doesn’t work very fast compared to injections.

source


When it comes to intravenous, I can’t really say how potent it is to my body system because the last time I had such was when I was much younger and I was admitted in my school clinic. But now that I’m all grown up, the few times I’ve gotten injections through my vein is when I want to donate blood to the hospital.


Intramuscular remains my favorite way of taking treatment. The pains might be intense but it is for a little while but it’s very active. Between a space of 10 to 20 minutes, I feel relieved from the sickness. That is one of my reasons I go for it.


There are two ways to administer injected treatment, intravenous and intramuscular. Which of them do you prefer in case you need quick relief or discomfort?

For the intravenous, the few times I’ve taken my blood or gotten my blood tested, it wasn’t really too discomforting . But on one fateful day, I left the regular elderly lady that takes my blood, to the stand of a very pretty nurse to get my blood tested. I’d no idea how she pierced the syringe to my skin, it was extremely painful. I just had to endure it because I didn’t want to embarrass myself in front of this nurse. After they were done running the test, she sent for me, so I could donate the blood for my cousin who was sick. When I remembered that the syringe use to take blood is ten times bigger than the little syringe this pretty lady almost used to kill me, I told her I’m not coming, that she should pass my test results to the elderly lady, that she has been the one taking my blood since…

source


So, From my personal experience, I will say , intravenous is only discomforting, depending on the nurse giving you the medication.


Intramuscular is really painful. In fact, just the site of the injection alone, your heart will start beating like someone on the run just because of how painful it is. When they’re about putting the syringe in my butt, the way I make the muscle around that area so firm, I get scared the injection might break. But the good part is that, it might be very painful at the initial stage but it works very fast. In no time, it will look as if the symptoms has disappeared


There is a very good medicine for our body vitamin B12, why do you think they indicate it more in injection and not in pills? Do you think they do not have the same components or the same effect?

source

Base on the little research I did regarding vitamin B12 there is actually a very good reason is best given through injections than in pills. One of the major reasons is because when it is injected into the body, it absorbs more better but if it’s administered through tablets, after taking it orally, breaking down process occurs once it gets to the digestive system, thereby reducing the potency of the administered drugs. So, injection is your best bet for a faster result.


If you are one of those who do not take pills and you do not like injections, what other method are you looking for to relieve pain or discomfort!?

source

Herbal medicine has been proven over and over to cure different kind of sickness. Like for malaria and typhoid, there’s a popular herbal medicine we take in the southern part of Nigeria and it’s called “Agbo”. I really don’t know the English name for the leaves. But to prepare it, we put it in a big pot, mixed with some fruits like lime and few other concoctions mixed with water.


When the leaves is boiled for a long time, we drain the water out of the leaves and drink it. It’s been a herbal remedy that has been existing for ages. People drink all the time every morning before eating just to clean the system or bowel. But the stuff is very bitter. If you are a fan of sweet things, I don’t think you might want to give this a try.


Conclusion

Whether it is intramuscular, intravenous or oral form of treatment, whatever method of treatment you prefer, one thing is certain, they all have the same end result and that is curing your sickness.

Sort:  
 5 months ago 

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

 5 months ago 

Saludos estimado amigo, muy cierto, nadie desea estar enfermo y en verdad ingerir capsulas de gran tamaño es muy molestoso. La via IM es tambien muy eficaz. Exitos en tu entrada.

 5 months ago 

Gracias amigo

I totally understand where you're coming from, I'm not a big fan of taking pills either, although I prefer smaller pills that are easier to take, like folic acid or sweet ones like vitamin C. I find those much more manageable. And you're right, sometimes it feels like pills take longer to work compared to injections. Injections can have a more immediate effect since they go directly into our bloodstream. We all have our preferences when it comes to medication. As long as we're taking what's recommended by our healthcare providers, we're on the right track. Keep doing what works best for you. All the best in the contest.

 5 months ago 

Yea… big pills, the chances of you throwing up is always there, that’s the reason I don’t really like it.
Thanks for visiting my post

Loading...

I’ve never been a fan of oral way of taking medication especially when it comes to big tablets. I only like it very small like folic acid or sweet like vitamin c.

But once it’s big like panadol or capsules, I finding it hard passing it through my throat. Despite the stress it takes me to ingest those pills, it doesn’t work very fast compared to injections.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67388.31
ETH 3311.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74