Let's Talk About Allergies

in Healthy Steemlast month
Introduction

You enter a night club filled with cigarette smoke all over the place. Everyone is comfortable with the smoke and partying hard but only you is reacting negatively to the smoke. That reaction is called “allergies”.


Allergies are response our immune system react to, when they encounter substance they don’t like. The substance are called “allergen”. It could be smoke, cold, dust, anything at all that the immune system sees as a threat to the body and it reacts by releasing “histamine”.


In todays post, I will be talking on one of my allergies that my body immune system reacts to but before going ahead, I’ll be inviting @goodybest, @patjewell and @bossj23 to be part of the contest.


Are you allergic to any substance? Tell us which one.

source

I am slightly asthmatic and I’m not comfortable around dust, smoke and a very cold place. I noticed that whenever I sweep the house, frying any food in the kitchen or i expose my body to cold for too long, I start having chest pains and making it difficult for me to breathe very well.


Secondly, I start having runny nose and coughing all the time. In severe cases, when the catarrh becomes too much, my nostrils get blocked and it affects my breathing as well. I’m now forced to breathe with my mouth. All this allergens triggers asthma in my body.


How did you find out that you are allergic to that substance? What were the symptoms or reactions you experienced?

source

I discovered it, while I was still in primary school.
There was a particular day, during our morning devotion, I realized that i couldn’t stand for so long like other kids and I was breathing in a weird way. Each time I breathe, I could hear a whistling sound. My class teacher was the one who noticed it and told me to take a sit, thinking I was tired of standing.


Before I would know what was happening, I started having this fainting spell and I finally passed out. I woke up to see myself in the hospital with my parents close to me. That was the day I’d realized I was asthmatic.


What happened was that, at school, we have this roster we follow in cleaning up the classroom. It was my day to clean up the class. That day wasn’t my first time sweeping the class. In fact, my house has a rug carpet that I sweep occasionally and I’ve never had any allergies or asthmatic attacks due to any dust or cold but that particular day was the day “asthma” decided to reveal itself and made a big giant like me to faint in public..


How do you manage an allergic reaction?

source

Once I notice that I’ve started gasping for breath, the first thing I do is to use my ventolin inhaler. I hardly carry it around since I get this attacks occasionally.


I don’t think I can remember when last I ever went to a hospital to treat myself. Sometimes, I take franol or ventolin tablets at night before going to bed when I notice the place is very cold and I’m noticing a slight change in my breath.


I take the ventolin inhaler for a temporary effect and the tablets for a much longer duration. That’s how my body reacts to the medicine.


In cases, when none of this stuffs are available, I try to take in deep breathe and breathe out. Then sit up right because I notice whenever I start reacting to this allergies, if I lie down, it becomes intense.


What do you usually do to avoid coming into contact with the substance that triggers your allergy?

source

Because of the incessant dust, I’ve changed my floors from carpet rugs to tiles, so that I can sweep the house easily without been scared of dust flying around the environment. I also take my clothes outside as well to sun it once in a while because I noticed that when it stays in the wardrobe for too long, it accumulates dust in it and whenever I wear the cloth, I become uneasy.


As for frying, I stopped that totally except I want to fry eggs and bacon. I don’t have a choice because I’ve no one to do it for me.


At night, I must make sure I wear my clothes as I sleep to avoid getting so cold at night. I also try to avoid drinking cold water from the fridge. Even if I must take it, I must have to mix it with room temperature water.

Sort:  
 last month 

Dust allergies are quite common, but it passed me.
How I wish it was not the case, as I would have had less work around the house then. (•ิ‿•ิ)

Managing dust allergies involves a combination of environmental control, and often it also includes not having those awesome four-footed children.

Best solution, listen to your body!

 last month 

Yeah… another big challenge besides the dust in my region is what we call “black soot”. That one has destroyed the entire atmosphere. My region is were they get crude oil. So, all those illegal refineries have polluted the entire air with their activities. The government has destroyed so many of their stations but they keep building more in the bushes to hide from the government.. even when you wash your white clothes and sun it outside, you will see the little particles of the black soot. It has affected so many people

 last month 

Ah! I'm familiar with that.
We have LOTS of sugar cane farmers around us. When they burn that sugar cane, it is incredible. When you open your doors in the morning, there is "bagasse ash" everywhere especailly if there was a soft wind blowing.

But what can we do? They need to burn the sugar cane to remove the leaves and other non-sugar parts of the cane.

Loading...
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67706.36
ETH 2616.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72