HEALTHY FOOD CHALLENGE-week1 by @rossnenye

in Healthy Steem5 months ago
Hello everyone, good morning to you all. Hope your day is going as planned? Welcome back to my blog. Health is wealth. For us to be healthy, we have to eat and not just any type of food but healthy food.

IMG_20240127_142431_723.jpg

👉 what are the healthy food in your place that is suitable for morning, afternoon and evening

I'm from Anambra State, in the Eastern part of Nigeria. My state is known to have varieties of indigenous foods such as Oha soup, Bitterleaf soup, egusi soup, Ofeakwu, ofe nsala, abacha e.t.c.

All this foods are very healthy and nutritionus. I will be writing about few of them.

Ofe akwu

IMG_20231124_100625_787.jpg

Ofeakwu also known as Banga soup is cooked with freshly plucked palm fruit. It is usually eaten in the afternoon and night. The major ingredients in this food are pumpkin, scent leaf, crayfish, dry fish, stockfish, meat e.t.c.
From the ingredients I listed, you will know that this food contain the six classes of Food which is a balanced diet. This meal is usually eaten with boiled white rice.

Oha soup

IMG_20240127_142515_625.jpg

This is another rich healthy delicacies found in my place. It is prepared with Cocoyam, Oha leaf, palm oil, ogiri locust bean, crayfish, fresh pepper e.t.c. This meal is usually eaten in the afternoon or night. It can be eaten with Eba, Semovita, weight or fufu. It is also rich in the six classes of Food.

Porridge yam

IMG_20240121_001506_320.jpg

Yam is a chief food in Igbo land. It is a rich source of Carbohydrate. It can be prepared in several ways like yam porridge, white yam, yam and oil, yam and stew e.t.c. The major ingredients used in making yam porridge are yam, palm oil, crayfish, onions, salt e.t.c.

👉 Are this food full of preservatives or is fresh from the garden

The ingredients used in preparing this meals are gotten directly from farm.

👉 what are the healthy benefits.

Palm fruit used in preparing Ofeakwu is a rich source of vitamin A and C which is good for eyesight, boosts the body immunity and also helps in healing wound.

The Fish and meat used in preparing Oha soup and meal is a rich source of protein.

Yam is a great source of fiber which helps in bowl movement. It also a great source of Carbohydrate which gives strength to the body.

Vegetables in the other hand contains Vitamins which helps the body in fighting infections and germs. It also helps in the healing of wounds.

Conclusion

There is a saying which says "pay the Farmer now or pay the Pharmacist later" The importance of eating organic food cannot be over emphasized because the food we eat determines our health and a healthy man is a happy man.

Thanks for reading through my post. I invite @ukpono, @ogechukwu-martha and @richy20 to participate in this contest.

Cc:
@mesola

Sort:  
 5 months ago 

Wow. Nice to hear that you are from Anambra state. Me too am from Anambra state you are a sister Indeed.

Well I believe your food would me delicious mainly looking at it. Thanks for inviting me, expect my entry so soon

 5 months ago 

Wow, nice to see someone from Anambra.

It's seem Yoruba people also like oha soup too. It's important to know that everything we consume should something that nourishes our body. I love the way you mentioned commonly healthy food in your state especially that oha soup....... I feel like.... 😋....... Do you get it ?😂

 5 months ago 

Lol😊 I get you very well.

My dear yam is one of my best food especially now that is dry. As for banga stew it test good and is so economized than to compare normal tomatoes stew.

Oha soup is not my favorite but if it is well prepared my dear I'm good to go.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65858.36
ETH 3493.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53