Monkeypox; Its Symptoms and Prevention

in Healthy Steem4 days ago

Monkeypox, what do you know about it?

image.png
Source

Monkeypox is a virus that is rare view disease that is caused by the monkeypox virus, which belongs to the same family as the variola virus which is a virus that causes smallpox. Monkeypox is common in West and Central Africa.

Monkeypox can be transmitted through direct contact with someone who is infected or through bodily fluids, contaminated materials like bedding, and respiratory droplets. Also, monkeypox can be transmitted from animals to humans through bites scratches, or contact with infected animals' body fluids.

Symptoms

The symptoms of monkeypox are:

  • Fever, muscle aches, headache, and fatigue.
  • Within a few days of the fever, the person will start developing a rash, that usually starts on the face and spreads across other body parts
  • The rashes will continue to spread if no treatment is carried out.

The recent outbreak of monkeypox in 2022 affected so many countries thank God for the intervention of the World Health Organisation (WHO) and national health authorities how control the situation.


What role does the WHO play in response to a global alert?

The World Health Organization (WHO) plays a critical role in responding to global health alerts, including outbreaks of diseases like monkeypox, COVID-19, and other diseases. The primary role of WHO is to provide global leadership and coordination to ensure a rapid, effective, and well-coordinated response. Below are some key functions of the WHO in such situations as monkeypox and others.

  • Monitoring and surveillance. WHO monitors global health events through its international health regulations framework.
  • Declaring public health emergencies. WHO does advise countries on health issues.
  • Coordination of global response.
  • Guideline development.
  • WHO provides technical expertise
  • WHO facilities research and innovation.
  • WHO provides vaccine and treatment distribution
  • WHO support member state

In summary, WHO acts as a global health leader during health crises and outbreaks providing essential coordination, expertise, and resources to help mitigate and manage the impact of the threat globally.


How can I detect it? If I have it, should I isolate myself?

It is easy to detect monkeypox. To this, if I suspect that I might have monkeypox, the following symptoms would let me know.

Early Symptoms

  • Fever
  • Headache
  • Swollen lymph nodes
  • Back pain

After some days, I will begin to develop a rash which often starts from the face and spreads across my body. The symptoms usually last for 2 to 4 weeks.

Having said so, if I experience the above symptoms or I suspect exposure, it will be best for me to seek the attention of a doctor for a PCR test so the monkeypox can be diagnosed.

Should I Isolate Myself If You Have Monkeypox?

Yes, I should isolate myself if I confirm or suspect that I have monkeypox. Isolation is important for the prevention of spreading the virus to others. The reasons why I would isolate myself are:
Monkeypox is contagious and the virus can be spread by close contact.


Isolation Guidelines:

  • Stay in a Separate Room
  • Avoid Sharing Items
  • Mask and Hand Hygiene
  • Notify Close Contacts

I am inviting: @kuzyboy, @entity01, and @simonnwigwe

Cc:-
@dexsyluz

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58140.33
ETH 2348.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44