Contest: Decoding Hospital Fear

in Healthy Steem5 months ago

psychiatric-8128531_1280.webp
Source

Hello there, somehow, we tend to be so afraid of visiting the hospital, maybe because of our past experiences or the rumours of things we hear that has been going on in he hospital but that's not withstanding, hospital is a life saving environment, though it might be a little bit creepy to those allergic to sick people, today I will be sharing my thoughts on hospital fear.

Have You Ever Been Scared Of Going To The Hospital? What Made You Feel That Way?

man-314481_1280.jpg
Source

For real, I have always been scared to go to the hospital, somehow I do see hospital to be a place where normal people shouldn't be, I don't know if I am always tol extreme with my thoughts but then I always think maybe, just maybe if I visit a hospital, I might be infected with one disease or the other due to the numerous sickness being attended to over there and the last time I spent a night in the general hospital in my town, I went back home and developed serious malaria due to the numerous mosquitoes that had feasted on me.

Also, my mother died in the hospital and anytime I walk pass a hospital, the moment my mum took her last breath will just keep reflecting and somehow, I keep imagining the number of people that have died in the hospital fighting for their lives to be spared. When all these begins to play on my head, all I just walk faster pass by the sight of it.

You Think Of Any Common Thing That Might Make People Afraid of Hospitals?

fear-1180118_1280.jpg
Source

There are a lot of reasons some people get scared or cringe whenever they hear Hospital, few of which are:

• Regular death in hospital

• Allergies to smell of drugs

• Scared of injection

• Ill-treatment from medical staffs

• Fear of seeing blood stains or wounded patients

• Fear of contacting disease

• Past experience

What Parts Of The Hospital Environment Do You Find Intimidating Or Scary?

dead-7105659_1280.webp
Source

Firstly, I do much hate the emergency section in a hospital, this is where numerous emergency situations will be brought to, over here, you get to see wounds that can give one nightmares for days, there was once I threw up seeing a very might open wound on someone's leg. I am always praying to God not to take me there for any reason.

Also, I hate the mortuary section of the hospital, I just don't like seeing dead people, the day I happened to see my mum's cold dead body, I almost fainted and wished I never even went to hospital. Moreso, I have been hearing stories of ghosts leaving the morgue to intimidate or kill people at night, the fear is still in me and as I said,I can't even see myself going to such place.

How Do You Think Doctors And Nurses Can Help Make Patients Feel Less Scared?

treatment-4099432_1280.jpg
Source

The health care professionals have a lot of work to do with respect to people's perception about hospital. Firstly, I think they should work more on their attitude towards patience especially the bereaved or those in severe pains because these days they have been so familiar with a lot of health related issues and the humanity in them has raced away so they can talk to people just the way the feel like thereby creating fear and panic in the minds of people.

Also, Doctors and Nurses should be able to communicate well with their patients with regards to their fears, by this they can tell patience that the hospital is meant to help save lives and not destroy it, so whatever happens to someone else may not happen to the other because people share different fate. This will help shape the minds of people towards the hospital.

Do You Have Any Ideas On How Someone Can Overcome Their Fears Of The Hospital?

influenza-156098_1280.webp
Source

I will start by saying, the reaction of people towards hospital differs with respect to their experiences, but then, let me share few tips on how to overcome hospital fear;

• See Hospital as a live saving environment

• Do away with whatever experiences you might have had before now.

• Be open to the health care professionals so they can handle your issue with care and love.

• Go to the hospital with so much positivity of coming back sound and healthy instead of dying.

• Stay away from areas that gets you scared

Permit me to invite @missyleo, @emily08 and @unyime23 to participate in this contest.

Thanks for reading 💕

Sort:  
 5 months ago 

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60009.56
ETH 3342.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42