A Visit to the Opthalmologist|| A Shocking Realization!

in Healthy Steem18 days ago
Hello wonderful Steemians! I am happy to belong to this amazing community. I have benefited from the useful suggestions found here. Recently, I had an experience that taught me the essence of having a regular check up. I would love to share.

20240804_230237-COLLAGE~2.jpg

Few weeks ago, I stumbled on an advertisement for a free eye check up in my city. I told my mom about it and she was reluctant at first. But I continued to disturb her and reminded her that it has been long we had one. I also told her that I felt my sight was slowly going worse ( though I use glasses). Since it was free and not far from where we stay, she finally agreed to go.

On getting there, we registered and in time, got to see the Opthalmologist. She conducted the usual visual aid test and my predictions were right - I could not see beyond the first three lines of the alphabet chart ( I don't know what it's actually called 🤣).

She then conducted an Optical Coherence Tomography (OCT) scan. She gave my glasses to another Opthalmologist who checked my glasses. She looked into my eye with a special light. She then gave me a leaflet with different fonts and asked me to read the one I could read comfortably. And I did.

The other Opthalmologist who collected my glasses brought them back. Then, she said I am myopic which is true. But, I will need a new pair of glasses as it seems the one I have is not compatible with my eye problem.

She suggested she conducts an eye pressure test. And that is when the story changed. My eye pressure was so high. The normal eye pressure ranges between 10-21 mmHg. My eye pressure was 24 on the right eye and 26 on the left eye. This is slightly elevated and I am a potential Glaucoma patient.

I was so surprised and so was my mom. I have heard about Glaucoma a million times but I thought it happened to older people. I was placed on eye drops and was encouraged to get food supplements to improve my eye health.

IMG_20240804_100726_992.jpg

I have never used eye drops before. Please feel free to share your experiences with it. Getting eye drops into my eyes is very difficult. This is because of fear. I am afraid of letting something external into my eyes. It's really a struggle. I know it is for the best.

Why Am I Sharing This?
I am sharing this to create awareness. There is a popular saying that says, health is wealth. This is very true because when you are healthy you can achieve anything.

I am encouraging everyone to go have a check up. It must not be an eye check up. It is very good to know your health status. Please also encourage others to check theirs as well. Let us build a community with healthy Steemians. Always remember,a healthy body is a happy body.

Thank you for reading through. I hope someone finds this helpful. I hope to see you in my next blog. Bye for now.

Sort:  
Loading...

Polish_20240729_203248533.jpg

We support quality posts and good comments Published in any community and any tag.
Curated by : @eliany

 15 days ago 

Hi @khayjhay sorry about your eye health, most times is good to always create time to pay attention to our health. Is good you made the step. Hope the eye drop is helping?

Please is the free eye check still available, where is the location?

Other users having the same issues living within your region can benefit as well.

You are really learning fast in steemit your post is well arranged with markdowns and well constructed grammar.

Keep it up!

Thank you for the concern.

It is not available at the moment, but here 👇 is the link to their Facebook page
Source

Thank you for the commendation. I will continue to try my best.

Your content is presented very nicely. I got a good idea about the benefits of medicine. Good luck friend.🥰

Oh really!
I'm glad you learnt something.
Thank you so much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60582.68
ETH 2607.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55