SEC-S13/W4| "The Role of the Caregiver "

in Healthy Steem10 months ago (edited)

20231106_222734.jpgedited using pixellab

Introduction

Caregiver is one who takes the responsibility in taking care of someone who is unable to take care of his/herself because of some circumstance like old age, illness and disability.

Have you played the role of caregiver or do you know someone who has put it into practice? Tell us about it.

I have played the role of a caregiver when my mother and father fell sick. I was just 21 years old and the only person left to stay with my parents. My mother first fell sick and was diagnosed with diabetes, high blood pressure and later stroke. I spent 2 months with her at the hospital taking care of her. When we got back home, the situation wasn't improving, rather it was deteriorating on daily basis. I had to do virtually everything for her. I learned how to administer insulin so that I will be giving her the treatment. There are times when I feel irritated with my mother, and some other time I get disgusted with myself. I feel like a failure when I do not cope well. I took care of my mother for 14 months before she died. Though it wasn't easy but I'm glad I did my best for her. She was in my arms when died. I didn't know that that was a training for me to have experience. Two years later, my father fell and I was still the only one at home to take care of him. My older siblings were away from home. The experience with my dad was a different one entirely. Imagine a 23 years old female daughter taking care of a 58 years old sick father. My father is very fat and obsessed and I was very slim. He couldn't walk or do anything for himself. I had to carry him to everywhere around the house, bath and feed him. At times both of us would fall when I couldn't support him by myself. Therexperience was a horrible one. At times I wished I could escape from the entire situation, but he needed me more than ever. Now I am very happy that I was there for him. He recovered from the sickness and is alive today.

Do you think that caring for a sick person should be a team effort or the work of a single person?

Caregiving work should be a team work and not for single person because the workload is always overwhelming and help is needed because of responsibilities. For example, feeding or bathing the patient. If possible, family members should take turns in caring for the sick loved one. A caregiver needs break so he/she can also take care of itself to continue to care for someone.

What qualities do you think a caregiver should have?

These are the qualities of a caregiver:

  1. Comparison
  2. Patience
  3. Empathy
  4. Reliability
  5. Flexibility.

pexels-photo-8088904.jpegsource

What advice would you give to a person who is performing this role?
  • A caregiver should take care of his/herself so he/she will be fit to take care of someone.
  • Seek help from family members
  • They should communicate effectively with the person they are caring.

I invite my following friends @klassic01, @akanjohn, @deqeen to air their views on this.

MyAchievement 1 post.

Sort:  
 10 months ago 

I feel like clapping for such an experience. It was an experience indeed but my greatest joy is when you said he's alive. Just imagine after all the pain he caused you, your effort wasn't in vain. At time when we care for people with diseases like strike, it becomes unbearable that you wish you weren't the one experiencing this. Some would have even wished him dead but no, you didn't. You still took his side despite the waste of time he must have caused you. It's not really easy. Looking forward to reading more of your posts. One more thing, always paragraph your post to make it free from jam-packed work. You can do this by breaking the lines of your posts. At least, one paragraph must contain not more than 8 lines. Wishing you best of luck in this challenge.

 10 months ago 

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59527.28
ETH 2462.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49