Contest: Food Allergies

in Healthy Steem24 days ago (edited)

Hello Steemians, it's your girl @echuku, I am so delighted to participate in this beautiful contest in the Healthy Steem Community by @sahmie, thank you so much sir for the contest and it is my pleasure to drop my entry. Please feel free to go through my post. Thank you all and I love❤ you guys so much.

👉 How can someone differentiate between a food allergy and a food intolerance?

IMG_20240705_130035_074.jpg

Food allergy refers to a situation whereby the immune system reacts to a food that does not contain poisonous substances and is harmless to the body.

This is usually when the immune system develops a type of antibody immunoglobulin E (IgE) against a food allergen, food allergy develops when a person touches, eats, or inhales an allergen, the allergen is a protein in food.

Food intolerance refers to a situation whereby the body has a chemical reaction when eating a particular food or even drinks, so the body immediately reacts because of the particular chemical in the body.

Food intolerance is caused by the body not being able to digest a particular food or a particular ingredient in food, in this case, food intolerance normally occurs to me anytime I eat late food, so my stomach will keep paining me, the food would not digest and I cannot be able to sleep well

👉 Has the increase in food allergies made you more cautious about trying new foods?

IMG_20240629_162753_720.jpg

Absolutely yes, in my case, food allergies are something that is not funny on my side, it is a life-threatening condition to me, and because of that I am very cautious of those types of food that my body system is allergic to especially groundnut or any foods that contains groundnut, so I prefer to try new food instead of continue eating any food that my body system is allergy to.

👉 How do food allergies affect social life and dining out?

IMG_20240627_082531_159.jpg

Absolutely yes, most food allergies occur and begin to make a person feel discomfort in the body and sometimes depression, sometimes it leads to life-threatening so most people will choose to completely avoid dining out with such foods.

👉 What are some common misconceptions about food allergies that you've come across?

IMG_20240629_162846_840.jpg

This misconception usually happens to people who have never experienced any type of food allergy, I was one of those people who used to have that common misconception about food allergies but since I came across a food allergy that even threatened my life the day I started to believe about food allergies.

The common misconceptions about food allergies I have come across are

I never believed about food allergies and I never took it as something serious that can affect someone's health.

I also used to have a misconception about food allergies that a small quantity of food cannot result in food allergies.

Before, I used to assume that food allergies are the same as food intolerance.

Food allergies are not usually serious, it is something that will occur for just a few minutes and will disappear.

👉 What are some emergency steps to take if someone experiences a severe allergic reaction to food?

IMG_20240705_135641_240.jpg

The emergency steps to take if someone experiences a severe allergic reaction to food is, the victim should be laid down flat and should not be allowed to walk or stand because the person might fall due to the food allergies to the body system, so a person should relax the body by lying down straight before other treatments will follow the example, adrenaline injection, etc.

Thank you all for your love, support, and the time that you have dedicated to reading my post, I sincerely appreciate you all. Love you❤️

I want to invite three friends of mine to join me in this amazing contest. @josepha @simonnwigwe and @ruthjoe

Sort:  
Loading...

Copy_of_Curation_Guidelines_20240529_204831_0000.png

We invite you to continue publishing quality content. In this way you could have the option of being selected in the weekly Top of our curation team.

 20 days ago 

Greetings friend,
Allergy and intolerance are two different things. Allergy is due to resistance of immune system to allergen particles and intolerance is digestive problem arising after eating food. Immune system with the passage of time adjust itself with Allergy but we should be careful with the intolerance because it is our fault; sometimes the food is expired, sometimes it can be unhygienic and food poisoning one.

 20 days ago 

Thanks so much dear friend for stopping by 🙏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68694.24
ETH 3284.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77