Let's talk about Allergies: Contest.

in Healthy Steem3 days ago (edited)

INTRODUCTION

Hello beautiful and healthy members of healthy Steem, I hope everyone is fine in health. I am excited to write on this topic by @helengutier2 titled allergies. I'm wondering if there is anyone in this world that is not allergic to one thing or the other, if there is, that person must be so lucky. For some people, it's so bad that they are allergic to even the commonest thing like water, I'm told it's called aquagenic urticaria. But I'm not discussing about them today, I want to talk about my own allergies and I hope you learn from it.

allergy-1279208_640.jpg

https://pixabay.com/

Are you allergic to any substance? Tell us which one?

An allergy occurs when a person's immune system comes in contact with what it doesn't like and the person will get affected negatively and it can lead to sickness or if not properly handled, even death.

I am allergic to many substances among which are • Palm oil when it is fried

• the strong smell or fragrance of perfume

• Mosquito fleet or repellant

• Non ventilated environment

•Ice cold water

• Pollen and grains

• Dust

How did you realize that you were allergic to that substance? What reactions or symptoms did you have?

I realized I was allergic to all these because anytime I came in contact with any of these, I used to have difficulty in breathing and within minutes, my airways will tighten to an extent that I might not be able to breath at all. If I'm frying anything with palm oil, the smoke that comes out of it cuts off my breath almost completely that I have to use an inhaler to clear my airways. This is what also happens in cases of coming in contact with insecticide, strong perfume etc.

Also, if I'm in a congested environment, find it difficult to breath and within minutes, my breath is almost cut off due to tightening of my airways. Also, of I'm sweeping, I have to use nose mask to prevent dust from entering my nose and airways cos I'm allergic to dust. If I drink ice cold water, I will have pains on my chest same with sleeping under the Ac or fan for hours. When once I find it difficult to breath and feel my airways close up, I know I'm allergic to something.

Apart from difficulty in breathing, another symptom is wheezing while breathing. Normal breathing doesn't make a sound but when my airways is too tight for air to pass in and out freely, while trying to force myself to breath, a wheezing sound will be heard, tiny sound from my airways and it will be also seen in my throat as it will shorten as I'm forcing myself to breath.

How do you control an allergic attack?

Over the years, I have known what I'm allergic to. So I try my best to avoid them by: • Avoiding to fry palm oil for too long when I'm cooking.

• I buy perfume that is mild and also avoid people who use string perfumes.

• I avoid going into a room that has been fleet

• I avoid congested or non ventilated environment or room, that's why most times, I don't like being in a place where there are crowds.

• I do not drink ice cold water and I also avoid pollen or grains from entering my airways.

• I use face mask where and when necessary. It can be used where there is dust, like while sweeping or even where there is an offensive odour or strong odour.

• I also use strong drugs like inhaler and salbutamol to clear my airways when it is congested.

IMG_20240904_162056_863.jpg
Nose masks helps in preventing dust from entering the airways.

IMG_20240904_164212_755~2.jpg
Inhaler and drugs can also be used to open the airways when it gets closed.

What do you commonly do to avoid coming into contact with the substance that causes your allergy?

To avoid coming into contact with the substance that causes my allergy, I do a number of things.

• I avoid drinking ice cold water cos because this causes pains in my chest and closes or blocks my airways.

IMG_20240904_165100_415~2.jpg
I prefer water that isn't freezed over freezed one

• I avoid congested environment, I avoid staying under the fan or Ac for hours, I prefer the natural breeze and I sleep in well ventilated room.

• I avoid exposing myself to unnecessary cold, so most times, I put on pullover to prevent cold from entering my body.

Screenshot_20240904-164959.jpg
Pullover helps

• I avoid crowded places cos I can't breath well there, and I also avoid being stressed, cos I'm allergic to stress too.

CONCLUSION

It is said that prevention is better than cure, so since I know the things I'm allergic to, I try my best to avoid them. I also believe other people should avoid things they are allergic to because sometimes when the body system is allergic to something and reacts to it, it might be too late to safe the situation.

I'm calling on @jannata12,

@shahid76
@stef1 to contest on this post. Thank you.

Sort:  
Loading...

"Woohoo! 🎉 Great topic, @helengutier2! 😊 Allergies are such a challenge, but it's awesome that you're sharing your experiences with us. 👍 I'm curious to know... Are you allergic to any substances that others might not be aware of? 💡 What are some common misconceptions about allergies that you'd like to clear up for our community? 🤔 I love how you've shared your personal strategies for managing allergies - very inspiring! 💪 Have you ever tried any new remedies or treatments that have helped alleviate symptoms? 🌿"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54336.36
ETH 2283.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34