SEC-S13/W4 | "The Role of the Caregiver ♥️ "steemCreated with Sketch.

in Healthy Steem10 months ago

Steem greetings from the motherland-Cameroon to friends of the Healthy Steem community. It is week 4 of the season 13 engagement challenge and we are required to share ideas about the topic "The Role of the Caregiver ♥️”.

IMG_0319.jpeg
Image SourceEdited on Canva.

My presentation will focus on the guiding questions below and I hope you all find pleasure in reading through.

Have you played the role of caregiver or do you know someone who has put it into practice? Tell us about it.


A caregiver is someone who renders help with someone’s daily activities. This could be a paid job or unpaid job depending on who is rendering the service and on who. I have had the opportunity to render a caregiver opportunity for free with my grandmother.

My grandmother was critically ill and it was during the holidays. As a kid, I was so excited to care for my grandmother. My mom was busy and could not leave my younger siblings alone to care for the mother. She asked me to go and stay with my grandma for some time and assist her by washing her clothes, cooking for her, and giving her medications on time.

My excitement was cut short because my grandma made life so unbearable for me. I had to call my mom to come over while I went back to our house. She complained about everything I did and at times threw insults at me which made me angry most often.

At times, she will request a meal, and I will run around preparing the meal. Just for me to serve her the meal and she will say that was not what she requested and will refuse to eat the meal. It was so nerving and as a child, I was so annoyed with such behaviour.

It was during my experience with my grandmother as a caregiver that I knew they are to be rewarded well for the service rendered especially to elderly people.

Do you think that caring for a sick person should be a team effort or the work of a single person?


I am a fan of teamwork because I always believed that teamwork makes it easier to achieve better results than an individual.

Caring for a sick person requires a lot of attention and comfort because it plays an important role in the patient’s psychology and the patient heals faster.

According to my opinion, caring for a patient or sick person should be teamwork because a single person cannot have all the expertise to produce better results.

As a team, different expertise is put together and better results are achieved. For instance, one person can be good at putting a smile on the sick person’s face, the other team member might just be good at giving medications on time, and the other team member might just be good at sanitation, etc.

What qualities do you think a caregiver should have?


The following are some 4 qualities I think as a caregiver, you should be able to carry on. They are as follows:

Communication Skills: As a caregiver, the way you communicate should be of utmost importance because some sick persons can be nervous and irritating at times. The way you communicate with sick persons determines the kind of relationships you build between the caregiver and the patient. Once communication does not flow well, the relationship between the two is more likely to cause more stress.

Patience: As a caregiver, you need to be patient to be able to offer good services. There are times you leave your comfort zone and are forced to do other activities just to please the patient.

Show Empathy: We all know some sick persons are very aggressive and abusive towards their caregivers. Try as much as possible to remain calm and place yourself in the patient’s shoes.

Trustworthy: As a caregiver, you should be trustworthy enough to make things happen without any doubts. The moment you start giving doubts, you are no longer trusted by the patient.

What advice would you give to a person who is performing this role?


We all know that this role is challenging especially when dealing with elderly persons or persons with disabilities. They turn provocative and can cause you as a caregiver a lot of stress. In all, still, show them love and treat them happily.

IMG_0320.jpeg
Image Source

When faced with a challenging situation with a patient, take a break and have some time for yourself. The break will be a time for you to do self-control and reflection. This will help you boost your mental health.

IMG_0317.jpeg
Image Source

The last advice I will give to caregivers is to seek help and speak out when faced with challenges. You cannot take proper care of a sick person if you are not in good health.

This is the end of my presentation and I am inviting @josepha, @majerius, @saxopedia, @eliany and @mesola to share their opinions about the topic of this week's challenge.

Sort:  
 10 months ago 

Should I say you just explain my own experience in your publication today??
I also was opportuned to take care of my grandfather when he was sick before his demise and I was also happy to do so .. He was affected by a heart condition that came with many implications which made breathing difficult, and making him not been able to walk, eat and use the restroom by himself. It was good time but yet challenging... Your own experience was also challenging from your explanation. What amuses me is when they ask for food and eventually deny asking for it causing annoyance, stress and anger 😊... ..
The job of a caregiver is not an easy job because one have to be able to tolerate any habit brought up by the person whom the care is given to by having the quality of tolerance. All the qualities are needed to show care as a caregiver and those qualities include patience, communication skills and love. As you explained when there is absence of patients and a good communication skills providing care to a person under a critical health condition will be void....
Less I forget, the work of a caregiver is not supposed to be basee on q single person, it should be attended to on a basis of team work. Nice to hear that you received aid from your mom when caring for your grandmother...

Thanks for sharing and good luck with the challenge....

 10 months ago 

Greetings friend, caregivers are amazing and the job is demanding especially with their mental health. Therefore, working as a team is commendable.

 10 months ago 

Honestly, caregiving is really time demanding, so I agree with you it should be a teamwork as per the attention it demands.
Best of luck to you.

 10 months ago 

Thank you for wishing me well and a positive response to my post.

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

 10 months ago 

Thank you for inviting me. I will do well and participate. Indeed, I like your entry. Success to you.

 10 months ago 

Thank you for wishing me well for the contest.

Loading...

TEAM BURN

Your post has been successfully curated by @𝐢𝐫𝐚𝐰𝐚𝐧𝐝𝐞𝐝𝐲 at 45%.

Thanks for setting your post to 25% for @null.
We invite you to continue publishing quality content. In this way you could have the option of being selected in the weekly Top of our curation team.

Team Burn (1).png

Burning STEEM by sending it to the @null account helps reduce the supply of STEEM and so increase its price.

 10 months ago 

Thank you for the support @teamburn.

 10 months ago 

hey @chant Your emphasis on the importance of teamwork and the essential qualities a caregiver should possess is truly commendable. best of luck dear

 10 months ago 

I appreciate your support on my post and I wish you best of luck too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60343.62
ETH 2490.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53