Steemit Engagement Challenge / S11W2 - “The worst enemy, Sugar."

in Healthy Steem10 months ago

Addiction of sugar is one of the strongest addictions after Alcohol, Drugs, and social media. You feel good when you have it and eat it again to feel good.

This chain of cycle never stops until YOU make the decision to remove it from your life for the sake of your life.

People who don't exercise often, take stress, and lack purpose in life are more prone to sugar eating.

Let's go through more about it in the following questions:

👩⚕️ Do you have a family member who has problems with diabetes?

My paternal family has no issues related to diabetes, however my maternal family has got major issues. My Aunt, Uncle and Grandfather have diabetes.

IMG-20230803-WA0006.jpg

Made on canva by me

My Grandmother died of diabetes which had resulted in heart problems. It has drained her body of energy, fat, and made her go for an eye operation earlier. It had effected her eyesight extremely.

After her dismissal, rest of the family diagnosed with diabetes. It makes them want more to eat sugar. They were drinking sweet drinks for multiple times in a day.

One thing i find common in diabetic people is stress related to something bad going on in their life. However, not everyone gets it, exceptions are always there.

My mother is the only one remained immune to it Alhamdulillah.

Do you know how much sugar you consume per day?

In the morning, i take one table spoon of sugar in my tea. I don't take cookies, deserts and cakes on a regular basis, so i won't count them here.

At night i take a glass of milk but without sugar. I take these two drinks religiously.

Blue Pink Modern Illustrative Inspirational Instagram Story.png

Made on canva by me

In a ordinary day, i take only one table spoon of sugar.

When it's hot outside, i make lemonade because summers. I add 2 spoons of sugar roughly in that.

During unusual days, i take 2-3 spoons of sugar daily.

👩⚕️ Have you had a problem with sugar?

In my teens, i used to have severe period cramps and signs of pcos. One day, i my biology class i came know about pcos and how sugar worsens its symptoms.

After that, i searched a lot on Google about the harmful effects of sugar on reproductive health of women. The outcome was not pleasant which made me quit sugar.

images.jpeg

Source-royalty free

Surprisingly my period cramps got better. My mood swings decreased dramatically. I felt more confident in myself.

Years later, i again got myself indulge in sugary stuff like cakes, biscuits and desserts. It happened during covid. I suffered the outcome in the form of health issues, pcos, anxiety, mood swings for many months. I was depressed about the health of my hair and skin.

It was very difficult time for me.

Maybe attraction for sugar was in my genes.

But my concern for health was my first priority. I quit sugar again but this time, i shifted from white to Brown sugar in my coffee and tea.

I started baking cakes and desserts using brown sugar. It actually helped a lot because i wasn't depriving myself of sugar.

I opted for moderation(eat it once in a week or month) instead of quitting sugar altogether.

Along with that i included walks in my routine. It helps a lot in controlling diabetes. Because both sugar and exercise releases a happy hormone in our body.

👩⚕️ What do you think about sugar as the worst enemy?

It's the worst of the worst enemy, a sweet poison who targets people with less self control.

images (1).jpeg

Source-royalty free

Some ways in which sugar effect our body are:

  • Pcos
  • Diabetes
  • Liver inflammation
  • Skin and hair issues
  • Depression(after binge on sugary stuff)
  • Kidney and Heart failure
  • low self esteem (when you choose sugar over healthy food).
  • Slow or No wound healing
  • Tooth decay
  • Blood pressure

It's important to eliminate artifical sugar from your diet and your Body will Thank you every day.

A few guaranteed things that you'll notice after reducing sugar are:

  • Improved mood
  • Improved hair and skin condition
  • Improvement in your periods and cramps.
  • More energy and less lethargy

I can write more but the count words are gonna exceed.

Inviting @seapearl @nafeela @sawera1.

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

 10 months ago 

Diabetes is ofcourse a dangerous disease. You said your grandma died because of it. Diabetes effects the heart, kidney and bones of a person. It is called the mother of all diseases.

Your post is awesome. Best wishes for the contest.

 10 months ago 

Thank you:)

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66053.51
ETH 3482.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.17