SEC13 WK6: Joyful times are here!

in Steem For Ladies10 months ago

The world at large has a lot of misgivings happening. While scrolling through the news feed every day, one moment you are hearing about how an earthquake destroyed a city, and the next moment you are reading about war.

34101787_rm285-mynt-45a.jpgImage Source

Is it important to be joyful? Why?

Nigeria is not exempted from its share of hardship. The government has changed a lot of things. Simple living is becoming harder every day, foodstuffs are becoming costlier, and one cannot afford to eat a 3-square meal comfortably without a struggle. Children are dropping out of school because their parents cannot afford to pay their school fees anymore, the young people are resorting to various hard labor to make ends meet.

silhouette-people-happy-time.jpgImage Source

Why should we have joy

Because you can't let yourself be saddened with everything with all the things happening. You must find joy in the little things that we often take for granted.

  • Joy is important because keeps you healthy. Being joyful makes you live longer than when you are always sad. There is a medical saying that says, it takes more muscle to frown than it takes to smile.
    Why waste your muscles frowning when you can conserve it happy?

  • It gives you a sense of satisfaction. Have you ever been sad but became happy when given a plate of food? I don't know about you, but food makes me happy😁. Hungry, my mind travels towards bad things, but when filled; I have the feeling that I can overcome anything.
    Aside from food, other little things give us a sense of satisfaction.

  • It could be a deep hug where you feel safe from the world.
  • It could be biting yourself a gift.
  • It could be getting a gift from someone.
  • It could be reading a book without distractions
  • It could be receiving a compliment from a stranger on the road.
  • Keeps you content Having these joys over the little things helps keep you content with what you have, and also encourages you to seek better things you can also celebrate.

  • Give you a sense of gratitude for the things you have. There's a saying in my dialect, when you thank God for the little He has given you, He will give you a bigger one next time. I will always say, grateful is the way of life. Being joyful makes you grateful for what you have. It makes you appreciate them knowing there are better things ahead.

34793468_8224689.jpgImage Source

Share 3 events that made you joyful this year.

  • Buying a laptop. During my birthday on May 26th, I bought a laptop for myself. This was from money that I had saved up from my work. It gave me great joy to get this gift for myself.

  • Going for my NYSC.
    NYSC (National Youth Service Corps) I find joy in this because it has given me lots of headaches. When I wanted to process my name for this national service, my name was not found in my school's database. I was anxious as to what the problems could be. It was one problem to the other, either the name inputted in the school's register was not correct. When asked what I could do, I was told to start from the registry department to the Student Affairs department to correct the mistake before coming to the Mass Communication department for final correction. Being able to settle this problem and

  • Attending the Writers Connect in Osun State
    This was the highlight of my week. I'm part of a Writer's community online. Usually, we host events but because of my location in the Easy when the event is held in the West, I've not been able to attend any of the events. When I saw the event, I was elated knowing that I could attend this one without excuses.

What are your joyful plans for the last month of the year?

December is a period of making new memories with families and friends. Currently, I'm staying in a place very far from home, so I am still undecided if I will travel or not. Why? Because the transport fare will be not easy to get by. I have decided to stay at my aunt's place for the celebration.

  • I plan to catch up with my cousins whom I've not spoken to for a long time.
  • Explore the city of Lagos and what it has to offer.
  • Attend weddings and local celebrations around the city.

I invite @yakspeace and @adaeze to participate in this contest.

#steemexclusive #steemladies-s13w6 #nigeria #club5050 #burnsteem25

Sort:  

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Hello @yuceetoria
Indeed try to make yourself happy, getting a hug from someone, reading a book or having various forms of fun could be what makes you happy. I must say the country is so hard. Success in going for youth service it's a joyful thing to serve your country. Buying a laptop is progress too. Success in the challenge my netizien sister!

 10 months ago 

Thank you my brother @daprado1999. We must find happiness in the places we underrate.

Well said... Cheers once again my friend

 10 months ago (edited)
MOD's Observations/suggestions

Thank you for participating in the Steemit Engagement Challenge Season 13 in the Steem For Ladies Community.

Hi @yuceetoria

I enjoyed reading your post very much. what you have mentioned is completely true. Sometimes, I stop watching the news as it is very stressful and hard to focus.

Hungry, my mind travels towards bad things, but when filled; I have the feeling that I can overcome anything.

This made me recall a childhood memory; I remember my mother asking me if I was hungry if she saw me in a bad mood.

I wish you luck in the contest!

Club Status#club5050
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
AI Free
#Burnsteem25
Score (quality/rules)10/10
 10 months ago 

Thank you so much for the review @vishwara. Food brings me excess joy.

Hola

La vida se pone muy difícil y hay países con más necesidad que otros y por todo eso para muchos es difícil tener alegrías pero también es verdad no es bueno dejarnos atrapar por tantas tristezas es mejor hacer buenos planes para tener alegrías y felicidad .

Espero que los planes que tiene para este otro mes sean todos muy buenos y tenga muchas alegrías .

Suerte en tu concurso

Saludos

 10 months ago 

Like you rightly said, joyful times helps us live longer and healthier. There are a lot of hardships already and as such, one has to try hard to find joyful times. Going for NYSC, buying a laptop and attending writers contest are all times of joy. And your plan to explore Lagos, attend weddings and meetup with your family members will surely give you the joys that you deserve. Success to you

 10 months ago 

A big AMEN to that Mama @ngoenyi. I can't wait for the season to start.

I pray that your plans in December can go well according to plan, and of course will give happiness.

 10 months ago 

I pray it does too. Thank you for the wishes @fantvwiki

Wow, purchasing a laptop for yourself as a birthday gift is very wonderful ma, I can't wait to buy my first laptop next year.

NYSC is a very good service and am glad you went their because every Nigerian needs it. I will also do my NYSC program and that should be in the next 8 years 😂

Attending a writers association is very good ma, am also a writer as well as I love writing anything.

I wish you good luck in this engagement challenge ma, happy weekend.

 10 months ago 

🤣🤣🤣
Haba, 8 years is too much na.

You will get there too @saintkelvin

You said is too much? 😂 Is ok as long as I will surely be there 😁

How was your Saturday?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61438.76
ETH 2384.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58