Choices! What will it be? #13

in Steem For Ladieslast year (edited)

20230706_135336_0000.png
Canva

When I was a kid I used to think the moon always followed me around in the night. A beautiful natural heavenly body with light to the earth. One night, I was returning from my aunt’s house with my mum, we took a public taxi and it was late in the night. There was something else I noticed about the moon. As the car was moving very fast, the moon tirelessly moved with the same speed, I was stunned. I drew my mum’s attention to it, and asked why the moon had to follow us everywhere we went at night. She smiled, and replied calmly, “we need it."
"Yes, we do. But why follow us?" I asked.
20230706_060618_0000~2.png

"To give us the assurance we are living beings." My mum is actually good at proverbs, although that was technically one, I didn’t want to go into probing at the moment. If asked why not, I knew the conversation would have lasted for minutes. Amazed with what I saw, I couldn’t take my eyes off the moon until we alighted the cab.
My house wasn’t very close to the main road, so we had to stroll a few metres into the street before reaching home. She asked if I was satisfied with the question and I smiled. She was fully aware I wasn’t, but wanted to make sure I would like to hear it now or later. "Of course not, mum,"I replied.
"Look at the moon again,"she said softly. I did and it was staring back at me as well, still in the sky.
"I see it, mum."
20230706_060618_0000~2.png
"Now, halt." I stopped moving and looked back up into the sky.
"What do you see?" she asked again. "The moon, but this time, there’s no motion. It’s standing still."
"Great observation," she remarked,. "You may continue walking.


"Why did you ask me to stop?"
"Because I wanted you to see the difference and have a better understanding of the moon. It doesn’t follow us. The moon is right in its place in the sky, while we go about our businesses. The only difference is that it travels round the earth." I remembered being taught in school that the earth is spherical, and the sun and moon travel round the earth.
"Do you want me to explain that to you as well?" Mum asked jokingly.

20230706_060618_0000~2.png

png_20230706_135117_0000.png
Canva

"No," I replied, "my Geography teacher took care of that already in school."
"Cool. Now I’m sure you must’ve missed the part she mentioned about the moon not stalking us," she laughed.
"No, mum, I didn’t miss anything. She just did a general introduction to the solar system and how they travel round the earth."
"Alright dearie. I believe you," she added. "Now, the moon isn’t just there to beautify the earth, or the night, it’s there to…"
"Give us light," I cut her in. That was disrespectful, but in cases like this, my mum didn’t bother as long as we were making sense.
"Exactly!" She exclaimed "It’s a source of light to earth. And the funny thing is that, it is as far as 225,903km from the earth, that is, when the sun is giving it light too.
"Really?” thought the moon was bigger than the sun? I asked.
20230706_060618_0000~2.png

"No baby, it’s the other way round, the moon is much smaller than the sun.
It might also interest you to know that there’s no air in the moon for humans to breath. There’s only a very thin atmosphere called the exosphere, which is why astronauts travel with their space suits to enable them breath while they visit the moon.
Also, there’s no water in the moon and so many other facts about it.
"Whoa! I exclaimed. Can you go on talking about it?" I pleaded.
20230706_060618_0000~2.png

png_20230706_135232_0000.png
Canva

"No baby. I think you should unlock the door now." she said pointing to the door.
"What?" I didn’t realise we were at our door already cause I was lost in the conversation.

"Okay mum, will you continue when we’re settled?"
"Yes dear. But first, I want you to read up on it so you’d understand better when I add what I have to say."
Mum loved reading, and so she passed the culture to me intentionally by making me read up on different topics before going to her.

Would like to invite @okere-blessing and @bela90 to paticipate in the contest.

Special mention

@patjewell
@ngoenyi
@coolj2

Thanks for reading through.

20230706_060618_0000~2.png

Sort:  
 last year 

Hi @yhudy, I loved your post, the way your mother instilled reading in you because of your interest in the moon was an appealing way, as it sparked in you an interest in reading.

Greetings.

 last year 

Thank you very much.
Yes, she did.

Loading...
 last year 

This is a beautiful story, Yhudy
I used to think that the moon followed me too. But Google taught me more. I love this conversation between mother and daughter.

 last year 

Thanks dear.
Thanks to technology that has redeemed us from ignorance😆

 last year 

The moon... From now on I will look at it differently. I will look at it through the eyes of your mother.
Thank you for entering this week's contest. Good luck!

 last year 

Thank you ma'am.

 last year 

The moon is a very beautiful creature despite it's color is white but it has it's own unique beauty. I love the moon so much.

I wish you good luck.

 last year 

Thank you so much.

 last year 

You are welcome.

 last year 

Congratulations!
Your post is nominated by Steem For Ladies for booming vote as a contest winner. The community where the Steemian ladies can be free to express themselves, be creative, learn from each other, and give support to their fellow lady Steemians.
"Only posts that are original, adhere to the rules, and are not cross-posted are nominated. If approved, you will receive an upvote within the next few days."

Good luck!
@patjewell
IMG_20221128_163104.jpg

 last year 

Thank you very much, Ma.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67083.87
ETH 3502.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.13