The Diary Game – #22: Share your day with us || Cooking Afang Soup.

in Steem For Ladies6 months ago (edited)

20240112_211012_0000.png
Edited using canva

Good day ladies, this is my first time posting here, and I just realized I have been missing out on a alot. Firstly I want to thank the organizer of this contest, diary game is my favourite contest on steemit because, it allows us to share our daily activities with people around the world and not just to your actual diary. Stay with me as I take you through my day.

GOING TO SCHOOL TO SUMMIT AN ASSIGNMENT

I woke up around 8am today, hoping to stay at home all day and have a real rest, for the first time since the week began, but that wasn't bound to happen. As I woke up, I decided to just go through my chats, at some point I realized my course rep has replied to the message I sent him yesterday concerning submission of assignments, he told me to be at school at 10am dot, I hurryly did my chores and had my bath, my the time i was done it was around 9:30 and I left the house.

Bus
On reaching school, I still had to pay my way down to our main campus, when I got there I was lucky to met a bus that was only filled, I was the second to the last person, when we were complete they driver got his money and we moved. When I got there, I called my course rep, he told me to wait at the science department for another of my course mate, that was coming with the assignment, I had no choice but to wait.

PXL_20240112_103040434.jpg
Science department

An hour passed and I was still waiting, I called the guy I was waiting for time and time again, and he kept saying he was on his way, and I was standing under sun, I texted my course rep again, and he still told me to wait, I kept on calling this guy's phone till finally he came after keeping me there till 12pm. I summited my assignment and entered a bus back to the other campus.

GOING TO THE MARKET

After the bus dropped me, I still paid again to my house, as if they planned me, as I reached the house, my sister has already made a list, and she sent me to the market. Because the was no food in the house and I was equally hungry, I had no other choice but to go.

PXL_20240112_151634740.jpg
Market

I was going to prepare "Afang soup". And so all I need to buy were, Afang, water leaf, periwinkle, palm oil, Meat, etc. I didn't waste time in the market, as I bought everything with my customers and left.

PREPARING AFANG SOUP

"Do you know Afang soup?", and do you know how to prepare it, well for those in Nigeria, we are all familiar with the soup, for those outside Nigeria, stay with me let me show you how I made my delicious Afang soup today.

PXL_20240112_154930221.jpg
INGREDIENTS

After my ingredients were all ready as seen above, I first of all washed my meat and cow skin(ikpa), I washed my periwinkle as well and of course the water leaf, although I had already cut it in the market, so I just had to wash out the sand in it.

PXL_20240112_163103421.jpg
Seasoning my stock

First's thing first, I put my periwinkle, meat, cow skin and stockfish into a pot, seasoned it well and kept it on fire to boil. While I left it to boil, I kept water on fire for Eba(garri). This was an habit I picked from my mom, she said it's better that way so that when you soup is ready, you Eba must have been ready as well.

PXL_20240112_165353137.jpg
Adding water leaf

After the meat seasoned well, I added my water leaf and palm oil and left it to boil again. And after it was boiling I added my crayfish, Maggi, fresh pepper, and small salt to season it well. Not long again I added my well grinder Afang leaf. At this point we don't leave it to boil for long, so it doesn't kill the Afang, as it should still be fresh, After I brought my soup down, I dished for my sisters and for myself as well, the looks and the taste was all so satisfying and delicious.

PXL_20240112_171404324.jpgFood Is Ready

After eating, I had my bath again, and finally I could have that rest I had always wanted. We have test in school tomorrow so I have to prepare for it, I had already read a few chapters, then I decided to come share my day with you all, I hope you enjoyed reading my blog today and you learnt something as well. I would love to invite my ladies @usoro01, @uduak01 and @ekemini01 to participate in this wonderful contest.

Sort:  
 6 months ago 

Hola señorita, que mal estuvo la mañana por el compañero que la hizo quedarse mas tiempo en la escuela, eso es muy penoso. Lo bueno es que al llegar a casa pudo ayudar a su hermana con las compras y preparar una buena sopa.

Saludos cordiales para usted, desde Venezuela 🤗

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

TEAM 5

Congratulations! Your comment has been upvoted through steemcurator08.

Curated by : @harferri
 6 months ago 
Club Status#Club5050
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
Voting CSI11.1 ( 2.63 % self, 77 upvotes, 60 accounts, last 7d )
Steemladies0%
Burnsteem2525%
AI contentHuman
Word count804
MOD's Observations/suggestions

Thank you for participating…..

Vote @pennsif.witness for growth across the Steemit platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high yield developments with the resources available. Vote here

 6 months ago 
 6 months ago 

This really looks delicious!
My mum too loves the idea of making the eba while preparing the soup and if we had just one means of heating things up, she would ask we make the eba first before preparing the soup.
I also love the idea, when soup is ready you just know you're eating.

I learnt a lot from your post, thanks for sharing and for the invite!

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

 6 months ago 

I'm glad to were able to learn something from my post.
And also you are right, making Eba before the soup is superb, for someone that was hungry before cooking you just eat at once.
I'm looking forward to seeing your entry as well😊😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44