Tell your story#11(Most Terrible Secondary School Experience))

in Steem For Ladies14 days ago

IMG_20231228_165843.jpg

I attended Federal Government Girls' College at Mkpat Enin in Akwa Ibom state, Nigeria. I had a lot of experiences then both the ones I could talk about and the ones I couldn't share , but I was glad I got an opportunity to apologize to the people I hurt on the 1st December 2019 because I would have lived with the guilt. In our final year we had a confession night and I got to confess and heard other confessions and it was indeed a night to remember because we had to free ourselves from guilt before moving to another phase of life.

How it happened

1st December was always powder night in my school but that year things really got out of hand. It was usually a time students celebrated and poured powder on each other, it was also a means to celebrate the last month of the year and Christmas which was fast approaching.
It was 1st December 2019 and I was in ss2, the school had eyes on us as they were selecting the next set of perfects soon. Everyone anticipated the powder night as usual and I got my full container of baby and me powder in anticipation. It was on a friday night which made it more interesting because it was weekend and weekend was always fun because it was activity free.

child-2758831_1280.jpg
Source

At exactly 12:00am everyone in my hostel started screaming "Happy New Month" and we all started pouring powder on each other in excitement, I also poured it on people that were asleep especially my bunk mate because she was a deep sleeper. I and my friends went to our house captain to open the hostel so we would take the celebration outside to other hostels, she was stubborn at first but as Ss3 girls came to our gate and she succumbed to the pressure because we were already ready with our broken buckets to play drums.
Our hostel was finally opened and we all ran out with our broken buckets to play drums and dance to spice up our night. As I stepped out, I went to jss3 hostel because I had no friend in Ss3 and I promised my school daughter I was coming to celebrate with her, her hostel was very far so I went with my friend Etieno and Ukim. As we went we could still hear the noise from our hostel which meant our voices were loud and coupled with the drummings too. As I went I met her hostel opened and stormed in to pour her powder, as I went her bunk mate told me she just left the room saying she's coming to my hostel but I didn't see her though because students were many. On my way back to my hostel, we didn't know the noise attracted the attention of the police patrol in my school, they were looking for the culprit to report to the school authority. I and my friend took to our heels, we ran as fast as our legs could carry us and we weren't caught. As we got to the hostel we realized they were not following us again and the students in this side were not aware of what was happening, we acted like nothing happened and continued in the celebration. Sooner than expected our noise attracted the principal and other staff who stayed in the staff quarters, so they came out to fish the students constituting a nuisance out. We were over 300 students outside and we were all trying to get to the hostel before being caught at this point it was survival for the fittest because the police officers were scattered around. I ran and mistakenly pushed my mate down and she started bleeding because she hit her mouth on the floor she screamed and started crying because people were stepping on her to run but I couldn't look back so I won't be caught, I later heard she was rushed to the college clinic by an officer. I felt guilty but I knew owning up would cause my studentship so I refused to. As I entered I ran to my room to catch my breath then I went to urinate and I saw some students on the fence looking for direction how to place their legs in the half wall so the jump from the fence. I assisted them while looking for my friend because I ran and left her which was unfair of me.
Our principal stormed our hostel and I ran to my bed, I was so scared because I couldn't find my friend. Our principal ordered our hostel mistress and matron to fish out all the students with powder on their body because they were involved. I immediately brought out my bucket of water and soaked my head and changed my night wear, I also wore socks to cover my dirty legs. Our matron came to my corner and two of my corner members were missing and the powder I poured on my bunk mate was still on her body so she was woken from sleep and dragged out, I felt so bad because she was so guilty and I have hurt another person just after injuring one. I cried myself to sleep because it was already past 2 in the midnight.
The next morning I woke up to my bunky and corner members crying because my principal called their parents to come pick the up in the morning for suspension. My bunk mate was suspended for two weeks for just doing nothing and I then culprit was still in school. My conscience couldn't let me focus in class knowing she was innocent. She cried bitterly because she has nothing to do with what happened and my intentions wasn't to put her in trouble. My friend and corner mate was suspended for three weeks because she was caught by a police man on the fence and the police officer lied that she wanted to commit suicide meanwhile she was just escaping from trouble. I lived with the guilt that my bunk mate was suspended because of me till our confession night in ss3 which was our last night together. After I confessed she was shocked and she broke down into tears and I cried too and pleaded for forgiveness, I also confessed to the girl I injured and we made amends. I was so happy because I could finally find closure to that issue. I did not only put my bunk mate in trouble that got her suspended, I also ruined her chance of being perfect because her name was written in defaulters books and no defaulters are allowed to contest for any office.

student-1694970_1280.jpg
Source

What I learned

I learned never to follow the crowd because if I had just stayed back in my hostel, I wouldn't have entered all the trouble I entered and I wouldn't have injured anyone neither would I have poured powder on my bunk mate.
I also learned to stay away from trouble and obey school rules and regulations and never get involved in any form of activity that constitutes a nuisance to the college.

Thank you for reading my blog,
I invite @goodybest, @adachukwu and @suboohi to participate in this contest

Sort:  
 14 days ago 
Estado del club#Club5050
Exclusivo de Steem
Libre de plagio
Sin bots
Votación CSI[? ] (5.8 ( 0.00 % self, 43 upvotes, 32 accounts, last 7d)
Damas de Steem0%
Burnsteem250%
Contenido de IAHumano
Recuento de palabras1,201

Saludos amiga gracias por compartir tu historia con nosotros espero tengas mucho éxito.

"Wow, what an incredible story! 🤯 I'm so glad you shared this with us on Steem. It's amazing how a single night can have such a profound impact on your life and others. 😊 Your reflection on what happened and what you learned from it is truly inspiring. 💡 I love how you're using this experience as an opportunity to grow and share valuable lessons with our community. 🌱

Your honesty and vulnerability in sharing this story are traits that we value highly here on Steem. It takes a lot of courage to confront your mistakes and take responsibility for them, but it's clear that you've done just that. 💪

I'm curious - what do you think is the most important lesson from your experience? 🤔 Would love to hear more about how you're applying this to your life today! 😊 And don't forget to invite others to participate in this conversation - we'd love to hear their thoughts and experiences as well! 💬

Oh, and one more thing... 👉 If you haven't already, please consider voting for the witness 'xpilar.witness' by going to https://steemitwallet.com/~witnesses. Every vote counts, and your support will help us continue contributing to the growth and success of our amazing Steem community! 💖"

 11 days ago 

hello dear,
your writing is very good but it is too long to read because of the spacing.
maybe you can use spaces in every single paragraph sentence so that your writing is more interesting to read.
have a nice day for you💕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57658.56
ETH 2273.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46