Tell your story#9( administered wrong medication to my patient)

in Steem For Ladieslast month
INTRODUCTION

Good day, my fellow ladies. I hope you guys are doing well. I am very happy to participate in this contest. Tell your story. Thank you @ruthjoe for organising this wonderful contest.

What happened

1000048963.jpg

As a nurse, I was so fateful and dedicated to my work.
I knew the importance of honesty in healthcare and was so dedicated to it. I always work with compassion.

I took pride in my work, but one day. I made a dangerous mistake that could have had serious consequences.
What is the mistake? I administered the wrong medication to my patient.

I didn't notice at first until I went back to the doctor's office, then I noticed I didn't take the right medication.

I was so afraid and thought of what would happen to the patient; I didn't know how to say it out or talk to the doctor about it so we could know what to do.

I was terrified and tired.

Many things came to my mind: what if the patient dies as a result of this? What will happen if the doctor later finds out? I even wanted to cry because this kind of mistake was so terrible. Out of my carelessness, I gave a patient the wrong medication.

Shortly after leaving the doctor's office, I heard voices from the patient's ward.

The patient's mother and sister were calling the doctor because they didn't know what was wrong with their brother; he was breathing fast and vomiting. My heart flew away; I was not myself again.

The doctor quickly went to the patient; he checked and checked but couldn't find out what was wrong with the patient.

He called me and asked me some questions. I answered only one correct; others were lies.

The doctor looking at me knows that something is wrong because I was answering him with fear.

He quickly went to his office and brought a medicine that would dissolve and prevent the other drugs from giving any effects.

The mother of the patient didn't know what was going on; all she wanted was for her son to get healed.

When the doctor finished administering the drugs to the patient, he went to his office and told me to follow him up immediately.

Thank God the patient is no more vomiting and breathing fast.

When we reached the office, he asked me many times about what happens to the patient. I was so afraid to open up because I knew the consequences I might face.

He asked me many times and told me he wouldn't do anything or react much about the whole thing.

I started talking immediately and asking for forgiveness. He already knew what happened; he is asking me was just to know whether I was telling him the truth.

After explaining everything to him, he forgiven me and told me to be more careful next time. But I was suspended for one week at work, and also my salary was deducted.

What you have learned from it

The lesson I learnt

I learnt to always say the truth and open up. Had it been I opened up on time, the matter wouldn't get worse and my punishment would be less.

I also learnt to be more careful in life to avoid making this kind of dangerous mistake again.

Thanks for reading my entry.

I will like to invite my friend @favouchukwu @meeky3 @blessedp to join this contest organised by @ruthjoe.

Sort:  
 last month 
Club Status#Club5050
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
Voting CSI[ 5.9 ]
Steemladies0%
Burnsteem250%
AI contentHuman
Word count515
MOD's Observations/suggestions

Thank you for participating…..
Your story is quite interesting. I am glad that at the end the boy didn't die and you were forgiven. Carefulness should be in place next time. All the best!

Vote @pennsif.witness for growth across the Steemit platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high yield developments with the resources available. Vote here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60997.20
ETH 2384.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56