The Diary Game – #3: Share your day with us!

in Steem For Ladies10 months ago

diary.png
Designed with Canva

263134BE-FEBD-42D6-AF58-B115E8BBEE82.png

Morning

It was the 30th of August 2023, a Nikini Full Moon Poya Day, which was a public and mercantile holiday for everyone in my country. When I opened my bedroom window, I saw people walking to the temple in white color clothes to take part in religious rites.

On Poya days, people perform sill, which is a special religious activity. It is like becoming a monk temporally. Those who perform sill, wear special white clothes and spend the day religiously from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. They are only vegetarian on this day, and they do not handle money. They spend the day calmly, listening to the Dhamma and meditating. They consume the alms offered by donors at the temple. There were plenty of donors in our country to offer alms in every temple across the country.


Designed by Canva

I went to the dining room to drink my glass of water on an empty stomach. It was a little raining outside; therefore, I decided not to do my walking exercise and other simple exercises.

Instead, I went to the kitchen, to make porridge, which is one of my morning rituals. On Poya Day, special Buddhist programs are broadcast on radio and television. I switched on the radio to listen to the dhamma program while cooking sago porridge.

While listening to the radio, I did all other routine work. I heard the monk preaching that Nikini Poya Day is very important to all the Buddhists everywhere in the country because the first Sanga Council was held on such Poya Day after the death of Gautama Buddha.

Afternoon

As my next-door people prepared alms for the monks in our temple, we went there to assist them. We also went to the temple with them to offer alms to the monks. That day, we had our lunch at their house.

Evening

I was taking a short nap; when I heard a strange noise coming from my backyard. I went there to find out what it was. I was surprised to find a white pigeon in our water tank. He can’t fly, I called my husband, and we both tried to chase him away. But he didn't move. Therefore, we brought him to our garage and kept him inside a box. I closed the door of the garage, afraid that he would be cached by another animal.

I went there after a short while to see what had happened to him; he had eaten all of the rice and the water container was spread all over the box. And he had sat on the box. I gave him rice with water again and opened the door of the garage if he wanted to fly out.

My son and his wife had gone to my daughter-in-law’s hometown, therefore I felt very lonely. My elder sister invited us to an evening Buddha offering at their temple. Though I agreed with them, I didn't want to participate because I felt lonely. On other days, we all went to the temple together, but as our son was not available, I didn't feel like going.

Late evening

For our dinner, I prepared a light meal. Then I went to feed the pigeon, but he wasn't there; he had flown away from the place. I believe he will gain the strength to fly after eating the rice and drinking the water I provided. I was relieved that I was able to save the pigeon's life.

In any case, I am not a TV viewer. As it began to get dark, my husband sat in front of the television. I sat on a chair outside the house. I watched as the moon gradually appeared to light up the sky. I took out my phone and photographed the scene. Although there was a moon to lighten the sky, my two sons were not nearby to lighten the darkness of my mind. Without realizing it, my mind cried.

image.png

Our children don’t know that our happiness lies with them. But that is the truth. I don’t know about fathers, but a mother's happiness is always with children. I was waiting for my son's return.

When the time around 9.00 p.m. we ate our light dinner. After a few minutes of meditation, we went to bed, saying goodbye to another lovely day.

263134BE-FEBD-42D6-AF58-B115E8BBEE82.png

I would like to invite @jyoti-thelight, @tocho2 and @ashkhan to take part in this contest.

10% to @steemladies

Thank you all for reading my diary.

Sort:  
 10 months ago 
MOD's Observations/suggestions

Thank you for participating in our contest. We are very happy to see you here. Best of luck🤞…..

Thank you! We appreciate you sharing your day with the ladies of this community. 💕

Club Status#Club100
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
Voting CSI7.7 ( 0.00 % self, 66 upvotes, 39 accounts, last 7d )
Steemladies10%
Burnsteem250%
AI contentHuman
Word count744

Vote @pennsif.witness for growth across the Steemit platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high yield developments with the resources available. Vote here

 10 months ago 

Thank you for reviewing my post.

I really like the article which is interesting to read, the pigeon looks cute. I think the full moon is always a special day for Buddism, hope you enjoy the day , thanks for the invitation

 10 months ago 

Thank you for reading my post and leaving a such a thoughtful comment.

 10 months ago 

Hello @senehasa friend, Hello, I would like to know what ingredients do you prepare your porridge with?

By the way, how has the little dove continued, has it managed to fly yet?

See you

 10 months ago 

Sago, coconut milk, salt and piece of cinnamon only. First, I washed and soaked the sago. While the sago is soaking, heat the coconut milk with the cinnamon, then add the soaked sago and stir well. After 10 minutes when it was translucent remove the sago from the stave and add sugar and salt to taste. Instead of coconut oil you can use fresh milk.
I hope he could fly that is why he was not in that area.
Thank you for reading my post and leaving your lovely comment. Have a nice day.

 10 months ago 

Thanks a lot for your recipe @senehasa friend

 10 months ago 

🧡

 10 months ago 

Congratulations!
Your post is nominated by Steem For Ladies for booming vote as a contest winner.
The community where the Steemian ladies can be free to express themselves, be creative, learn from each other, and give support to their fellow lady Steemians.
"Only posts that are original, adhere to the rules, and are not cross-posted are nominated. If approved, you will receive an upvote within the next few days."

Good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56587.45
ETH 2991.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15