Choices! What will it be? #21

in Steem For Ladies11 months ago

Hello, my dear steemian ladies, every week @patjewell surprises us by providing wonderful titles to contest. This time also she gave us different topics such as ruller, avocado, box, cage, and hugs. While I was oscillating between two topics, finally I decided to choose BOX. Now, let’s see what my thoughts are.

Box.png
Made by Canva

image.png

In my native home, there was a beautiful large wooden box. It was about 6 feet long, four feet wide, and 5 feet deep, and was beautifully decorated with wooden carvings and metal. It was a lovely shape box with elegant 4 legs and a lock too. My mother told me that it belonged to my grandmother. We always called it “Grandma's Pettagama (large box)”.

Those days, there was no modern cabinet to store cups and saucers, glasses, plates, and so on. My grandmother had a large collection of beautiful ceramic items such as cups and saucers, dishes, jugs, glasses, and so on. All of those items were stored in that box. Not only that but also other valuables items such as spoons and forks were kept in that box. After my grandmother’s death, my mother became the owner of that box. Later, that box was filled with my mother’s belongings as well.

I can remember, that when there was a wedding in my area, people came to our house to take away those ceramic items. Later, when the modern cabinet was introduced to society, this large box lost its place in the home. All of those ceramic items, as well as other spoons and forks, were stored in this new cabinet, which was installed in a dining room. That too happened to my house.

When my father brought a cabinet to my house, my mother stored all those beautiful ceramic items as well as other spoons and forks in that cabinet. Therefore, that box was empty and no one wanted to lock it.

Later, my elder sister used it to keep her school books. Not only her books but also all our printed books were stored in that box. As, it was very big, even though kept all those books, it could not filled. Then, my elder sister told us to keep our all-exercise books too, on one side. We all had separate places in that box to keep our books. As it was not locked, anybody could have opened it when they wanted.

When my elder sisters and elder brothers married, I was the elder one in my family. Then automatically I got the ownership of that box. As I had two younger sisters, we all shared that box to keep our school items. After each of us got a separate table for schoolwork, we also stopped using that box. Finally, that box lost its place even in rooms. Later, it passed to the kitchen and mother used it to store sugar bottles, rice, dry fish as well other food items.

With time, all those antique items such as old large boxes, old almaira, and old beds received a worthy place in society. By this time, I was employed. So, I had money in my hand, therefore, I decided to renovate that box.

After discussing it with my parents, I gave it a good look by painting and polishing. I indeed had to spend a considerable amount on that, but after renovating it, even though, it was over 50 years old, it got an elegant look.

As it got an elegant look after renovation, my grandmother’s pettagama got a due place in our house again. It was no longer in the kitchen or room, but it got a place again in the dining room.

If my grandmother were alive, I am sure she could have hugged and kissed me, as I gave it a due place.

Here is my submission for this week’s competition. I would like to invite @eliany, @inspiracion, @nahela, and @suboohi to take part in this lovely contest. The contest announcement can be found here.

image.png

10% to @steemladies.

Thank you for reading my post.

Sort:  
 11 months ago 

Cabinets really always had a use and value in homes as far as I remember when I was a child. Mom used to put all the delicate pieces like china and crystal glasses in there for safekeeping and they were there for a long time.
I'm sure your grandmother would be very proud of your action. Congratulations. Greetings!

 11 months ago 

Yes, but she was not alive to admire that good deed. Thank you for stopping by and leaving such a lovely comment.

 11 months ago 

I wish you a lot of success! :)

 11 months ago 

🧡

 11 months ago 

Formerly in almost every home there was a large box @senehasa, families had that custom, and it was usually located in the dining room, with lots of pottery and other valuable items.

I have a long time that I do not see a cabinet of those, although some families have them very well cared for, as they are inheritances from their grandparents.

Good luck in the contest, best regards.

 11 months ago 

Yes, you are correct it was inherited from our grandparents, in early time it was well cared but when a cabinet introduced it dawn bad time.

Loading...
 11 months ago 

Congratulations!
Your post is nominated by Steem For Ladies for booming vote.
The community where the Steemian ladies can be free to express themselves, be creative, learn from each other, and give support to their fellow lady Steemians.
"Only posts that are original, adhere to the rules, and are not cross-posted are nominated. If approved, you will receive an upvote within the next few days."

Good luck!
@aviral123

 11 months ago 

Thanks for the support.

 11 months ago 

Hey, your grandmother would be immensely grateful for your great gesture of arranging all her cups and other things in the right place so that when they have parties they can't take them away hahahaha.
Happy day to you.

 11 months ago 

Yes, you are extremely correct. Thank you for taking time to read my post and your lovely comment.

 11 months ago 

Gracias a ti amiga y me alegro que te haya gustado mi comentario que tengas una feliz tarde bendiciones un abrazo.

 11 months ago 

You are welcome.

 11 months ago 

Happy day thank you blessings.

 11 months ago 

Qué bueno elección tuviste amigo con la caja haciendo mi recordar cuando yo era un pequeña y deja vasco juguetes aún lado para irme a jugar con una caja eso para mí era un carro, una nave, mi casa, una cama y muchas tantas cosas más. hasta un video tengo de eso bello momentos.

Estoy segura que todos tus familiares se encuentran alegres por el uso que se le ha dado a esa caja en tu hogar.

Exitos.
 11 months ago 

Yes, my father is the one who mostly happy of that renovation action.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66740.62
ETH 3336.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72