Choices! What will it be? #19

in Steem For Ladies11 months ago

Hello super ladies

Sorry am dropping my entry on the last day of this contest, I was really busy this while, searching for a job and submitting application letters here and there. Today I will be talking about the wonderful word known as Grandma. I also thank @patjewell for organizing this contest.

IMG_20220423_111650-1_2.jpg

Our grandmothers

Grandmas are known to be very caring and nice to their grandchildren, they always make sure no one messes with their grandchildren most especially when they are still small.

A grandma is the mother of our parents, they gave birth to our parents that's why each child has two grandmothers known as the paternal and maternal grandmothers. Our paternal grandmother is the mother of our father while our maternal grandmother is the mother of our mother.

Unfortunately my father's mother is dead and according to my father, she died when he was still in primary school, I was sad when I heard it because am such my father must have suffered after the death of his grandma. I would have talked about his father who also died years ago but my topic today is GRANDMA.

IMG_20220422_173020.jpg

My maternal grandmother is still alive, she's a very virtuous woman and she's the best grandmother in the world. She gave birth to 11 children, 9 girls and two boys and this made me to currently have many aunties and also uncles because my aunties husbands are also my uncles. My grandmother is old but not too old, she was really obedient to her parents that's why she's still alive enjoying her long days on earth.

My grandmother's husband which was my paternal grandfather is dead, he died more than 12 years ago 😥. My grandmother has been a widow for a very long time. I remember when my grandmother told us about the civil war that happened in my country Nigeria more than 30 years ago, she said that she was with her mother throughout that period, running to different places for survival.

IMG_20220423_112018.jpg

My grandmother had two brother's, the first one iwas an army while the second one who I know as a stubborn man, ran away from home abandoning their old mother with my grandmother alone and he died last year. Guess what, his name is Nigeria, all the time I always wondered why my maternal great-grandmother abd her husband gave him that name.

My grandmother eldest brother who was an army was busy fighting the civil war, he didn't abandon his family like his brother as he was always visiting whenever the war has a break. Whenever he goes back to the battlefield, my grandmother and her mother were always praying for God to protect him. My grandmother struggled alot while taking care of her mother during the war.

IMG_20220422_173139.jpgMaternal grandparents and my parents wedding day

This attracted alot of blessings to my grandmother because of how she always stayed by my great-grandmother's side. She blessed her and also said she will live long, till today my grandmother is still alive and my siblings and I are always praying for God to keep her strong so that she can also see our future children. My grandmother used to sell palm oil in bulk when she was younger. Currently she sells drinks and pure water and she sew for herself.

My grandmother wanted to travel with her colleagues many years ago for a business trip but she couldn't go again because she fell ill immediately the day was closer, she wasn't happy that period because she knew she will lose alot in her business if she doesn't go. Few hours later she got a news that all the women that went died in a motor accident while in the bus and this was when my grandmother discover the true intentions of God.

My grandmother thanked God for the sickness 😂, she appreciated him for not letting her die with the others. My grandmother also wept bitterly for the death of her numerous colleagues. My grandmother obeyed and took care of her mother till she died and this made God to bless her with long life so he never wanted her to embark on that deadly journey. Thank you all for reading.

I invite @ruthjoe, @tocho2, @yakspeace and @josepha to participate in this contest.

Sort:  
Loading...
 11 months ago 

Congratulations!
Your post is nominated by Steem For Ladies for booming vote as a contest winner.
The community where the Steemian ladies can be free to express themselves, be creative, learn from each other, and give support to their fellow lady Steemians.
"Only posts that are original, adhere to the rules, and are not cross-posted are nominated. If approved, you will receive an upvote within the next few days."

Good luck!
@patjewell

 11 months ago 

Blessed with 11 children. Survived the civil war. Narrowly escaped death.
Your grandma is a living testimony of God's goodness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66599.03
ETH 3421.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63