Choices! What will it be? #57

in Steem For Ladieslast month

Greetings to all members of this community, I am grateful to mum @patjewell for organising this contest, happy mothers day in arrears

STUDY
A STUDY OF STUDENT BEHAVIOUR IN THE ABSENCE OF A TEACHER OR LECTURER

IMG_20240509_134104_781.jpg
Gisting in class

I came in here observing every single activity going on as a young lecturer, the place was so noisy, that they could not even notice my presence, even if my age should have given them a sign, it wouldn't have been possible here in the higher institution because many are here for their second degree and a bit older than me or if not we are in the same age grade possibly we could talk as pals.

As an educationist, writing research on classroom management, I seek to discover the problem teachers have in managing the classroom, a proper place for citing a classroom, and the student-teacher relationship in classroom management, the list of these topics is broad, so I sat observing.

IMG_20240509_125925_443.jpg
Students gisting

I noticed some flaws, first the music played over the fence that surrounded the classroom was so loud and uncontrollable since the disc jockey was not seen, some students were already nodding to it and some sang alongside the well-known lyrics, some students undertook interactive learner session and this makes the place noisier even though they were doing academic activities, some were busy watching the new series that dropped on the net, while some hold their phone like the gamepad and press the screen repeatedly then I knew they were playing game, sounds of the gunshot, some sound of a commentator, more noise!!!.

Some slept in the classroom and I assume these were those who spent some time in a night class either reading or playing games because sometimes most of these activities are also found in night classes( a night where students go to class and spend the night there), some were just perambulating once with no direction, some fingering their phone silently without friends by their side(I noticed they could be introverts).

It was not yet time for the lecturer to come, so the class representative didn't even bother calling the lecturer, it was one hour before the set time and students were in a rush to confirm if they were given an assignment on the course or other courses, some went ahead to photocopy materials and notes which they don't have so they can start reading.

A classroom should be a place conducive to learning, not a place close to the main road, not a place for noise, it must have residence students, not traders as some of these students seem to be traders, though sellers of stick meat and chilled drink contributed to this noise too as the storm the block to sell, it should a place well organised by a teacher and I think it is the right time for me to enter in as a lecturer.

IMG_20240509_131451_147.jpg
My lecturer

So I stormed into the block walking hastily and I noticed the noise began to reduce, the traders noticed the big file in my hand and decided to disperse. I don't blame them actually because it is the university and anything could be done in the classroom. The classroom can only be controlled by a well-trained teacher. I told the student that the silence that can forth on my emergence should remain and if I notice any more noise the defaulter will be sent out to a land of no return(not the grave but total suspension from attending my class).

IMG_20240509_130013_710.jpg
Me in class, a student beside me is sleeping

I wanted to address this classroom issue, it is coincidental that this particular block is sited close to the fence where the noise is coming from, I called the class rep out and asked him the reason he chose this venue when there are other venues and he could give me a reasonable venue, so I asked the student if this place is conducive for them they said yes, yes because they would find it stressful to move to the next block, but I am the lecturer and my decision is final, to Foster effective learning I changed the venue to the building at the centre of the school and the learning process began.

This could be fictitious but it is a creative writing strategy and it contains a study on student behaviour in the Nigerian University and findings on proper citing of a classroom, I just believe you are blessed with the story telling style.

I invite my friends @wakeupkitty and @hahdie to join in this contest, hope to see your entries soon

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

 last month 
Estado del club#Club75
Exclusivo de Steem
Libre de plagio
Sin bots
Votación CSI[? ] (22.2 ( 0.00 % self, 275 upvotes, 142 accounts, last 7d)
Damas de Steem0%
Burnsteem25
Contenido de IAHumano
Recuento de palabras801

Gracias por compartir tu post con nosotros, ya esta temática paso, actualmente esta otro concurso con otras opciones que sera, puedes también participar en ese, pero por otro lado agradezco tu valioso post porque realmente lo que nos compartes es muy acertado de tu parte. Gracias por estar aquí amigo, me gusto leerte.

1000056888.png

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through Curation Team#3. We support quality posts, and good comments anywhere and with any tags.

 last month 

Okay, I also at first thought you were writing about a topic of a past contest, and then I saw it...

a study on student behaviour

Well done! A great way of twisting the subject! (•ิ‿•ิ)

Good luck with the contest!

@fannyescobar

This shows you read my post thoroughly, I am really surprise at this, I knew it will be this way but I had to drop it since this is what came into my mind first, I had to make it in tangent with the topic, first to make it reach the over 550 word target only to see it close to 800 if not precise, I just wish you enjoy every bit of the writeup, I wish you do @patjewell @fannyescobar. Thanks for reading through

 last month 

Gracias a ti por compartirlo con nosotros, y de esi se trata de leer detenidamente. Muy buen post. Exitos

It's my pleasure ma'am

 last month 

Si es un estudio que surge de el concurso anterior que manera de ser creativo. A mi me gusto mucho en lo particular. Gracias mi estimada @patjewell

 last month 

Congratulations!
Your post is nominated by Steem For Ladies for booming vote as a contest winner.
The community where the Steemian ladies can be free to express themselves, be creative, learn from each other, and give support to their fellow lady Steemians.
"Only posts that are original, adhere to the rules, and are not cross-posted are nominated. If approved, you will receive an upvote within the next few days."

Good luck!
@patjewell

I am very happy for being chosen as a winnsr, I must appreciate you @patjewell for seeing through each post, keep it up ma'am, Thank you so much 🙏

 last month 

💕

 last month 

Pleasure!☕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64865.94
ETH 3547.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33