Choices! What will it be? #14

in Steem For Ladies10 months ago
choice-2692575_1280.jpgsource

Choice is a personal race. Making choices is in the heart of men and so with this light, my choice today in this contest will be Onion

All fruits and vegetables that are grown in all parts of the world have a role it plays in the human body to keep healthy. Onion is a very popular vegetable and can be used to make all meals.

Onion is categorized in the class of vegetables. It varies in shape, size, color, and flavor too. I don't know the most common type where you are, but over here we have the wine red and white color. The white one is commonly used for salad and not for cooking.

Onion is widely used by people all over the world to add taste to food. Most times I get confused about how many layers an onion has, but I think it's 2 though. Have you ever been slicing the onion and you start crying? 😭😂 that is to say that onion is medicinal and can be used to cure some health diseases.

foods-4869862_1280.jpgsource

I could remember the first time I was asked by my mom to slice an onion, I was just slicing the first ball and tears start rolling down my cheek, my brother saw me and asked if it was common onion that was beating me 🤣, very funny right?

Onion is added to almost all African dishes. It can be used when cooking stew, jollof rice, beans, beef, chicken, and plantain and can also be used for some soup recipes; okra soup, banga soup, editing kong soup, etc.

Screenshot_20230717-200000_1689620468855.pngAfrican dishes made with onionsGoogle

Oh! how can I forget the African salad, without onion the recipe is incomplete. Mentioning it now makes me crave it 😜

Onion has some health benefits and I know you'll love to know, now let me explain to you some that I know;

•Onion has antioxidant

Multiple studies have found that there are low risk of heart disease for those who consume food rich in anthocyanins and because the red onion contains anthocyanins, I think that's the reason it is consumed more. Red onion can also protect against certain cancer and diabetes.

background-1238342_1280.jpgsource

•Help control blood sugar

For diabetic patients or prediabetes, eating onion may help control blood sugar. My mom is a diabetic patient and the way she enjoys onion in meals, makes me wonder. My mom would go to the market 3 times a week, she must buy onions. Onions are the last thing you can't find in her home.

A case study has shown that 100 grams of raw red onion reduces fasting blood sugar levels after 4 hours. So I guess if you are a diabetic patient or know someone, you can pass on the good news

•Have antibacterial properties

Onions can fight dangerous bacterial like Staphylococcus aureus, Bacillus cereus, etc. Onion extract is to be taken at least once in 3 days, because most of us fry our onion while cooking or overboiling it.

My big cousin enjoys her meals with half-done onion or raw onion mostly for jollof rice and noodles. I never liked eating onion at all in meals but knowing the benefits on time, I can finish a big ball of onion in one pack of Noddles.

•Onion improves bone health

It is true that dairy gets more credit for boosting bone but onion and other foods also help support strong bones. Onion juice daily for at least 7-8 weeks can improve bone minerals. A person who eats onion once a day can secure for himself his bone density more than a person who eats it once a month.

Conclusion

Onions have no side effect, I hear people say too much onion is not good for the body and I begin to wonder where in God's name they get that from. Too much onion is even better for every part of the body.

I love preparing my meals so that I know the accurate measurement of the ingredients I use. Most of the bukers, either don't add onion to their meal or they add small quantities.

I invite @princa @goodybest @ruthjoe

Sort:  
 10 months ago 

Dear onion..
When will you stop beating us?
My own cry cry is not here oo

Beautiful entry you have made dear friend

 10 months ago 

Thank you so much

 10 months ago 
MOD's Observations/suggestions
Muy valiosa la información que nos compartes sobre la cebolla y sus usos medicinales y culinarios. Te deseo mucha suerte.
Club Status#club5050
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
Voting CSI16.6 ( 0.00 % self, 212 upvotes, 117 accounts, last 7d )
Verification date2023-07-17
Burnsteem25

1. Determination of Club Status refers to the https://steemworld.org/transfer-search Web-based Application
2. Plagiarisme Checker: https://smallseotools.com/plagiarism-checker/
3. AI Content Detector: Corrector App, OpenAI/, CopyLeaks


We invite you to support @pennsif.witness for growth across the whole platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high yield developments with the resources available https://steemitwallet.com/~witnesses
 10 months ago 

Thank you so much for this observation

 10 months ago 

Thank you for entering another week of Choices!
The onion! The one ingredient that makes us cry over it. (•ิ‿•ิ)

 10 months ago 

Well if i would have participated then i would also take onion .
It is not only nutritional but also it had immense and strong flavor . It enhances any dish .
I wish you success in your contest.

 10 months ago 

I support your motion dear friend. Thank you so much

 10 months ago 

Well you convinced me to start using more onions.
Thank you for this mouthwatering and educational article.

 10 months ago 

Congratulations!
Your post is nominated by Steem For Ladies for booming vote as a contest winner. The community where the Steemian ladies can be free to express themselves, be creative, learn from each other, and give support to their fellow lady Steemians.
"Only posts that are original, adhere to the rules, and are not cross-posted are nominated. If approved, you will receive an upvote within the next few days."

Good luck!
@patjewell
IMG_20221128_163104.jpg

 10 months ago 

Thank you so much ma'am. I am glad your leading is producing results for me. Thanks!

¡Congratulations!

This post has been supported through the account Steemcurator06. for containing good quality content.

Curated by : @suboohi

 10 months ago 

Thank you Sir

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 68797.43
ETH 3730.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76