Tell your story #9(How i wish i had listen to my mother)

in Steem For Ladieslast month
INTRODUCTION

Greetings everyone ,Hope you all are doing great

I am very delight to participate in this contest (One story one picture) organized by @ruthjoe
Today i want to share a story how i doom my family and make them become pauper

IMG_20240815_071158_208.jpg

What happened

The 11th day of November 2013 was a special day for many, but for my family and me, it was a day that crumbled our dreams and made us become paupers.

My mother had warned me not to leave the house that day so that I would be able to do my chores and for other security reasons.

She said this before travelling to our neighbouring village (umunya) with my elder sister for a wedding.

I was the one left alone in the house; they were supposed to be back later on the same day as Umunya was too, not far from Umudioka.

My mother had prepared my favourite meal, okoro soup, and she told me not to use the gas cooker to cook anything at all except to warm my food, whatever I wanted to eat.

I was also told not to leave the house for any reason.

I felt hungry, and I had put the pot of soup on the gas cooker to warm my food.

There was a knock on the door; it was Cynthia, my classmate, who lives two houses away from us. I opened the door for her as we got chatting; I forgot I had put something on the fire.

She took the book she had gone for and asked me to see her off. I remembered my mom's instruction not to leave the house, but I brush it off with the touch of coming back as soon as possible.

We got downstairs, and there was a fight between two naughty boys in the neighbourhood that caught our attention.

Some elders try to separate them, but they refuse and continue to fight. We stay back to see the end of the fight.

When the fight was over, I wished my friend goodbye and rushed back to the house.

The stench of smoke that created me was enough for me to know what had happened.

IMG_20240819_062346.jpg
Source

I tried to get to the kitchen, but it was not possible. Inside the kitchen, there was a fire, wide and threatening.

I could not risk my life.

I thought of my mother and her warning, and I felt devastated.

I ran out in confusion, shouting "Help!"

Passersby, neighbors, and everyone else rushed in the direction of our house somewhere carrying buckets of water, some with sand, but the fire had grown too wide for them to handle

I throw myself on the ground, and you refused to be consoled.

Hefty men battle to save our house and property, but to no avail. Some good samaritans call the fire service, and as usual, it's taken the 1 hour to get to our house.

By then the house was already ruined; it was a sorry sight to behold.

Nothing was saved; I had only the dress I was wearing.

Late in the evening, my mother came back with her older sister.

Looking at what used to be our house made her faint. She was rushed to the hospital.

The doctor, like the firefighters, battled hard to save her life, and in the end they succeeded.

I hate myself for bringing doom to my family.

How I wish I had listened to my mother.

What you have learned from it

From that day on i learnt to always follow my mother's word ,to obey her and her words

I really sorry for what i did and i also regret not listening to my mother. Hope you learnt alot of lesson from my story

Thanks for reading

I will like to invite @stef1 , @goodybest and @Yenny47 to join in this contest

Sort:  
 last month 
Estado del club#Club5050
Exclusivo de Steem
Libre de plagio
Sin bots
Votación CSI[? ] ([ ? ] ( 0.00 % self, 28 upvotes, 21 accounts, last 7d)
Damas de Steem0%
Burnsteem250%
Contenido de IAHumano
Recuento de palabras644

Saludos gracias por compartir tu participación con nosotros, gran historia que nos lleva a la reflexión. Exitos.

You were a child! Of course it's terrible what happened, but you couldn't bear the responsibility on your own yet. You say you've learnt your lessons and have always listened to your mother's words ever since. I'd rather hear that you won't leave your own children at home alone...

 last month 

Yeah!!
Am still a little child at that time and it was really very terrible and i think my children will not repeat the same mistakes that i did

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60968.19
ETH 2367.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56