Choices! What will it be? #34

in Steem For Ladies8 months ago (edited)

image.png
Image source

Hello dear ladies and I am here to participate in the choice contest, and I'm picking one of my most favorite topics:

Rabbit

Coincidentally, this happens to be my most favorite animal because we once rated them, they are really cute creatures in the mammal family because they give birth go their young ones alive.

I remember coming back from school that day very famished and tired, we had just written a test, my parents had been saying that they will get a rabbit soon but I never took it seriously.

So on that fateful Wednesday I came back from school, my parents looked mischievous, but I never minded asking them what happened since I was So famished.

I went to the backyard to get my clothes only to hear some noise, I moved closer to hear without opening the door, but all I could hear was sound of something eating.

I slowly opened the door and to my surprise, I saw two pretty rabbits at my backyard, in a cage munching carrots, I quickly screamed and my mum who had been watching my action finally came out and said "I wondered how long it'll take you to notice" I was super excited, my brother was also very surprised when he saw them, we immediately developed a bond with them.

From that day onwards, that became my reading spot, since I couldn't clean up their cage cause I was schooling, I usually spent all my reading time with them.
They are really dramatic, I enjoyed watching them eat, sleep, rest and so many other things, k actually grew really close to them, many events occurred during their stay.

I remember one day in the evening we heard noises outside, so we went to check, well, The door to there cage was open and "HAZEL AND LOLA" (their names) had squeezed through the protector and left outside, once Hazel saw me he found his way back to the cage, but Lola was confused, I was scared that she would run away and I'll miss her, but as we tried to chase her back she jumped right I to my arms, she was so scared so I petted her on her wars which most times makes them feel safe.

During weekends when we were at home, when we were cleaning the cages, we would let them run around the house, They were fun to see them running around, but it caused some damages too. I remember them chewing one of our cords, luckily no one was using the cord anymore, another time was when they tore off the carpet in our room, it was such a huge mark, but I didn't mind, after all the were animals.

We anticipated the day they'll give birth, and that day finally came, it was a local Veteran doctor who came to check on them both that informed us that she was pregnant, The night when she gave birth was also very dramatic.

I woke up in the middle of night to noises coming from their cage, I went outside but as soon as I opened the door, the both of them just stared at me, I thought nothing happened so I went back to bed, only to wake up the next day to a joyful shout that she has put t bed, she had shed some of her skin to keep them warm, She had given birth to seven, the young ones were really energetic and could not stay in one place, so so many times we looked for them a lot, we thought that our small backyard could accommodate the increasing population. But I couldn't, the babies die quite easily too, we had already lost 2 so we moved them to the home of the Veteran doctor.

IMG_20231201_181654_351.jpg
At the veteran doctors home

We would visit them often and soon, they had given birth to 21 children. One day a "tragic event" occurred that made me really sad for a long time.

We had just visited them on the Sunday and left for home, the nest day we got news, A supposedly mad dog had raised that place since the house has no fence, It chased Lola to an unknown place but she must have died, it attacked many of th children, and after a while the remaining died out of fear leaving only three, that is the first batch and Their Father, we quickly sold them off since they were mature enough.

That event was a very sad one for me because I missed them all.
I got over it eventually.

Well that's my experience with rabbits hope you like it.
I invite @bessie2023 and @realitytrend
Cc:
@patjewell
@ngoenyi

Sort:  
 8 months ago 
Club Status#Club5050
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
Voting CSI15.1 ( 0.41 % self, 179 upvotes, 130 accounts, last 7d )
Steemladies0%
Burnsteem250%
AI contentHuman
Word count786
MOD's Observations/suggestions

Very well written. Thank you very much for participating in the contest.

Vote @pennsif.witness for growth across the Steemit platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high yield developments with the resources available. Vote here

 8 months ago 

Aww!! @fortwiz09 is this challenge still on, very interesting topic and your story good too, let me tighten up my belt and come join the trend, thanks for the invitation.Keep up

 8 months ago 

Yes it happens weekly, thanks for going through my post. Can't wait to see your entry.

 8 months ago 

Hello, @patjewell please view my post.

 8 months ago 

Congratulations!
Your post is nominated by Steem For Ladies for booming vote.
The community where the Steemian ladies can be free to express themselves, be creative, learn from each other, and give support to their fellow lady Steemians.
"Only posts that are original, adhere to the rules, and are not cross-posted are nominated. If approved, you will receive an upvote within the next few days."

Good luck!
@vishwara

 8 months ago 

Thank you for sharing taking part in this weeks contest and for sharing your "rabbit" post.
It was such a nice post to read and then it had this terrible ending. I can understand that it took you sometime to get over their death.
I hope that one day you will play it forward and also get rabbits for your children. (•ิ‿•ิ)

Good luck with the contest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68225.97
ETH 3275.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66