The Dairy Game: My garri processing day 2, 2nd May, 2024.

in Steem For Ladies2 months ago (edited)

IMG_20240426_090751_706.jpg

INTRODUCTION

Good day wonderful steemians. I trust that all is going on well with you guys and that you're having a wonderful day. Well if you ask me, am doing really great.

Morning Activity

I woke up early this time around at exactly 4:50am. Reluctantly went to brush my teeth, got myself ready for morning prayers. Didn't want mom's wrath again, at least not this early. I deliberately woke up early so that I will be the one to begin the morning prayers. Came out of my room, turned on all the lights in the parlour, got the prayer table set and I stated singing praises and clapping so loud that everyone would wake up at the sound of it. This made me happy cause at least I kept everyone on their toes. Funny enough my mom came out more than ten minutes late and made excuse for not attending devotion and so took permission to be absent.

I was pained cause if I had done exactly what she did, she would say I have started growing wings to be flouting her rules in the house. Anyway, since I was used to this already I was not so pained, so I decided to lead in the devotional.

IMG-20240402-WA0004.jpg

After the corporate prayers, I went back to sleep a bit since my mom wasn't awake yet cause I was still very tired from yesterday's farm work. I woke up by some few minutes past 7:00am feeling really hungry but food wasn't ready either. So I decided to make do with golden morn and I went off to peel cassava. Let me show you how to peel cassava as the next step for processing garri.

IMG_20240412_202659_424.jpg

But before I begin showing you how to peel cassava, I was told food was ready. Guess what the food was, Beans and pap, like whaaat!!! Do this people want me to sleep while peeling cassava. I didn't feel like eating my beans as porridge, so I decided to buy akara (beans cake) to eat with custard. This custard was giving men!!! To crown it all, I poured some liquid peak milk on it to make it have delicious taste with some sugar of course.

Afternoon Activity: Step two of the garri processing

IMG_20240426_084733_620.jpg

Peeling off the skin of the cassava might be a little tasky because the cassava has two layers before getting to the main body. Most people often make mistakes of peeling only the first layer which is not right. You will need just knife for this process and the knife must not be that sharp if you are doing this for the first time if not you might have a cut. You don't necessarily need gloves for this process.

To peel the cassava, you put one cassava tubers in your right hand, grab the body in a slant position, with a knife in your right hand, try peeling off the skin as if you want to slice it. Being careful not to cut the main body much. This might take a whole day depending on the amount of cassava you have. Mine took some hours cause we were a little bit more in number.

After the peeling comes the washing of the peeled cassava with clean water without soap. Please soap is not needed maybe with a homemade sponge made from a sack bag. Wash them clean and bag then too getting it ready for grinding. You need to take it to a grinding mill for grinding and this will lead us to the next step.

IMG_20240505_134235_073.jpg

We couldn't finish peeling the cassava as it much and it was already getting dark. You may ask how plenty it was, well it was 10 bags of cassava, each bag was a 50kg bag. So you can imagine how plenty that was. It was just small left so we all retired till the next day, so I went in to take dinner.My dinner was simple, just sipped garri with chocolat, groundnuts and sugar, it's my favorite dessert. It was my turn to shut down the kitchen so I began to clean the kitchen immediately as they had concluded cooking for the day early enough.

When I was done with this, I went straight to my mom told I had shut down every where, shut down is a regular terminology in our house, and headed straight to my room. I reluctantly showered and throw myself on the bed and off I slept off like a baby.

CONCLUSION

To be continued tomorrow. Do well to follow through this process. Thanks guys and byeeee!!!.

Sort:  
 2 months ago 

Hello friend, it seems you had a very busy day Because peeling cassava is not easy at all, we also have a cassava farm and we do garri once in a while but it's very stressful.

Na who chop dey do work oh 😄 so you ate wonderful meal and your day was wonderful.

Looking forward to read more of your blog, greetings dear friend 😊

 2 months ago 

Greetings to you too. Thank you so much for reading my post, it's an honor. I won't disappoint you on my next post.

This post has been upvoted through Steemcurator09


Newcomer Team Curation Guidelines For March 2024
Curated by @fombae

Note:

 2 months ago 

Thank you very much. I have joined those groups already and it's my pleasure to be a member.

 2 months ago (edited)
Estado del club#noclub
Exclusivo de Steem
Libre de plagio
Sin bots
Votación CSI[? ] (? ] ( 0.00 % self, 1 upvotes, 1 accounts, last 7d)
Damas de Steem0%
Burnsteem25
Contenido de IAHumano
Recuento de palabras727

Saludos amiga gracias por compartir tu diario con nosotros, wow que dia iniciaste muy temprano, pero eso es demasiada yuca por cierto se como retirar la piel de este tubérculo pero además de eso suelo consumirla mucho sancochada, es decir se coloca agua a hervir y se prepara alli es muy deliciosa. Tuviste un dia de trabajo. Te sugiero utilizar las etiquetaspara los diarios que son #thediarygame #betterlife #lifestyle

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67538.43
ETH 3518.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81