The Diary Game #38: Share your day with us! My garri processing day 1, 1st May, 2024.

in Steem For Ladies2 months ago (edited)

INTRODUCTION
Greetings to all the wonderful, amazing and talented steemians. I trust that you all are doing very well today. I wish you all a happy week ahead. As for me, am doing just fine.

Morning Activity

The alarm rang at exactly 5:00am in the morning, I reluctantly pulled myself up from my bed and turned off the alarm. I made attempt to lay back on the bed and continue my interesting dream which I left halfway, I heard my mom's room door open and close immediately. I jumped up from the bed with immediate effect because it was like I had heard the trumpet sound I wasn't ready for.

I quickly entered the bathroom to brush and washed my face. I was so much in a haste cause I was five minutes late for morning prayers and if I dare linger around any longer, I would be ten minutes late which will land me into serious trouble with my mom. I mean who likes to be scolded early in the morning, well I don't like it at all and certainly not from my mom.

Having said that, I still went ten minutes late to morning prayers and my mom sent me back to my room. And the reason is usually that our God is not a God of lateness and that we come to worship God not man. I just knew what awaits me after the corporate prayers was concluded, which was just for an hour. She called me out and repeated those same words she did everytime I came out late for prayers.

I went back to my room with mood swing to prepare for farm. We had plan to go to the farm the previous day to harvest cassava for processing garri. We don't eat to the farm so we set out to the farm as early as 7:00am.

Afternoon Activity: Step one of garri processing

IMG_20240429_162742_542.jpg

Most Nigerians eat garri without knowing how it is processed. I just want to show you all how Cassava is processed into garri, the popular garri every Nigerians know of. I will begin from the very first step of getting the cassava from the farmland till the final step in which the processed Garri can be eaten in different form or prepared into different Nigerian delicacy. Most Nigerians eat prepared garri but do not know how it is processed. Come closer if you are in this category of Nigerians. As for Non- Nigerians, this process is not difficult at all, just follow the steps and boom! You are done. Please follow me through these steps. Let's go guys.

IMG_20240425_093712_619.jpg

So you start by getting the planted cassava from the farmland by simply uprooting it with the stem. You do this by first cutting short the stem to a reasonable length, then grab the stem close to the root for easy uprooting. I usually prefer to wear gloves for this process as my delicate palms can grow blisters in no time. Please note that it's not surgical gloves but a work-tool gloves like the ones I wore in the picture above.

After uprooting the cassava, detach it from the stem or separate it from the stem. We all know that the root of the cassava stem is the main cassava itself so, it's the root we are after but not the stem. The stem is only needed during planting season. After separating the cassava from the stem, repeat the same process for all the cassava stands untill you have uprooted all the cassava from the plot you intended to cover.

Gather all your cassava tubers together and begin to put them in a bag big enough to contain what you have like I did in the picture. We got ten bags of cassava. Then you are done with the first step.

Evening/ Night Activity

IMG_20240505_134123_507.jpg

We came back quite late in the evening hungry, tired and exhausted. All I wanted to hear at this point was food, food and food. I didn't bother to shower first, I made my way to the kitchen and made garri to eat with the atama soup we cooked the previous day. I ate to my satisfaction then went to my room, showered and Slept off immediately like a luck of wood not minding that the time was just past 7:34pm cause I was exhausted.

That was how I spent my exhausting day. See you guys in my next episode of how to process garri. Byeeeee!!!

Sort:  
 2 months ago 

It is my desire to go to the farm this month to help process garri.

Reading your post gave me an idea, I need gloves! I will do well to confirm the price at the market and make plans towards it.

 2 months ago 

Thanks a lot for reading my post. Am happy to help

 2 months ago 

My dear this economy has really thought us on how to be hard working.i did my garri last three weeks and up till now am still enjoying it.
Keep it up!

 2 months ago 

Thank you very much ma. I really appreciate your kind gesture and that of @newekemini5 for helping me through this process.

 2 months ago 
Estado del club#noclub
Exclusivo de Steem
Libre de plagio
Sin bots
Votación CSI[? ] (] ( 0.00 % self, 1 upvotes, 1 accounts, last 7d)
Damas de Steem0%
Burnsteem25
Contenido de IAHumano
Recuento de palabras751

Saludos gracias por compartir tu diario con nosotros, sin duda es un dia donde te costo levantarte pero el deber llama, la adoración a Dios es algo sumamente maravilloso e importante para nuestras vidas, por cierto conozco de la yuca y aquí en Venezuela la consumimos mucho, pero eso de garri lo desconozco en su totalidad, lo bueno que tuviste un dia de actividad y al llegar a casa a descansar, se puede decir hogar dulce hogar.

 2 months ago 

Welcome to Steem For Ladies! 💕
We trust that you will enjoy posting in our community.

 2 months ago 

Thank you very much
I really appreciate your kind gesture.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59715.05
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42