Choices! What Will It Be? #41

in Steem For Ladies6 months ago (edited)
GREETINGS

Hello there, my fellow steemit friends. Hope we all are having a wonderful time. In my article today, I will be taking part in a contest titled "Choices, what will it be". Under this contest, I will be talking about snacks.

Introduction

Pixabay
eating-601581_640.jpg

Snacks is a small amount of food that is not eaten during regular meal time. This implies that snacks are eaten between meals. Snacks comes in varieties of different forms. Snacks can be fruits, packaged or processed foods, etc. Examples of some common snacks are; biscuits, chips, beverages, popcorn, bread, ice cream, meats, peanuts, etc.

Pixabay
popcorn-731053_640.jpg

Processed snacks food are designed to be satisfying, less perishable, durable and portable than preserved food. Snacks are consumed round the whole world. In my community, people call snacks fast food because it is easy to get. Snacks foods are sometimes healthy to the human body, sometimes they are harmful as well. Snacks with little or less nutritional value are regarded as junk foods which do not contribute to our general health.

Role Of Snacks In Our Daily Lives

Snacks play a vital role in our society today. A lot of people find themselves in places where they can't cook and all they would do is to get some snacks which would satisfy them for the mean time. As a student, snacks has helped me a lot in school. If by any chance I become hungry, me and my friends will go and get some snacks to eat.

Pixabay
french-fries-1851143_640.jpg

A lot of people know snacks as a life saver. It helps reduce hunger for a while. It doesn't give that satisfaction a real food should gives. This is because they are light foods.

Snacks are consumed on a daily basis. I can remember when me and my mom travelled from Akwa Ibom State to Lagos State. It was a one day journey. Everyone inside the vehicle became hungry. The driver had to park his at an unknown junction. Everyone went out to get some snacks to eat. I remember my mom buying me some plantain chips, doughnuts and soft drink. She bought her own as well. Everyone traveling bought their snacks as well. That was what I ate till we reached Lagos State at midnight. I write down this experience to show us how snacks can save a person from anything bad, be it fainting, dizziness, headache, etc.

Pixabay
bread-2532192_640.jpg

I love snacks but I love food more. I eat doughnuts a lot in school because it gives me strength and energy. People who engage themselves in hard labour work such as bricklaying, painting, motor repairs, welding, farming, etc uses snacks while working, so as to regard strength to do their work. In my state, snacks are everywhere. People sell it on the streets, roadsides, shops, school, church premises, etc.

Benefits Of Eating Snacks

Pixabay
apple-15687_640.jpg

  • Snacks provides a boost of energy.
  • Snacks such as fresh fruits and nuts provides extra nutrients to our body.
  • Snacks helps those (Sick people) who don't have the appetite to eat food.
  • Snacks helps to maintain adequate nutrition.
Snacks And Our General Health

Excess consumption of snacks is not good for the body. Snacks contains excess carbohydrates, harmful fats and sugar. This can result in obesity related diseases such hypertension, diabetes, etc . We should try to prevent snacks that are high in sugar and fat because they are low in nutrients.
Let's us try to consume snacks like fruits, nuts, cheese, whole grain crackers and snacks that are low in sugar and fat. Let us also try to prevent junk foods because they are harmful to the human body.

Conclusion

Thank you all for reading my post. I want to say a very big thank you to steem Ladies for bringing up such a wonderful contest. Thanks to @patjewell for this contest. Please do well to drop a comment in the comments section. I want to invite @yhudy, @goodybest and @ngoenyi to take part in this contest.

Thank you all

Cc
@bossj23

Sort:  
Loading...
 6 months ago 

Everything looks delicious, now I'm in the mood for sandwiches.
Good thing you made the remark that it is not very healthy to eat too many sweet snacks, not too spicy either.
I enjoyed reading your post, very refreshing.

You've given a detailed explanation on what snacks really is. Sometimes I imagine a world without snacks. People would be damn suffering of ulcer because snacks is something that can be taken anytime and anywhere in any position unlike food. Wishing you best of luck in this contest

 6 months ago 

We bring snacks with us on picnics because they help us reduce our hunger.

 6 months ago 

As students, snacks plays a role in our journey right from when we started.

I feel like we are naturally wired to observe break time where we crave snacks and even when we become workers and adults, there is this notification in our system, break time! 😂

 6 months ago 

Oh yes! Snacks can be healthy and also so healthy.
Sometimes we need those not so healthy snacks.

Thank you for entering this week!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68220.71
ETH 3321.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74