Tell your story#8(Me in church)

in Steem For Ladies2 days ago

Hello Steemians, it's your girl @echuku, I believe you are all doing fine.

I am so delighted to participate in this beautiful contest in the Steem For Ladies Community which talked about "Tell Your Story" by @ruthjoe, thank you so much ma for always organizing amazing contests in this noble community. It is my pleasure to drop my entry and I do hope that you all will enjoy my post.

My story goes like this

IMG_20240721_093205_848.jpg

There was one certain Saturday when I traveled to Makurdi, the capital of Benue for a special assignment from my place of work, so the next day was Sunday and as a Christian, I needed to go to church.

I asked some around if there was a Catholic Church because I and a bonified Roman Catholic Church member, so they directed me to one particular Catholic Church"St Francis Catholic Church Makurdi"

I also asked about the mass section and they told me that the mass is two sections, there is a mass from 6:00 am to 8:30 am and there is one from 9:00 am to 11:30 am and I decided to go to the 9:00 am section.

When I got to the church, I experienced the first new thing in my life, I am an indigene of Nasarawa state, and in my place, men of God normally use general language to preach, e.g English language or Hausa language, so everyone including the visitors can understand the word of God the priest is preaching.

IMG_20240721_093054_623.jpg

So, my experience was that the church priest used the Tiv tribe all through to preach, to the extent that I as a Catholic member was lost, I was not able to understand what was going on in the church.

My inability of me not understand what the church priest was saying made me feel very bored and strange in the Roman Catholic Church because I have never in my life experienced such kind of thing.

Thank God for the Catholic Missal that I have on my phone because I wasn't able to buy the bulletin because they only sell their Tiv tribe bulletin. So, I went through the Catholic Missal which is comprised of all the daily Catholic church activities, read the Bible, and tried to understand it by myself.

At this point, I was no longer interested in staying in the church up to closing time but I was left with no choice but to stay till the closing time because it is very wrong for a person to leave the Church if it's not yet closing hour.

So, I stayed in the church to the closing hour and since then, I promised never to attend that Church again because I did not see the essence of going to a Church and I didn't understand what the church priest was saying.

When I got home, I complained to one of the Tiv girls around the area about my experience in the church and she said that that is how they normally preach in most of the Churches in Makurdi, she also told me that I should not worry that she is also a Roman Catholic member and there is a Roman Catholic church inside Makurdi town that they also have two mass section, 6:00 am to 8:00 am and 8:00 am to 10:00 am, that 6:00 am mass is English section and 8:00 am is Tiv section, that the next coming Sunday, she will take me their.

IMG_20240804_081538_844.jpg

It was another Sunday, I woke up around 5:00 am, dressed up, and went to meet the lady who promised to take me to a different Roman Catholic where the parish priest preached in English, I met her and we went to the church.

Immediately I got to the church when I heard the parish priest speaking in the English language, I was so amazed, I felt like I was in heaven, I felt at home because that's exactly how our parish church priest preach in my hometown.

Finally, I enjoyed how the church priest preached.

Thank you all for your usual support, love, and time that you have dedicated to reading my post. I love you all❤

I want to invite @vickyson and @goodybest and to join me in this amazing contest.

Sort:  
 2 days ago 

Hola mi linda sabes me dio un poco de risa leer tu historia es que te imaginaba en esa iglesia viendo a todo mundo sin poder entender nada.

Que bueno pudiste investigar en otro lugar y para el próximo domingo lograr ir con tu amiga a esa iglesia donde se habla el idioma de tu corazón.

Nutrirnos con la palabra de Dios es lo máximo pero cuando se va al lugar apropiado, sino perdemos el tiempo.

Me agrado leer tu historia.

Club Status#club5050
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
Voting CSI20.6 ( 0.00 % self, 107 upvotes, 82 accounts, last 7d )
Steemladiessteemladies: 10.00%
Burnsteem25
AI contentHuman
MOD's Observations/suggestions

Thank you for participating…..

Vote @pennsif.witness for growth across the Steemit platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high yield developments with the resources available. Vote here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59022.17
ETH 2569.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53