Photo of the Week Contest 03 | Sharing my best Photo of the Week" (30/3/2024)

in Steem For Ladies3 months ago

INTRODUCTION

Hello Steemians, I'm here to join in the contest of photo of the week. So I had been planning to visit a friend's village for long and due to work, I was unable to, but since it was Easter holiday, I used the opportunity to achieve things I wasn't able to during the work period.

PHOTOS OF THE WEEK

I started my journey from Uyo at about 12pm and the journey took about 45 minutes. We arrived at the village and met some people we were supposed to, but my friend's mother wasn't around but she later came back and received us with joy. I was even asked to changed from my travelling clothes into something casual but I refused because I needed to go back in some hours. In the compound, there were all kinds of vegetables planted and fruits of all sorts. First, we were given apple fruits, then my friend's mother offered us tea and bread. It was after eating she let us know she wanted to prepare pumpkin soup and I decide to help her in some things.

PUMPKIN SOUP

Pumpkin soup is one of the delicacies in Akwa Ibom State, Nigeria. The ingredients are pumpkin leaf, water leaf, stock fish, kpomo, that is cow skin, periwinkle, crayfish, oil, Maggi and water. So I picked the vegetable and water leaf, washed it and shredded or cut it for her while she cooked. In the village, the major means of cooking is by firewood. When she finished, she prepared garri, that is swallow made with cassava and we ate to our satisfaction.

IMG_20240330_135940_246.jpg

IMG_20240330_140002_070.jpg

IMG_20240330_140010_438.jpg

IMG_20240330_153539_110.jpg
After cutting the leaves

PALM KERNEL SEEDS

My friend's parents have a large farmland where they harvest palm kernel from. The palm tree is very good because all parts of the tree is useful, the leaves, the seeds, the water etc. So palm kernel is usually harvested and processed into palm oil and sold. Now, when the seeds are processed into palm oil, apart from the red oil which is removed from the seeds, the seeds itself has another oil that can be made into vegetable oil or even engine oil, Abd also other medicinal oil. The seeds can also be eaten. The shell of the seeds is sold or used to ignite fire while cooking, so in their verandah and at the backyard, they had processed the palm kernel and kept there, it was really much and when I asked questions, I was told that it would soon be taken to the mill to make into oil.

IMG_20240330_135334_568.jpg
Palm kernel to be processed into palm oil

I also saw something I had never seen in my life before, beehive. I was told bees live there and they make honey. Before now, I had never seen bee or where they live before, but in their backyard there was beehive and I could hear the murmering of the bees. I went to take a shot but was warned not to go too close lest I got stung. It was nice seeing bees from afar for the first time and I was told the extraction of the honey takes place at night and when there is no moon, that one needs to cover up from head to toe to be able to extract the honey.

IMG_20240330_160407_298.jpg
The beehive

IMG_20240330_171838_617.jpg
Palm kernel shell used to ignite fire or as firewood.

I invite @Yucee
@Victorlives
@bela90 to join in this contest.

Sort:  
 3 months ago 

Thank you for tagging me I feel so honored and I'll definitely honour your invitation and participate.
This is quite amazing and interesting and wow I'm glad I stopped by to read

 3 months ago 

Thank you. Wish you the best.

Club Status#Club75
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
Voting CSI21.7 ( 0.00 % self, 108 upvotes, 91 accounts, last 7d )
Steemladies0%
Burnsteem250%
AI contentHuman
Word count578
MOD's Observations/suggestions

Thank you for sharing your wonderful routine with us. Honey is very useful for us.

Vote @pennsif.witness for growth across the Steemit platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high yield developments with the resources available. Vote here

 2 months ago 

Your photos are really interesting, ma. From the cooking of Edikan Ikong soup(a very delicious delicacy) to seeing something new;the beehive. I would love to also see what a beehive looks like physically and to observe how the bees behave also.
All the best, ma.

 2 months ago 

Thank you. You can only observe the bee from a distance

 2 months ago 

I didn't know that pumpkin leaves can be used to make such a tasty soup and it is clearly visible how tasty it will be because you have a lovely smile on your face when you are separating the leaves from the pumpkin stalks. You have also shown how palm oil is extracted. It is really a best photo.
Have a nice day

 2 months ago 

Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65053.86
ETH 3538.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39