You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why do Steemians use “plagiarism”?

Points 1 and 2 - I would not break it down. What does unintentional plagiarism mean? These are the excuses of a fraudster.

But self-plagiarism is an interesting topic.

Even the authors of books, articles in magazines, and newspapers often use the material they have already written earlier. Even in films, we can find references to previous films of the author and director.

For example, I showed a photo from my trip to an interesting place. After a while, I was going to write a big article about this place and used a previously published photo in my work. I can't call it plagiarism. This is my photo, I can use it in different places. For example, show it on social networks or some special photo pages on the Internet. And they will tell me on Steemit - you are a plagiarist. This is not very correct on the part of Steemit. This is a kind of restriction of my freedom. But I understand that there is such a rule and I have to agree with it. Or I need to leave.

Sort:  
 last year 

Talking about self plagiarism, I agree with you, if I have a photo or an artwork I did it's mine and I can publish in more posts and platforms. The point is, when I enter a contest, for example, and the rules says "original content" I should use a new content following the rules. Also If I use the tag "steemexclusive" is intended for original and new content.

On the other hand I see many posts with the same content cross posted in some communities and sometimes they are curated with upvotes by the same moderator that post the rules "only original and new content" , so I think it is not fair to those who follow the rules. There are many communities where these rules are not enforced so everybody can post there.

Yes, you're right. If there is a requirement of the organizer of the contest that there should be new material and a new photo, then it should be new.
Another thing is, if I write a free post, without any contests, then I can use any material for these purposes.
Admittedly, moderators and curators often use the rules to their advantage. But this is familiar to me in real life. Curators are also just people.

 last year 

CC @emmawalt

Hi, you two!

I left your comments unanswered as I wanted to see if any moderators or curators will jump on board. It was not the case.

My viewpoint;

  1. Follow the rules as you have said
  2. The job of moderators and curators is not easy. That I can assure you of. With engagement challenges, you often sit with 20+ posts in one day and I do think that things will be overlooked. As @apnigrich said, they are also human.
  3. It is impossible to keep track of what Steemians have written especially if they write a post a day. To go back to search for specific posts is not easy. A good suggestion to the developers might be to add it to the platform so that you can search on a specific Steemian via a topic or words.
  4. Stand up and ask. If you are not happy with a verification it is your right to ask. If it is done in the correct manner and "voice" it might just get that answer you are looking for. (•ิ‿•ิ)

Good luck!

 last year 

hi @patjewell Thank you for your answer! Of course, I'm not referring to all the posts accross steemit, it would be impossible, and I also understand that curators are not detectives, nor would I want to have a police service that checks the posts :D

But if a person, posts several times over the course of a week the same photos turned around in 2 or 3 communities and sometimes in the same community (!) catch the eye. It is more difficult to discover a copied text, but the photos are too evident :D

As you said one day the developers could come up with something about it.

After all, not all communities are the same, in fact, some are more successful and attract more people, others less ... and this really depends on how they are managed and how moderators guide users.

I wander around once in a while, I like exploration, but then I come back to a small group of communities that I like and feel good in, including @Steemladies

In general, I personally have nothing to complain about the curation of my posts accross Steemit, I'm getting a lot of support, booming votes and sometimes I even win contests, so I'm happy about that! :D

 last year 

Whoop whoop! It so nice that you mention Steem for Ladies. Thank you! I'm sure my friend @liasteem will also enjoy it.

Hopefully we can add you to our moderator training program in the near future. You will be the perfect candidate. (•ิ‿•ิ)

👍👍👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64385.10
ETH 3209.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49