You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bonus questions

in SteemLeo5 years ago

"The problem is that the feeling of winning is addictive, even if the cost of winning is more than the value of the prize." How very true this statement is. Society in general teaches us that winning at any cost is alright. Even with some people having reached the top of the mountain, winning at any cost is still their goal. To cheat, steal, lie, and crush those in their way while in pursuit of victory doesn't phase them at all.
People have changed so much during my life time. It is now a meme society. With personal characteristics like being humble or empathetic, taking a back seat to immoral behaviors, a dark cloud is gaining on all society.
Don't get me wrong, with everything I choose to do I want to be successful. But, when all is said and done, I would prefer to have not accomplished my goal rather than denigrate my personal standards.
Looking at the big picture and setting long term goals helps one to avoid the roller-coaster ride that always comes when perusing something worth accomplishing.

Sort:  

It is now a meme society.

Damn straight. Due to the polarization and lack of nuance, I feel like we are living a caricature of life in a bad play with poor direction. All of life might be a stage, but it seems to be of high school production quality and performed by slow learners.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 68665.88
ETH 2524.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53