You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem: Scalability before scaling

in SteemLeo4 years ago

Shutting this off and being away for a few months gives me a unique perspective. This environment is always evolving. Returning now, I feel like a noob. A noob with coming on four years experience.

Take the cross posting for instance. I don't know why that exists. I don't know what it does. I don't see any value at all in a post with a sentence and a link, yet the post is rewarded, and sometimes quite a bit. What am I missing? What is giving that simple post value? What do people see in it? A few months ago, if someone were to post a sentence and link, they might decline rewards. Also, for years, posting something like that was a surefire way to alienate your following. This post of yours triggered these thoughts of mine now. Is there anything you can tell me about these posts?

There's actually quite a bit about this place now that is confusing to me. Willing to learn of course.

Sort:  

I think that auto votes contribute to the overly high votes for seemingly small and insignificant posts.

After the last hard fork and the 50:50 split, users became more focused on curation so setting up auto votes for your fav Steemians around the 5 min mark became common. This has the adverse effect of over-rewarding some posts due to the automated voting.

Posted using Partiko Android

Automatic votes have always been around. Typically, when you've gained the trust of someone willing to vote automatically, the last thing you're to do is abuse that vote. Right now, I could post five junk posts within an hour, and probably receive a nice pay day... but then all of those years of working towards that trust is gone and they'd most likely stop voting altogether. It's like living with people. Just because someone leaves a twenty dollar bill on the table, that doesn't mean it's there for the taking. I don't mind when folks autovote. Those curation rewards are there for the taking, plus they can visit the post on their schedule. I think it's a good thing, but takes a lot of discipline.

You're probably right though. The simple post gets autovoted, and the one who cross posted has to look at those rewards and maybe feel a bit silly for taking that approach. Live and learn, right? How things were done before and how they're done now will clash until folks find that balance again. I'd prefer to see those post rewards declined but that's just my view.



@stevelivingston you have received 25 ENGAGE from @tarazkp!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

With cross posting feature you can post one single post into more than one Communities
Because of this you don't have to post same content again, any one can click on the link and get the see the original full post

Please anyone correct me if I am wrong

One should be able to select from a list of communities before publishing. Write your post, add your images, tag it, select which communities you'd prefer the post exist within, then hit post. Simple.

I think we can not post in more than one Communities at a time currently

I had a strong feeling people wouldn't want to sacrifice potential eyes on their work for the sake of being organized, so of course they'll want to be in more than one place at a time. That's why Tribes were a hit. One post in multiple places means more potential viewers. Selecting categories or communities before hitting 'post' would be the way to go. So much simpler and Tribes already proved it worked.

I agreed with you

Yes, but it will get rewarded twice. For those who constantly crosspost their own content, I am more likely to flag all of them.

Good point it's not come in my mind
Its means cross posting feature have no value or use case

A noob with coming on four years experience.

Glad my name isn't four years experience

Crossposting is just getting started and likely going to get abused y some. However, for example if I find content I really want to reward as well as I can, I can crosspost it into a community and it will count as "my own" meaning it will get the benefit of my autos. However, 90% will go to the original author, 5% to me for the share, 5% to the community it is crossposted to. That incentivizes sharing beyond the curation mechanism for those who do have a following, but not a lot of SP.

For those who abuse it (I will likely say there will be a few large accounts crossposting their alt content to their own to doubledip), they will get flagged and hopefully lose their autovoters trust. That is a good thing too. I won't crosspost my own unless there is some very good reason to, but, I want people to know that if I do crosspost someone else's content, they can trust it is worthy of at least the rewards they would give me.

For those who are short of content, they can bump other people a lot and get them reward and exposure to new communities and eyes and still take a small slice for themselves as well as get some support for the communities they enjoy. The feature is evolving and there is a long way to go.

Shortly after I came here I had a look at my feed, because that's what I always do, and someone had published a post about a community, then minutes later cross posted that post into the actual community they were writing about. Of course both posts had nearly the same amount of value. Of course the second one was slightly lower because the first instance sucked out some of that precious voting power. Needless to say, that's when I shut this off and went for a walk.

I read your post about this. There are things I can add in the 'pro' department, and quite a few for the 'con' section. I want to keep much of this to myself though and in time I'll should be able to develop a rational stance. I don't want to be the guy yelling at the clouds, especially if there's something I've missed.

Shortly after I came here I had a look at my feed, because that's what I always do, and someone had published a post about a community, then minutes later cross posted that post into the actual community they were writing about.

There are quite a few well-intentioned folk who didn't realize what was going to happen when they cross-posted, they thought it was just going to appear in the community, not create a new post. Learning curve issues.

There are things I can add in the 'pro' department, and quite a few for the 'con' section.

Definitely. However, this is the first iteration and given the chance to evolve, it might be great. Or not, but we have suffered worse perhaps :)

I've come to realize a lot of folks made a few innocent mistakes. We have to learn somehow. And honestly, if there are actual, serious, problems... I think it's fair to say we all got sick of that long ago and won't wait so long to address them. This won't be another paid votes fiasco.

I m hoping that for those who do abuse it, there will be swift consequences. I am fine to let the first error ride :)

Ya man, just be cool.

!ENGAGE 20



@nonameslefttouse you have received 20 ENGAGE from @tarazkp!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

Milking the pool?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64269.87
ETH 3393.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48