Do you spend Steem Offline?

in SteemLeo5 years ago

Earlier today while I was sitting on the shitter, the place where most great ideas are born, the question on the title popped into my head. The question came due to the fact that I have been blogging my ass off for a couple of months to buy a new phone because my current one has become obsolete (after using it for 2 years and 6 months), very frustratingly slow, and is always whining about its low memory and storage space.
spending Steem.jpg
edited from here

I'm not fortunate to be on any sugar daddy's auto vote list, so it means I have to work extra hard for votes and to everyone who likes my posts, I thank you. However, I hate the fact that after doing so much hard labour to save this Steem, I have to convert it to Fiat before I spend it.

If the ultimate goal is mass adoption and promotion of cryptocurrency and blockchain, I think there ought to be more done about promotion and attention given to businesses that accept Steem and by extension, cryptocurrency around here.

Spending steem for idea.png
edited from here

I've been marketing and promoting Steem for as long as I've been on the platform and despite the difficulties, I relish the challenge. All I'm saying is, we need to promote spending Steem as Steem, rather than converting to fiat first. When people see that you can buy coffee or a pack of condoms by leveraging the swift transaction speed of this blockchain, they'd start asking questions. Then you can hit them with the "I joined for free and earned it through blogging" kick.

In Nigeria for example, I only know of one or maybe two platforms that I can loosely say offers service and accepts Steem. They're not necessarily offline and are in fact an exchange but from them, you can buy airtime, pay electricity and cable subscriptions.

image.png

These guys are an exchange and as I said, they're not even "offline" but at least through them, Steem gets into the market. I'm more interested in more holistic approaches to spending Steem offline and I believe this will have a positive effect on Steem as a whole.

Do you know other businesses that accept Steem offline or directly for a service offline?


Posted via Steemleo | A Decentralized Community for Investors
Sort:  

You would need to come to Guatemala, but I have been accepting steem as payment for years, for sleeping in hostel or food.

So far 6 people have used steem through hosteldellago.com

Wow that's really cool and the type of adoption I'm looking forward to experiencing in Nigeria. Great work Butty

Well, I once sent some steem to renew an online service and once to buy some silver coins. Other than that, I am using it to buy other coins, mainly bat these days...


Posted via Steemleo | A Decentralized Community for Investors

Fair point. I think I'll buy some BAT soon. Do you trade or just hodl

i am occasionally swinging a few coins everytime it breaks the 3k satoshis, but I have a feeling this is going to be the last time it does so I won't.

Oh well, we'll just observe

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

I find it really hard to spend it even online. I Wonder if there is already some Application Like redbubble or society6 on the steem platform. I think that would be a good way to incentivize the use of steem.
For offline use here in Italy is mostly absent as far I know

Posted using Partiko Android

yeah and that's the issue with most cryptocurrencies. If we spend them physically, people outside will start looking in

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62094.48
ETH 2416.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56