Steemalive Presents ProWriters Hub w2- When I grow up - What happened to that childhood career dream? by @yuceetoria

in SteemAlive2 years ago (edited)

1658320329674.jpg
Image Source

When you were a child, which career did you dream to become (e.g when I grow up, I will be a doctor)?

When I grow up, I will become a teacher like my mother. Those were the words you would hear me say. Them I loved speaking, teaching know new around me one or two things, but as I grew up so did these dreams grow up with me and changed.
After a while, I decide that it was a lawyer that I wanted to be, then I would never agree to a thing,I would argue until the other person concedes to the argument in my favour. My family members started calling me a lawyer.

Are you in that career now or did you change it? What happened?

Change is constant. From teaching to being a lawyer, I didn't become any of these things. As I grew, I became closed in, kept to myself and shy most of the times. I didn't like talking to many people. Coupled with the way government treats teachers,using my state as a case study. Once, in Abia State, the government withheld the salary of teachers for at least 18 months. Thank God for mercies, I wonder how we would have survived. With the poor educational system that we have in Nigeria, everything is a mess, teaching being the most important job in the world.

My decision of being a lawyer was taken out of my hand when I didn't get admission after applying to the university for four times. I was frustrated with the system, wondering when I would finally be grateful admission. I stead of waiting for more years, I applied to study Mass communication at the Polytechnic. One of the best decisions that I have made.

Why do people change their childhood career dreams.

✔️ Financial constraints is one major reason why people change their dreams, some wished to be pilots, amongst others but that got detailed when you realise that the money is pursue this dream is too much, then they would have to settle for the one at hand.
✔️Bad government: Bad government can kill someone's dream, and Nigeria is not an exception. Currently, students are on strike since February, tell me if that is not enough to kill someone's spirit.
✔️Peer Pressure: So many people change their dreams because of their friends. When they see that their friends are doing a different career techy assume to be better, they quickly change course.

If you had an opportunity to pursue a different career, what will it be and why?

If I have the opportunity to pursue a different career, it would be a linguist. Because language is one of the things that bind Huma being together. I live languages, the ability for some foreign words to be put together to make meaning to a set of people.

When learning about language, it takes you into the the culture and norms of how those words were formed.

What role should parents play in helping their kids choose a career?

A parents role should be to gently nudge their child towards being a better version of themselves. Often, parents tend to push towards their child their own dreams and insecurities, making the child incapable of making a decision for themselves.
After my secondary, my mum made a career decision for me, to study accounting because I was good at maths. For a year, every maths was pushed to me, to study and prepare for the exams. I dreaded the exam, silently wishing that I don't get the accounting course in the university. In a way I was happy, that I wasn't given admission the gifts time I applied, because I don't know what I would have done.

Together with my elder siblings and I, we called the attention of my mum to this action, letting her know that accounting was not my dream course, that I couldn't maths as a main course studying it for 4 years, I told her it was likely that I would drop out of school because I might not get the grades to continue. It took a while but she finally understood that because it was what she studied in school does not mean that I get to do the same. Everyone, irrespective of gender or age should have the liberty of taking decisions in matters that concerns them.

If your child wants to pursue a different career from what you want, what will you do? Be detailed.

I would support them, every parent wants what is good for their children but not at the expense of their happiness. Whatever, my child wants to be and do, I will support, as long as it is not desire that would push them along the wrong path.

#lifestyle #prowrit-w2 #steemexclusive #club5050 #nigeria

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

When I was a child my dream career was to be a lawyer because I admire the way the dress and handle court proceedings but as I kept growing up, I decided to become a doctor but I wasn't able to gain admission into that field but currently am a dentist though medically related to the field I wanted.

Smiles, you wanted to be a lawyer because of their dressing. Thank God you discovered a course within your field.

 2 years ago 

Bad government can kill someone's dream, and Nigeria is not an exception. Currently, students are on strike since February, tell me if that is not enough to kill someone's spirit.

Is true oooo , like this ehhhhnnnnn I'm not even sure I'll start school this year anymore, planning to learn skill because ah don tire, the spirit don go down finish
Our government is not doing well at all😁😁

My dear, please learn a skill. Even if school resumes, you can use this skills to keep body and soul together.

Financial constraints is one major reason why people change their dreams, some wished to be pilots, amongst others but that got detailed when you realise that the money is pursue this dream is too much, then they would have to settle for the one at hand.

Is true ooo poverty has kill a lot of your talent kids dreams, and it’s my prayer that God should blessed every family with money and thank for sharing with us .

Poverty is bad, you can't do a lot of things you would wish for.

 2 years ago 

Lack if money and our Government is a contributing factor for millions of people not reaching their goals in life.
From your experience, one need to switch on something else immediately to live on.

Checking the rules

CriteriaRating
Club5050
Plagiarism-free✔️
SteemExclusive✔️
Bot-free✔️

Checking Post Quality

CriteriaRating
Compliance with Topic2/2.5
Use of Markdown1.5/2.5
Spelling and Grammar2/2.5
Content Depth2/2.5
Total7.5/10

Thank you ma'am for the @ijelady. Bad government has caused lots of people to change their course.

 2 years ago 

Yes my dear,it is good to always stay at your child's side whenever they want to do another things different from the one you have choose for them.
Because if you do not support them it may cause many problems in his career.

Yes, parents should help their kids but not force their opinions on them.

 2 years ago 

Yes dear,thank you for reading through my post.

 2 years ago 

The situation of our country is really affecting us in achieving our career choice. When you choose a career and your parents approve it as you grow the situation of the country might change it for you

Our government is something else. Thank you for reading through.

 2 years ago 

some of our childhood career dreams are supposed to be what we need to study but because of the situation of the country we changed to another cause.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84