Steemalive Presents ProWriters Hub W2: What is in a name- Local names and the act of naming by @yuceetoria

in SteemAlive2 years ago (edited)

A good name is more precious than riches , it takes into places money might not

1658183703325.jpg
Image Source

If there is anything that Nigerians are peculiar about, it is name-giving. Africans in general give special names relating to the situation surrounding the birth of a child. If moments leading to the delivery were tough or smooth, it will somehow reflect in the name the child would bear. It could be a family legacy, traditions, or customs. It could be the emotions the parents are feeling that would be used to name a child.

Your name is an official word that is given to a child as their identity. A name is your identity, it would be weird if you don't have a name and are only referred to as 'that man' or 'that boy'. Imagine walking and the next thing you hear is 'that man, how are you? 'that man, good morning'.

In the olden days, a child's naming ceremony is a big deal. A huge party would ever carried out after 8 to 10 days of birth depending on custom. Families and friends would gather to celebrate with the parents as the child is carried by the oldest person in the compound known as the Okpara, who would name the child with the names provided by the parents. The gods of the land would send a signal in form of thunder or lighting if the child is perceived to be great.

As an Igbo, some names are given based on their gender, the day and time of birth, social status, religion, or situation before the birth.

Naming via days

1658183674654.jpg
[Image Source](pixabay.net]

The Igbo have 4 market days: Eke, Orie, Afor, Nkwo
For girls:

  • Mgbeke (Girl born on Eke )
  • Mgbafo (Girl born on Afor )
  • Ekemma ( Eke market day is beautiful)
  • Aformma ( Afor market day is beautiful)

For Boys

  • Nweke ( A child born on Eke day)
  • Nwaoye ( A child born on Orie day)
  • Nwafor ( A child born on Afor day)
  • Okorie ( Boy of Orie)
  • Okonkwo ( Boy of Nkwo)
  • Okafor ( Boy of Afor)

Names given by situation.

For a pregnancy that took long to happen

  • Ndidiamaka ( Patience is good)
  • Ogechikamma ( God's time is best)

In the time of Old

  • Mgbenka ( Child born of old)

If the parents experience severe complications:

  • Imediegwu (Strange Birth): This is my mother's name. The story was that her mom carried her for 11-12 months before she came into the world.

When you are trusting God

  • Chinaza (God answers prayers)
  • Chinedum (God is guiding me)
  • Uchechikamma (God's will is the best)
  • Chikadibia (God is greater than other gods)

location of birth

  • Uzondu ( Road of life)
  • Osisioma: Beautiful trees.

Wealth

  • Egoamaka: Money is beautiful
  • Akuabata: Money has come to stay
  • Oriaku: Child who has come to enjoy.
  • Nwabuaku: Child who carries wealth.
  • Akubueze: Wealth is king

Child symbolizing greatness

  • Nwakaibeya: Child that is stronger than others
  • Agunwa: Child of a Tiger.
  • Onyeze: One who is king.

Religion

  • Onyinyechi: Gift from God
  • Nwachinyerem: A child that God gave me.
  • Kelechi: Thank God.
  • Chibuikem: God is my strength.
  • Chukwuebuka: God is mighty.
  • Chukwuemeka: God has done great things.
  • Chinenye: God gives.
  • Chinonso: God is near.

Order of seniority

  • Ada: The first daughter
  • Ulumma: Second daughter.

Reincarnation/Allegiance to your ancestors

  • Nnenna: Mother of my father.
  • Nnenne, often shortened to (Nene): Mother of my mother.
  • Nnanna: Father of my father.

To fight for death

  • Onwubiko: Death, I beg you.
  • Onwuebulam: Death should not kill me.
  • Ndukwe: If life agrees
  • Nduka: Life is greater.

For social status

  • Nwadike: Great child
  • Ikemefunam: May my strength not fail me.
  • Emenike: Take life gently
  • Nwannaya: Child of his father.

Names on proverbs

  • Nkemjika: 'The one I have is better' meaning you wished for another but are grateful for the one you got.
  • Uzuakpunma: Only God creates a child, not the goldsmith.
  • Ifeanyichukwu: There's nothing too hard for God to handle.

What is the meaning of my name?

My full name is Uchechukwu Odinma, which means the will of God is good in my life. My name strengthens me when I am going through a difficult time and it seems like nothing is working out for me.

What is my native name?

1658184885579.jpg

My native name is Ikodiya(Husband's pride) only dialect. It is given to me by my grandmother. As I grew up, I felt ashamed of the name because in the literal Igbo language, Iko-Cup and Diya-Husband (Husband's cup). My secondary classmates work tease me because of it and I would pick a fight with anyone of them. But as I grew, I realized that it was part of who I am, my identity.

Did you give yourself any name?

I gave myself the name Victoria because I didn't have any English name on my birth certificate.

How did I form my Steemit username?

Yuceetoria came from Uchechi and Victoria. The nickname for Uchechi is Yucee while I shortened Victoria to Toria hence the name yuceetoria.

A name is the first identity that a child is given, so as a parent, I advise that we choose carefully because it is a name that they would carry all their lives.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Wow,you have really made me understand the exact fill meaning if some of the words in Igbo.

Especially those names in proverb.

Thank you for this quality post.

 2 years ago 

Yes. Name really has an effect on a child's life. You really did well on explaining this topic

Yes, a child's name is very important. It sometimes affect their behaviour.

 2 years ago 

Wow you really went very far sourcing for the meanings of these names even their proverbial meanings, You be original Igbo, thanks for the lecture.

Thank you Ma, understanding the meaning of a name will make it mote easier to know why certain people act the way they do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98