Steemit Engagement Challenge Season 2 (Week 4) || The Worst day and the best day of my life - A true life story! By @yohan2on

in SteemAlive2 years ago

We all go through some experiences in life. Some come and we enjoy them while some come as life time lessons. Today I will share with you a true story of my best and worst day of my life.

I will start with the worst day of my life.
Recently, I shared with you how I found a hard time choosing which sport I wanted to take on. I had three sports at that time and loved all of them but was supposed to prioritize and go with one! I chose tennis and upto now, I don't regret because my father was a tennis legend. One of the greatest stars of his time.

Mr. Eric Ofoyuru is the name of my father. He was born and raised in Nebbi District. He started playing tennis at a tender age and this helped him become one of the great tennis players of his time. He played tennis not that he wanted to earn a living but because he was so passionate about it.

My dad would gladly give up on any other appointment as long as they were to interrupt with his tennis games. He trained day and night untill he fully mastered the game. In his early 20’s he had already become a tennis couch and trained both kids and adults

My dad got married and gave birth to two children, me and my sister Martha. He made sure we loved the game just like him. He trained us and we caught up so fast. We were able to join the national team and got scholarships because of the talent our dad had invested in us.

We traveled to different countries playing tennis but my dad travelled almost the whole world playing the sport. He went to Countries like Denmark, Germany, Spain, South Africa, All the East African countries, to mention but a few. He also won a lot of medals and trophies for himself as you can see in the family photo.

FB_IMG_1655880334257.jpg

All was well until my dad developed a strange illness. We tried out various hospitals to save his life but all in vain. His candle blew out on 1st August, 2006. The day we burried him was the worst day my life has ever faced🥺 I saw how all his talent and everything he worked hard for was being laid down in the world of the dead! It's at this point, I realized that the grave yard is the richest place on earth because it's there that all untold dreams, unshared visions, unexpressed talents and unachieved goals are burried .

I promised my dad that I will carry on his legacy and upto now I have never stopped playing tennis. Father wherever you are, just know you raised a strong son and you will forever live in me! I miss you daddy🥺

Here is the best day of my life!

Every child starts school at a tender age. Some children cry in the morning because they don’t want to wake up and go to school. Some just go because their parents told them to do so but in actual sense they be seeing no reason as to why they should go to school every morning. It's untill one grows up that they know that their parents were helping them lay a firm future foundation for themselves.

Screenshot_20220701-140354.jpg

My academic journey was a smooth one since I had scholarship due to my tennis talent. I never missed school any day because of tuition or any school requirements. I studied very well until I reached University. I became so busy and I wasn't giving my Bachelor of Business Administration course all the time it required. At one point I had to do a retake in Business Statistics, I felt so bad! I arrogantly skipped internship and before I could know it I had missing marks in that area.

Everything became so stressing as the graduation date drew closer. I was asking myself if my name will appear on the graduation list. Im really grateful to God because just like that I found myself with 70% in internship, a mark I dint expect.

I checked on the graduation list and my name was among those graduating! 31st October, 2006 will always be the best day of my life because its then that I was honoured with a Bachelor's degree in Business Administration. I learnt that somethings we don't get because we deserve them but it's God's grace that helps us through it all.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

You are indeed a true son of his father. He traveled I'm many parts of the world to play tennis and you are training almost all countries of the world still on the same career your father has invested on you. The best part of it is that you finished your school true scholarship. Congratulations for having such an opportunity.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator04.

Curated By - @simonnwigwe

Curation Team - The Efficient Seven

The demise of our loved ones is always a heavy pain in our hearts, I checked up on your father for real, he was great at what he did, I love playing tennis too, and am skilled at it, but not professionally, I do attack all the time, when when I am attacked I usually lost the points I can't control the smashes at some point, we all have that part in our live we are grateful for amongst all.the good moments you had It is reasonable to say your graduation day is the best day if your life

Greeting and blessings

I am glad to learn that you play tennis too. Just take time to practice more then you will be in position to play those smashes with ease. The best way to defend yourself in tennis is by attacking too. Just develop an attacking game strategy and you will always have a more winning advantage.

Thanks so much for such a thoughtful feedback 😊.

 2 years ago (edited)

Smiles😁 I will heed to your advice when next I play

 2 years ago 

Your dad tried his best to make sure he train you guys according to his standard. It's hard to know that he left the world just 2 months prior to your graduation. But you said your graduation day is your best day right? How did you feel remembering that Dad was unable to attend your party on that faithful day? Please tell me.

Hello greetings sir,

I am so sorry to know about your worst day on earth. You started narrating everything and I enjoyed everything your father did while on earth as he was considered one of the best tennis players of his time which made him Play tennis in several countries and also won a lot of trophies and medals. I'm so much proud of your father because he taught you and your only sister to become a tennis player like him

But I was saddened 😢 at the end after hearing his sudden dead. What a great Lost🤦‍♂️🤦‍♂️. I can imagine the pains you went through that day. May his gentle soul continue resting in peace with the Lord

However, I am so happy that you took over your father's legacy as you are now an international tennis player. I have read so many of your articles and I see you really love tennis with passion. More courage and success to your tennis career sir. Stay blessed..

I live to remember our time in the academy as you where a professor sir. Wish time could reverse back

Hello friend, I am very sorry about the death of your father.
What a good decision you made to follow his legacy, as long as it makes you happy.
Congratulations for your graduation.
Greetings from Venezuela

 2 years ago 

Hi @yohan2on you are someone I like so much right from he days of cryptoacademy when you were a professor in that community.

To your story,I feel your pains of losing your dad to the cold hands of death.His life was fruitful and he made name in the field of Tennis.I love to watch that game because of players like Federer,Nadal,Sharapova,Venus and William.

I am glad you were on scholarship due to your talent as a tennis player,and you finally graduated in 2006 despite the odds.

Checking the rules

CriteriaRating
Club5050
Plagiarism-free✔️
SteemExclusive✔️
Bot-free✔️

Checking Post Quality

CriteriaRating
Compliance with Topic1.8/2.5
Use of Markdown1.5/2.5
Spelling and Grammar2.5/2.5
Content Depth2.2/2.5
Total8/10

Thanks so much for the rating and for such a valuable feedback on my personal story. I am glad to have inspired you at some point while working as a professor during the Steemit cryptoacademy. Keep up the great work on steemit.

I am also very sad to hear about your father's death. In fact when our most favorite thing is lost from our lives we actually feel very alone. You are right in saying that when a person dies, there is nothing in the world that he can do with his talent and hard work. The presentation of your post was good. Thank you very much.

Really inspiring bro

Hmm. Life,It is indeed what it is. So sorry to hear about the event that occurred in August 2006. It was indeed a tragic moment for you. May he continue to rest on.

Wow graduation is always a happy moment indeed. Thank God you were among the graduating student of that year. Goodluck.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62907.73
ETH 2531.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62