THE DIARY GAME 04/09/2020 72 KILOMETRES TO THE MARKET by VINCENTIBE

in SteemAlive4 years ago (edited)

IMG_20200904_075552_2.jpg
Zarama, Rivers State, Nigeria

Hi friend, this is the highlights of my yesterday. My day began at 4.30 am as prompted by my alarm. There was a long journey ahead so quickly, I hurried through my preparation.

When I was ready to leave, I said a prayer and locked up my door. My morning text would be considered in the bus. It was 5.05 am already! I took two shuttles to get to the garage where I boarded a bus to my 72 kilometre destination, Zarama Market.

Zarama Market is basically a foodstuff market and that was what I came to procure for my clients. Among other things, I was to buy snails in large quantity. But the there was a limited supply in the market thereby skyrocketing the price. I bought only little though, anticipating abundant supply and a fall in price next week

IMG_20200606_122216_7.jpg
Snails

In the market I saw two creatures that I felt really sorry for. They were live alligators for sale. Their limbs and mouths were tied up to prevent them from escaping or biting. They were brought to the market by a little boy.

IMG_20200904_075933_2.jpg
Alligators

Basically they were for food. I was pained in my heart when I heard the price for these two precious creatures: just 2,500 naira! ( less than 6 dollars). I wished I had the means to care for them thereby saving them from the hungry bellies of the natives. But I couldn't help.

After my purchases I made my way 72 kilometres back home with little to show for my money - everything was way to expensive. I dozed all the way home for lack of sufficient sleep the previous night.

When I arrived home, I quickly had a bath, ate and sleep for 90 minutes ahead of the next task in the kitchen.

In the kitchen, some of the food items I bought would be made to demonstrate their aroma and test. It was bitter leave soup with dried cat fish and native spices on the way. If you would like to know how the soup is made, I would be glad to teach you personally. However, below is a photo of the boiling soup for sighting.

IMG_20200904_203513_3.jpg

After the my food was done, I enjoyed my soup with cassava meal, what we call iba or fufu. You needed to experience the taste of it. But here is a photo for your knowledge.

![IMG_20200904_204422_0.jpg](

After my meal, I did a little social mingling online and retired for the night to rise today.

How was your own day?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64242.18
ETH 3496.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50