A short story about my generator

in SteemAlive2 years ago (edited)

20220309_142546_0000.png

Turn it off! Screamed my big Bro as I ran downstairs, but I was too late, then came a knocking sound and a bang! Ok let’s back up a little bit before this whole thing started to get a clearer picture of what is actually going on.

C3TZR1g81UNaPs7vzNXHueW5ZM76DSHWEY7onmfLxcK2iPJL81FSnaUvBWcD5iZTFpjf9ezxs3kiupVWRKF61XuqhasvCtC1JRTK9P6Sz7YNnUaWYABNiuL.png

How it all started

We have a 3000 Watt generator that has been serving us for more than a year and half, but recently it became weak, it’s either that the coil isn’t strong enough again or the armature has grown very weak so we decided to get a 1800 Watt generator to take care of the electricity needs, I don’t blame the poor thing anyway cos we never told it beforehand that it was gonna carry 2 laptops, one CPU with dual monitor setup, a lotta unending chargers sprawling from neighbors and some lights, so when it was plugged in It would’ve been easily overwhelmed by the power demand, but because it was new it took care of it perfectly.

We are used to the 300 Watt generator’s oil alert system that automatically turns the generator off once the oil level is low to avoid a catastrophic unscheduled dismantling of the engine and it’s components therein, don’t mind the grammar I meant to say to avoid the engine blowing up, so we never had to constantly check the oil level, we only do so when the generator refuses to start or when it turns off abruptly.

But this little guy here has no oil alert system and it never occurred to me that I had to constantly check the oil level considering the fact that it also has no valve oil seal (Oil seals are used to protect shafts and bearings from taking in dirt and foreign matters and spillage of oil or grease) valve oil seal prevents oil from spilling into the combustion chamber thereby getting burned and causing the generator to smoke therefore reducing oil level.

Ok so where was I with this whole story thing, considering the fact that it has none of these above mentioned two things (oil alert system and valve oil seal) I should be checking oil level constantly, but I’m already used to the oil alert system, so one night while we were working, suddenly the lights went off and the generator was sounding weird, turn it off! Screamed my big Bro as I ran downstairs, but I was too late, then came a knocking sound and a bang!
On reaching there I saw two big holes in the housing, the connecting rod broke and smashed the walls of the crankcase.

IMG_20220210_150710_144.jpg
The crankcase after I took out all components.

Dumfounded for a minute I could only let out a grin, Big Bro was looking down from the rear balcony, a glance at him showed he had a grin also, I assured him I’ll get it fixed the next day.

The Next day

I arrived at Jubilee by Asa road to pick up the needed replacement parts, from my assessment I needed to buy a connecting rod, a piston and rings, the engine block, two oil seals (these are different from valve oil seal), engine gasket, two bolts and oil of course.

IMG_20220210_103416_508.jpg Note: The mouse and DVI cable are not for the generator.

After I got home, I laid them down on that counter just to get a shot for you guys y’know, I wouldn’t have done that ordinarily 🥴, so I started to Scooby Doo the engine, brought out the essential parts from the blown up engine which are, the cylinder head, the camshaft, the crankshaft, the bearings, the governor (of no state, just controls engine speed) and the valves.
I cleaned up the new crankcase (or engine block) and started fitting things in, after setting the timing I attached the cylinder head and closed the engine, added the required amount of oil, put in some fuel into the carburetor and tried turning it on (without the exhaust of course) and it went off like an AK.

IMG_20220210_160312_489.jpg with coil, armature and exhaust

IMG_20220210_150702_055.jpgwithout coil, armature and exhaust

After fixing it into the frame, I attached the exhaust, the coil and armature, I turned the generator on once again and this time it was spending too much, I had to adjust the governor to get the perfect speed, once done it was done, I attached the tank and discovered it was already some minutes after 11 PM, oh man so I’ve been doing this Scooby Doo for more than 10 hours now!

Anyway here’s the thing the generator was allowed to run for some hours but as soon as the first hour was gone it went bang!
Dad said the load must be overwhelming, Big Bro asked if the armature was rubbing on the coil, little Bro asked if the oil was even original, all at the same time, I told them to calm down and the grin was there again.

IMG_20220210_075657_638.jpg Second crankcase blown up.

The Next day I found myself at Jubilee by Asa road again pricing a half engine.
Oh wait you wanna hear that I went to buy replacement parts? Nah I can’t do that when I discovered that a 1800 Watt generator’s half engine costs 27k whereas the replacement parts I bought cost me 17k (more than half the price)
Man I bought a half engine please.

IMG_20220211_164420_933.jpg The new engine.

I got home removed the damaged engine (which can still be repaired) and fixed in the new one and my little guy is looking sleek.
Considering the oil issues, I check the oil level anytime I’m about to turn it on, and most times I find it depleted, the generator has had no issues since then till now.

IMG_20220309_122650_913.jpg

HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9USqxhHarLXxDWpvgEdzi37hu7HdAmv9Rz13gt8Mknav76HuK9u2MmmodmJAYmdRnHyem1Ak1Mt3c5L.jpeg

Thank you for taking your time to read my post, I would like to know what approach you’d have taken to resolve the issue if you were in my situation.
Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Hello sir ... Good day to you.
I can see that that day was work althrough and I remember when our generation got spoiled 1800 it was really stressful because the first person we gave the gen to repair just ate our money and didn't work it well, untill we gave it to another engineer who corrected it...

I know how stressful it is...

So sorry for what happened, you're right the issues with generators can get really stressful especially if you have little knowledge concerning how it works.

 2 years ago 

Quality post I must say, the detail and writing style is there to be admired. Am sorry about the generator that got knocked. But I am very happy you had the technical knowledge to fix it. I wish I had it. Please always check the oil level before running the gen. I hope you use quality sealed oil? Avoid the roadside quark, it kills your engine. @venon

Thanks for the compliment Buddy, I bought this Master's Super oil which I've been using, but you know as Aba is, even the soft drinks can be cloned.

 2 years ago 

Hi @venom,

Sorry about the breakdown of your generator.I am happy to took a bold step to replace the broken parts and made good effort to fix it.You must be skillful person.

The other generator with oil alert system is very good,atleast it will save you the rigmarole of going to check oil level at all times.

Continue to post good content on Steemit!!

The other generator with oil alert system is very good, at least it will save you the rigmarole of going to check oil level at all times.

You're right @samuel20, we will get it fixed.

 2 years ago 

@venon, thank God you dealt with the situation very fast to avoid being in the dark for some time, take care.

Very Nice Diary
The Generator wanted to show you something but you still showed it that you're superior.
You really have a great skill, Not everyone will do that on their own. They would surely look for an engineer.

Thanks for sharing @venon.

I'm highly honored Buddy, the fact that you took your time to read through my post is highly appreciated.

I love your spirit as you didn't take no for an answer over the generator issue. You've proven that people win things, things don't win people. More wins @venon

Yeah Bro, people win things.
Thank you for reading through.

You are welcome

This was an interesting post to read, it started like how movies do;

Turn it off! Screamed my big Bro as I ran downstairs, but I was too late, then came a knocking sound and a bang! Ok let’s back up a little bit before this whole thing started to get a clearer picture of what is actually going on.
Keep on the good work

Bro the generator really turned on the plasma TV for us.

 2 years ago 

Dumfounded for a minute I could only let out a grin, Big Bro was looking down from the rear balcony, a glance at him showed he had a grin also, I assured him I’ll get it fixed the next day.

Such unexpected cases can be annoying. Sorry for that. But am glad that you was able to fix it up by yourself. @venon, so, you're an engineer? How much did big Bro pay you? Say the truth

You really had a stressful day @venon56 because of the spoilt generator, but thank God you have gotten a new one. But no matter what still repair the old one and keep, it will still be useful.

It's never easy to have light in this country come to talk of the bought generator disturbing again. Atimes it's good to have knowledge on these things, it would have been another cost to pay a mechanic.

Double wahala for gen body. Sorry bro for all the mascarriages (😂🤣) that the gen had with cam/crankshaft. Your post is well appreciated

😆 Dude you're so funny, what is mascarriage
😂.

It's never easy to have light in this country come to talk of the bought generator disturbing again. Atimes it's good to have knowledge on these things, it would have been another cost to pay a mechanic.

The thing tire person, it gets to the point where if they supply power steadily for two days you'd begin to wonder if you're still in Aba.

Thank you for surfing through .

Hahahaha, it's very nice to have you bro. I'll like to relate more with you

Surely Buddy, it'd be an honor.

Yes o. Can I have you on Whatsapp

 2 years ago (edited)

09094724162

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57824.98
ETH 3133.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42